We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel for vacation”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Taiwan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel for vacation”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is a very good hotel near the port. It's next to the Legislature Building and inner harbour. The twin room is big and very comfortable . Even the breakfast is not very special, however it is still a good hotel for several nights stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CjCh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. I am pleased you thought our location was ideal. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    265
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
172
304
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
308 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Embassy for 5 days. Great location and having a kitchenette really made things great. Great value at the breakfast as well. Easy walking distance from the bus depot. Would return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you felt the kitchenette was a help during your stay. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the May long weekend. Excellent location! Great for walking around Victoria, but yet quiet at night.
The hotel is moderate, but very well taken care of. The room was very clean, small balcony, with kitchenette.
The staff were very friendly and suggested some very good places to go to.
The parking was included in the rate along with wifi (slow) and a very nice breakfast.
We will definitely stay here next time we are in Victoria.
Good staff, good value, good experience! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mantraray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us. Regarding the slow internet, we recently increased the bandwidth signal for our wireless service within the hotel so, the strength will be much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A pleasantly cheap motel that is popular with the older "bus tour" set. And no wonder when you're a stone's throw from the BC Parliament building and Victoria harbour. The rooms were big and clean and all seemed to have a balcony too.

Only drawback is the hotel policy on who gets a free breakfast. The front page of the website says "free hot breakfast" but because I booked well in advance, and secured the best rate, I wasn't entitled to this as I wasn't a "daily rate" customer. Breakfast was $15 and is eat as much as you like (or can, in my case).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. I am sorry there was some confusion about the breakfast. Guests can make the choice of reserving a room with or without breakfast on the many booking channels available to them. you always get the best deal when you call the hotel directly. Inside information for hotels. :) We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Superb location! The last time I was in Victoria, I stayed in a hotel way to far way from the main areas of the harbor for tourists. This time I wanted to stay closer and I am glad I choose the Embassy Inn. I went with my mom and we wanted to be able to walk every where. As soon as you get off the ferry, you can see the Embassy Inn. It takes about 4 minutes to walk up the street next to the Parliament. The hotel looks older from the outside but inside is all updated. The rooms were big and comfy and we had a decent view from our window. The hotel offers free breakfast with some rooms and has a buffet with a large selection including eggs, coffee, juices, fruits, yogurt, etc., perfect to start your day. You can walk anywhere you need or want to go and can even walk to the bus station to go to the gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review. Our location continues to be a huge benefit while visiting Victoria as we are very close to all Victoria has to offer our visitors. we look forward to see you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is a very affordable hotel located in the perfect location for enjoying the many attractions of beautiful Victoria. We enjoyed the free breakfast...delicious, and served by a fabulous wait staff. Sarah, Eleanor, Ashley, and Karen were our most frequent servers...they were unfailingly cheerful, helpful, gracious and very efficient.
Don at the front desk gave better walking directions than Google. Skinder, our room housekeeper, was super; our room was spotless, well appointed, and always nice. We truly appreciate the cleanliness!
When we come to Victoria again, this will be our hotel of choice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RosemanSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all the staff you mentioned in your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed in the older section of the hotel, because the air conditioned rooms were booked. The weather was warm for Victoria and the room could have used more ventilation - only 2 small windows. However, the rooms were clean, quiet and located within walking distance of downtown. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast came with the room and was delicious. I would recommend this hotel if you are in victoria

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjj98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John J, General Manager at Embassy Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review. All of our guests agree, our location is ideal as we are close to just about everywhere you would want to be in downtown Victoria. We hope you are able to visit us again and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria
Embassy Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing