We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

For someone anticipating living on post-retirement income i n the foreseeable future, Embassy Inn represented excellent value for my travel dollar. The room was meticulously clean, the restaurant meals eere very good to excellent and all of the staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Perhaps I just lucked into off-season rates, but excellent value nonetheless. I am looking forward to my next stay in December.

Room Tip: If off season, call directly and ask if your room can be upgraded at no cost to include a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you found the hotel to be a great value. We think so as well. close to all Victoria as to offer plus the added bonus of free hot breakfast, great new beds and bedding all make for a comfortable hotel stay. We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

506 - 512 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at this hotel after needing to quickly find a place in Victoria. Great price on the internet, clean, friendly and very convenient location. Free parking and free breakfast are added perks. If you want a basic room without the frills of spas and gyms, I would highly recommend the Embassy Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guyfromVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for the kind review of your recent stay. Yes, we take the cleanliness of our guest rooms very seriously. And the free hot breakfast is a hit with all guests. We look forward to your future return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Can't say enough about this hotel which I have stayed in several times over several years. Have never been disappointed or let down always a great experience. This time had a friend with me who had never stayed here before and she stated it could not be better! Great clean rooms, great location, very friendly staff. Breakfast included was great also the dinner the night before. Great value for the money, rates very reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad your friend enjoyed their stay as well. We are constantly making improvements to our hotel, specifically the guest rooms this fall/winter. New artwork is on its way. New drapes have just been ordered and all rooms now have an in room safe and a fridge. Please watch for more improvements coming soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We booked in to the Embassy Inn early, not expecting our room to be ready. We were pleasantly surprised to be told by the man on reception that it wasn't a problem and that we could go in. Very comfortable bed, pillows and linen and everything was super clean. The free wi-fi was fast with no problems. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the walkway between the two buildings. The hotel was very quiet and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. It is an excellent location and just minutes away from the waterfront.
Their restaurant served a delicious free breakfast with ample food plus the staff were very friendly and attentive.
We will be returning there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irishdancer635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you had a good sleep. Our new bed and bedding are proving to be a hit with our guests. We look forward to your return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Why stay here?
Perfect location, everything downtown in walking distance.
The friendliest most accommodating staff ever.
Free hot breakfast.
Peaceful atmosphere.
Comfy beds and crisp linens.
You like clean? You will find it here.
Best value anywhere downtown .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank CanadaDelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review of your recent stay with us. Yes, our location is ideal as we are close to everything Victoria has to offer. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our great staff. We look forward to a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Beds and sheet and pillows were SO comfortable. People
We're very helpful, cheerful and nice. Restaurant was great! French onion soup was seriously the best I've ever had. Breakfast was excellent. Caesar salad was delicious. Very well located. Great price.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ss1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for the recent review of our hotel. It sounds like you were very pleased with the food provided in our dining room. I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to our chef. And I am happy to hear you found the bed and bedding comfortable. After all, we do sell sleep! We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September. The hotel is very well located close to the Fairmont Empress and the parliament buildings. The inner harbour is a short stroll away. The room was basic but clean and spacious with a little kitchen area. The restaurant was very busy during the breakfast service. We had to wait for a table each morning and the service was a little slow, but the buffet breakfast was ample and the staff were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for the recent review. Yes, our location is close to all Victoria has to offer. We have made recent improvements to our service in the dining room. We look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £83 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria
Embassy Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing