We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Helpful Staff”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
224 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Very Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We only stayed at hotel Rialto for one night but it was a really nice stay. The hotel is lovely and just a short walk to Chinatown.

We arrived there early and asked the desk what we should do and where we should eat while we waited for our room. Michael and Alex at the desk were very friendly and willing to give us as much needed suggestions and information as needed. They probably spoke to us for about 5-10 minutes about all this stuff and made little maps and all. They were just very helpful.

That evening when we came back Carina at the front desk was just lovely. She was SO friendly. The next day when we checked out she was still there! She remembered us and was still just so pleasant during that very long shift.

We really enjoyed our stayed and the hospitality at Hotel Rialto. Also, you get a ticket for a complimentary cheese platter and a free coffee and pastry at the hotel cafe when you check in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    396
    65
    16
    7
See reviews for
241
735
87
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

From before check-in to check-out the Rialto was a friendly, professional, classy establishment. The rate for the room was great value especially with the additions of the free cheese plate and free cold breakfast OR discounted hot breakfast.

The room itself was comfortable and there were small perks to help with your stay such as ear-plugs for those who need them, up-dated electronic plug-ins (usb, iPhone alarm-clock) as well as stylish decor. Our room also came with a bar fridge, microwave and an armour! The heated bathroom floors were a nice touch too! The bed and bedding was luxurious and well needed after exploring Victoria.

Another great aspect which made us decide to stay at the Rialto was the "Go Green" campaign where you can decline room attendant service and receive $10.00 credit for each night you decline (only if staying 3+ nights).

Location to the harbour, Chinatown, and the many small shops located downtown were great. Very easy to get around walking and public transit is just across the street which was handy for us to get from the airport right down to the hotel for only $2.50 (CA) each!

Food at the hotel was delicious. The breakfast cafe had great service but filled up fast around 9am, so make sure you are ready to get down earlier or wait a bit for a table. I recommend the french toast and an earl grey tea!

Downfalls - we were unable to have a guaranteed early check-in but they were willing to hold our luggage while we explored the downtown. If you enjoy a bath or a relaxing tub soak there was no bathtub in our room just a beautiful stand-up shower.

Overall this was a great stay! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlinnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

From the time we walked into the lobby until the moment we came back to retrieve our luggage the staff had stored for us, Hotel Rialto was welcoming, over-the-top accommodating, and beyond comfortable. They gave us vouchers for a free cheese platter in the on site restaurant, Veneto (think gourmet cheeses!), as well as for complimentary breakfast (soy mocha from the barista & huge morning glory muffin - any coffee & pastry of your choice). These were nice surprises...and delicious. And they made it convenient for us! The good in both places exceeded expectation and was actually fantastic! I am a food snob but I would eat at Veneto & Cafe Veneto by choice. Check out the happy hour for half price tapas!

Karina was so friendly & helpful! We even got to see a video of her encounter with a goat at Beacon Hill Park :) All the staff were GENUINELY friendly yet SO professional! They were not just putting on a front, but they were truly interested in us and willing to answer any questions.

The location is not too busy which we liked. Really close to the Public Market on Hudson...an awesome spot to check out for casual food!

If my husband and I are ever back in Victoria (I hope we will be one day) there is no question where we will stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Hotel Rialto is a lovely, immaculate, comfortable hotel with great service. The room was quiet, the bedding luxurious, the beds comfortable and the location just a block or so away from the sights of the city. It's a wonderful refuge with professional and gracious service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently stayed for 5 days at the Hotel Rialto in Victoria and had an excellent experience.
The staff were very professional and helpful and we have no complaints. Everyone in customer service went above and beyond to make our stay a good one. Thank you Maureen head of guest services for taking such care in making us welcome.

Room Tip: We were in a junior suite which faced the main street but it was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and would have had no problems staying slightly longer but time did not permit. The room was very clean with modern furnishings. The front desk service was very good and when we called the desk with a minor problem, help was there within 3 minutes. Being on a busy street, there is very little space to leave your car while you check in but we did not have any particular problems. The secured parking is a block away and is a nice touch, but you pay for it.

The hotel is right down town and the harbor is an easy walk. The bar area is very nice while the restaurant area is ordinary.

Room Tip: The higher the better for sleeping as the busy street creates noise. Complimentary ear plugs are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Compliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked the Hotel Rialto in March and visited in July. The only requirement I asked for was a quiet room. Our superior king room was exactly that - quiet - it looked into a court yard; but who needs a view when there is so much to do outside. The super king size bed was so comfortable and the linen was lovely. The décor was wonderful as was the size of the room. The sofa was comfy and the bathroom was huge. There was a fridge, microwave and coffee making facilities. We wanted a bit of luxury as we were in Victoria for three nights. The staff are very friendly and willing to go the extra mile to help you if there is a problem or to give you advice. There was a complimentary cheese board when you arrive which may coincide with happy hour 4-6pm. Breakfast vouchers are provided which enable you to have a free coffee and muffin or $3 off an ordered breakfast; we always ordered something from the menu therefore receiving $6 off the bill and no charge for the coffee. The servers were also very friendly. If you stay 3 or more nights there is a 'green' initiative which gives you discount in the tapas restaurant. A great experience!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room at the back of the hotel - it may look into a court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing