We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This hotel is located next to parliament buildings in Victoria, so is an excellent location if you are on foot. The hotel isn't fancy, but is excellent value for money. The rooms are large, clean and come with a kitchen. I stayed there overnight with my wife and two teenage daughters and the room was comfortably big enough for the 4 of us. The TV is old, but the beds are comfortable, and breakfast which is reasonable is included. If you are looking for convenience rather than luxury this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for the review of you recent stay. I am glad you found our location excellent. Please note that we are continually making improvements to our rooms. Recent changes include new beds and bedding. Coming soon are new drapes, new artwork, etc. We just added in room safes and fridges in all rooms. Please stay tuned for more great changes. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    272
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
182
311
27
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Located about a block from the waterfront and just near the Parliament building. Easy walking distance to everything. We had booked a room with two queen beds for my son and myself. Hotel is in beautiful condition - I actually asked if it had been recently refurbished and was told 'no', although new beds and linen were installed earlier this year. Spotlessly clean, best shower, fridge in room and a wonderful cooked breakfast. We've stayed in 9 hotels in Canada in the last 12 days and this was by far the best for comfort, cleanliness, shower and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoGoodFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us. I am happy you were pleased with our location. We are close to just about everything Victoria has to offer. I am pleased as well that you found your room clean, comfortable and functional. And yes, we do provide a free hot breakfast to all guests. We hope to be able to accommodate you again on a future trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We travelled to Victory for sight seeing and we stayed in the hotel for one day. The location is great. It's not water front but almost. The room is plain but I won't complain since it serves the purpose and the price is reasonable comparing with others. The front desk is friendly and helpful. We lost our voucher for the breakfast and they re-issued one for us very quickly. The included breakfast isn't bad at all. There are 2 choices, buffet or order your own. I couldn't order my own because they're very busy to serve a large group at that time.

In short, I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frog2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay in Sunny Victoria. We are pleased you found the location and price met your expectations and am glad the staff looked after your needs. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for the Victoria marathon and found it perfect for what we needed. Not only was it right at the start line but they had set up a "runners-table" with water bottles and maps and pace charts and running quotes. I realize most people will be staying here at other times of the year but I just really appreciated the extra touches that were added in. Regardless, it is in a perfect location for anyone wanting to stay downtown.

The beds were quite comfortable and the room was clean and quiet.

Breakfast is included and you can either choose the buffet (hot but basic) or order off the menu.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your marathon was a PB, (Personal Best for those non runners out there). We enjoy looking after everyone who stays with us and if we can find something just a little more special such a free, all you can drink water for the runners attending the annual Victoria Marathon, we will do what we can. The additional maps and pace charts were well received. We look forward to your return visit for another road race!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, BC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Centrally located adjacent to the Legislature Building and one short block from the Harbour, this was an ideal location. The room was a good size and the free internet and breakfast each day were welcome value adds. The hotel was clean with staff who actually created their own favourite places to eat list which categorized by types of restaurants - this was very helpful. The staff were very responsive to requests for assistance and had a thorough knowledge of their town and how to get around. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhweziMbolekwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I will be sure to pass on your comments about the staff. We do have a great group of people that are eager to make sure guests enjoy their stay with us and in Victoria. We look forward to serving you again on a future trip to Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here in June 2013. The hotel was fine and in a good location. Just a five or ten minute walk from the bus station and whale watching tours. The free breakfast was a very welcome bonus, although it would have been good to have one or two healthier options. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrieCEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I will be sure to speak with our Chef about adding some additional healthy items to the free hot breakfast. And yes, we are located very close to everything Victoria has to offer. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Suggest paying the extra ~$10 per day to stay in the Tower (newer) side. We stayed in the Harbourview side and although the room was very clean/neat/tidy there was an "old" smell in the room and some of the fixtures made it obvious as well that this was older. The bathroom and small kitchen were giveaways as well as they weren't as well maintained as the rest of the room. It certainly did the job but we went out of our way not to spend extra time in the room given that we just weren't comfortable there. TV reception was horrible -- the worst TV in any hotel we can recall. Location, free parking, and breakfast included in the price made it quite economical. I would stay in this hotel again only if I were on the newer side.

Room Tip: Book the tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Trav3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you to the writer for the review of your recent stay with us. I truly apologize for our shortcomings. The Embassy Inn has 2 buildings. The Tower, (3 diamond level) and the Harbour Wing, (2 diamond Level). Both are priced according to their respective amenities however, it does not excuse bad TV reception and other items. Please know that we will address these right away. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria
Embassy Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing