We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed, even with pets.”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Sincere thank you to the management, clean, quiet, comfortable, excellent (!!) location, great value. You couldn't ask for more. Staff are polite and knowledgeable.
Would love to stay again, breakfast substantial and good.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50thParallelbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your review of your stay with us! I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and that you felt it was of great value. Yes, we are a pet friendly hotel as well. We look forward to serving you and your pet family members again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a really good location and it was very affordable with free parking and free internet. I did not have high expectations but was not really happy with the room after all. It is very basic and needs upgrade for sure. The room was not very well cleaned. There were hairs left around the sink and on the bed. It felt like there was a hairy guy staying in the room previously and the housekeeping did a sloppy job. The carpet did not look clean and the hvac was very noisy and we ended up turning it off.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank msmsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

I'd like to thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. I can assure you that the cleanliness issues you experienced are the exception rather than the rule. We have a very committed team in our housekeeping department that takes pride in the cleanliness of all rooms. I will mention to our head housekeeper to have a look into this matter. We are in the midst of an upgrade to our rooms as we speak. Drapes and sheers are being installed this week. New artwork has arrived as well. On a future trip to Victoria, please give us another chance to provide the excellent service we provide to all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel is outstanding! Every employee was polite, enthusiastic and helpful. The facility is spotlessly clean and fresh. Located in a very accessible part of Victoria, quiet and secure. Rooms are bright, tastefully decorated, and spacious. Breakfast (included!) (full cooked egg breakfast) and dining room service were exemplary. We will definitely return to this great find.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bajapaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay. I have to agree, our staff are wonderful! They do enjoy looking after the needs of our guests. We are located close to just about everything Victoria has to offer and our free full hot breakfast has been a hit since we introduced it early in the year. We look forward to your next arrival. Love the cat! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were coming to Victoria to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary and just booked a reasonable hotel in a central location. Not only was it clean, quiet and comfortable, which was all we were hoping for, the staff was helpful and very pleasant, breakfast was included, and the room was excellent for the reasonable price we paid.

Room Tip: We loved our room...on the first floor overlooking the entrance. Extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Congratulations on your 40th wedding anniversary. We are happy we were able be play host at such an important time for you. We do look forward to serving you again on a future trip to our fair city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed in the Queen Tower with 2 Queen beds. Very modern and beds were comfortable as were the pillows . I had a great sleep. Views from balcony are great and the parliament bldg. is next to the hotel as you are right in downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you thought our location was ideal. Yes, we are close to just about everything Victoria has to offer. We look forward to being of service again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We reviewed several hotels in the Victoria inner harbor area and selected the Embassy Inn. The Tower holds a AAA Triple Diamond rating, the rooms were very nice, the staff were always accommodating, and the breakfast that comes included with the room price is a Great Deal.

The location, room rate, and free parking played an important part in our decision to stay at the Embassy Inn and we made the correct choice. We very much enjoyed our first visit to Victoria, BC, thanks to the Embassy Inn.

Room Tip: We recommend the rooms in the Tower building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 775markr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Thank you for the kind review of your stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as Victoria. Hopefully, there will be more visits to our fair City. Yes, our location is close to just everywhere one needs to be in Victoria. I will certainly pass on your kind words to the staff who are always excited to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Embassy Inn in downtown Victoria as our usual place, the Best Western is no longer pet friendly. This was our first time at the Embassy and both my wife and I said "we'll be back here, for sure". We had a very nice supper at the restaurant and a "proper" (not just muffins and help yourself coffee) breakfast also at the restaurant. We also enjoyed courteous and friendly service from the staff and free Internet, all within walking distance of the IMAX and downtown shopping. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuckcorsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you and your pet enjoyed your stay with us and that you will be back. Yes, we do provide a free hot breakfast for all hotel guests here on a daily rate. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff as well. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £80 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria
Embassy Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing