We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice with one exception” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent choice with one exception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel and choice while in Victoria. Great comfort, bed, clean very pleasant staff, great bar and breakfast. The location is worth the extra money. Only negative is the very slow wifi. If you are needing a decent connection you will be very disappointed. Yes, I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: higher up is better, less street noise. Gulls can be loud...part of being by the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmoTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob C, Director of Sales at Hotel Rialto, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hi Cosmo,

Thank you for your review, I'm happy to see that overall you were very pleased with your choice to stay with us.

I was curious to learn about your concerns with our wifi as so many of our reviewers reference the high quality of the signal (we upgraded our system substantially about 2 years ago and over did it to ensure high band width). I really don't have an explanation for your experiencing slow signal. (of course I use it daily and never have an issue with speed)

I'm hoping it was just an anomaly and on your next stay with us it will not be a concern.

Sincerely,

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    376
    60
    16
    7
See reviews for
228
700
84
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Location on junction of two busy roads but hotel ear plugs sorted this and the king size room was good. Very good complimentary cheese board and free parking courtesy of BC Ferries who booked the hotel. Excellent tapas bar in house and very good breakfasts. Not far to walk down to the harbour and very close to ChinaTown.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolynPRobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel was everything that we expected from a central city hotel. Close to all amenities. Room was large and clean and airy. No noise problems. Breakfast was extra from the restaurant although we were given 2 x $3 vouchers for coffee and a pastry if we wanted. We opted for hot breakfast so got the same value reduction. Breakfast was good. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleyhyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

From the initial check in to leaving the staff at the Rialto were excellent, very helpful, professional, and took there time to be interested in why we were in Victoria, the package we bought included 30 dollars towards the tapas in the restaurant , which was beautiful , the staff were also so caring and advised us on the food. We also had 25 dollar gift card through the Rialto to spend at The Bay, which didn't take much spending !!
This was our 2nd visit to Victoria from the UK, first time staying at this hotel, will be hopefully back there next July , big thanks to all at the Rialto for making the end of a fantastic holiday even better !!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
179 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We only stayed at hotel Rialto for one night but it was a really nice stay. The hotel is lovely and just a short walk to Chinatown.

We arrived there early and asked the desk what we should do and where we should eat while we waited for our room. Michael and Alex at the desk were very friendly and willing to give us as much needed suggestions and information as needed. They probably spoke to us for about 5-10 minutes about all this stuff and made little maps and all. They were just very helpful.

That evening when we came back Carina at the front desk was just lovely. She was SO friendly. The next day when we checked out she was still there! She remembered us and was still just so pleasant during that very long shift.

We really enjoyed our stayed and the hospitality at Hotel Rialto. Also, you get a ticket for a complimentary cheese platter and a free coffee and pastry at the hotel cafe when you check in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

From before check-in to check-out the Rialto was a friendly, professional, classy establishment. The rate for the room was great value especially with the additions of the free cheese plate and free cold breakfast OR discounted hot breakfast.

The room itself was comfortable and there were small perks to help with your stay such as ear-plugs for those who need them, up-dated electronic plug-ins (usb, iPhone alarm-clock) as well as stylish decor. Our room also came with a bar fridge, microwave and an armour! The heated bathroom floors were a nice touch too! The bed and bedding was luxurious and well needed after exploring Victoria.

Another great aspect which made us decide to stay at the Rialto was the "Go Green" campaign where you can decline room attendant service and receive $10.00 credit for each night you decline (only if staying 3+ nights).

Location to the harbour, Chinatown, and the many small shops located downtown were great. Very easy to get around walking and public transit is just across the street which was handy for us to get from the airport right down to the hotel for only $2.50 (CA) each!

Food at the hotel was delicious. The breakfast cafe had great service but filled up fast around 9am, so make sure you are ready to get down earlier or wait a bit for a table. I recommend the french toast and an earl grey tea!

Downfalls - we were unable to have a guaranteed early check-in but they were willing to hold our luggage while we explored the downtown. If you enjoy a bath or a relaxing tub soak there was no bathtub in our room just a beautiful stand-up shower.

Overall this was a great stay! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlinnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

From the time we walked into the lobby until the moment we came back to retrieve our luggage the staff had stored for us, Hotel Rialto was welcoming, over-the-top accommodating, and beyond comfortable. They gave us vouchers for a free cheese platter in the on site restaurant, Veneto (think gourmet cheeses!), as well as for complimentary breakfast (soy mocha from the barista & huge morning glory muffin - any coffee & pastry of your choice). These were nice surprises...and delicious. And they made it convenient for us! The good in both places exceeded expectation and was actually fantastic! I am a food snob but I would eat at Veneto & Cafe Veneto by choice. Check out the happy hour for half price tapas!

Karina was so friendly & helpful! We even got to see a video of her encounter with a goat at Beacon Hill Park :) All the staff were GENUINELY friendly yet SO professional! They were not just putting on a front, but they were truly interested in us and willing to answer any questions.

The location is not too busy which we liked. Really close to the Public Market on Hudson...an awesome spot to check out for casual food!

If my husband and I are ever back in Victoria (I hope we will be one day) there is no question where we will stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rialto Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing