We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, bad nights sleep and bad service at breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Embassy Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, bad nights sleep and bad service at breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

What a great Location, near everything we wanted to see on our overnight visit. We arrived early and left Our bag in the luggage room. Great back at 2.00pm we thought to check in as stated in our paperwork. No we were then told to come at 3.30pm as our room would then be ready. Once we got our keys the room seemed nice if only we knew what a really bad nights sleep we got to look forward to. Room 311 sounds good but next to the pop and ice room, all night noise of the door slamming the ice and pop falling really not great. To top it off the elevators are also directly outside the door, people speaking loudly and calling for others the elevator is here lol not great at all tired and unhappy but hungry fir breakfast we get packed and head down to the dining room. Bad service doesn't even cover it. No service lol eventually seated after confusion our server disappeared it seemed our table had been disowned. No coffee, juice or water was offered. This only arrived after asking 3 different people. There was no choice of the cooked breakfast advertised on our breakfast coupon you receive with the room or chance to choose any thing from the menus and pay the difference at all so after being ignored we decided to get up and help ourselves to the Buffett breakfast. This was nice but not what we wanted. We also had to ask for our bill, noticing it says how much would you like to give gratuity. What a laugh no service no tip and two very unhappy guests. Beware great location not bad price but lousy nights sleep and dine else wear. Two un happy guests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surrey2001ukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us> I am truly sorry for the issues you encountered. Our published check in time is 3:30pm. We make every attempt to check guests in as early as possible. That all depends of course on when the previous guests check out. I am sorry about the noise you heard outside your room. It is difficult to monitor the goings on of other guests while waiting for the elevator or getting ice and pop. I will see if there is something that can be done to deafen the noise coming from the pop room which does have a door on it. Possible it was open when someone dispensed pop or ice. There is no excuse for the service you received in the restaurant for breakfast. I will be sure to speak with our staff. Please know that this would have been an exception to our usually great level of service and not how we operate normally. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    259
    52
    14
    7
See reviews for
166
293
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We booked a week at the Embassy Inn, and were very pleased with the clean comfortable accommodations, and impressed by the polite, friendly and helpful staff. Our TV remote died, and a call to the desk quickly brought assistance, and a new remote. The room had no air conditionong, but the windows open and despite record high temperatures our room was comfortable. The location cannot be beat. It is a two minute walk to the Inner Harbour, and just minutes more to shopping on Government Street. As guests we were treated daily to a free breakfast, either from the menu or from a full breakfast buffet. The food was excellent. We also were give 20% off dinner at the Embassy dining room, and enjoyed two excellent meals there.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on the old tower (there are two buildings) offer a view overlooking the pool, and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for the detailed review of your stay with us! I am pleased to hear you enjoyed meals in the restaurant including your free hot breakfast and the 20% discount offered to in house guests for dinner. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments about the staff as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We returned to Victoria for Labor Day after many years away and stayed at The Embassy Inn. We were very pleased with the improvements under the new management. The Tower Wing has been updated with brand new, very comfortable beds, clean and tasteful bedding, and AC. We found our room meticulously cared for, lovely and comfortable.
The staff is friendly, courteous and helpful. Complimentary breakfast is served in the restaurant each morning. It is our understanding that the improvements on the facility continue.
We are hoping to return soon and will look no further for a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We really like the "Tower Wing"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. Yes, all the beds in the Tower Building have been replaced. Many good reports are coming in about the recent changes and I can say, there are more upgrades to the guest rooms to come! We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just got back and the Embassy Inn was darn near perfect! We were in the older building and while you could tell the room was an older style, it was freshly painted, well maintained and very clean. The rates were great and the location was a dream. It's one very short block off the harbor. Maybe two blocks from the Coho Ferry terminal. And even for being that close, it was quiet. No street noise. Staff was very friendly. Only draw back was the bed - it was too hard. I've noticed a lot of hotels going with extra firm beds in the last few years, so I'm not blaming this hotel for following the trend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ordovican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am happy to hear you found the location to be a benefit. I do apologize about the condition of the bed. We recently replaced all 105 beds in our Tower Building. We are considering our next set of improvements for this coming fall. We look forward to your return visit to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here prior to our cruise. The staff was very friendly and the rooms neat and clean. Close to everything. Free breakfast was adequate. Room was clean and bed was very comforable.Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter. Free breakfast was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We hope to serve you again on another trip to Sunny Victoria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Good location for harbour shops and restaurants. The room was large but the bathroom was small. Everything very clean. Need to be able to make one flight of steps to get to the lift of the block we were in. Harbour side I think.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. Yes, we are very close to all Victoria has to offer. you are correct. In the building you stayed, there is a flight of stairs that goes up to the first level where the elevator is that takes you to 2 other floors. We hope to serve you again on a future trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I booked the Tower Building through Expedia and got a room that may be more suited to the Harbour (although it was the in the Tower section, room 108). The room was clean but with very old beds, old tube TV, the carpet was retro. I was not impressed with the room but we had the privilege to arrive one hour before check in time, had no time to whine and we had a schedule to keep. Prior to arriving, I tried to email the hotel to check further availability during the next week, one email wasn't responded to, the other bounced back as the address provided over the phone was incorrect? I had wanted to book with them directly as I know Expedia takes about 25% off the top...I gave up with the emails and booked the Rialto for our return stay after the West Coast Trail (review to follow). We spent one waking hour in the room, having to leave early before breakfast was served. I felt deceived in my expectation that Tower rooms were like the pictures and I feel sorry that the front desk chose to block us in this room as it has lead to this poor review.

Room Tip: If you have booked the Tower in order to have a higher standard of room, avoid room 108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sekaitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will be sure to investigate how we dropped the ball on the email correspondence. As for the room, we recently changed all 105 beds to new Serta Perfect Sleep sets which have been widely enjoyed by our guests. The bedding has been changed as well to duvets with white tone on tone sheeting. There are a small number of rooms with older carpet that we plan to replace this fall along with other improvements like the TVs. I hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with a comfortable place to stay while visiting Victoria in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#15 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Inner Harbour
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria
Embassy Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing