We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Location, and Room”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good Value, Location, and Room”
Reviewed 6 August 2009

As with the previous reviewer, we were in Victoria during the heat wave at the end of July beginning of August. We chose this hotel because it has a/c as well as a very good price for the location. This hotel has an old section and a newer section. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel. We had a very nice room with a well-functioning a/c.

A very nice gentleman at the BC visitors center at the ferry pier in Port Angeles made the reservation for us 30 minutes before we boarded the express ferry to Victoria. He called the hotel for us and specified that we wanted a room with a/c. We were in our comfortable and cool room within 20 minutes of departing the ferry. We were very happy with the choice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4family14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    271
    54
    14
    7
See reviews for
178
309
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2009

As the Vancouver area was having the highest temperatures on record we booked the hotel based on it having air conditiong "in every room" per the Expedia website unfortunately this is not the case. We discovered this just before leaving North Vancouver for the Ferry. We called the hotel front desk who were unhappy when we called asked that they honour our online booking through Expedia. After arriving at the hotel it was clear that the front desk chap was still harbouring a grudge re our booking we were told our room would be ready at 3:30pm NOT the 3:00pm on the Expedia website.
After getting into our room (#311) we discovered that while it had a/c it didnt actually work
eventually we were moved to another room where we found air that worked and all was well for the rest of the trip.
The hotel is good value for money and we would "possibly" stay again however be careful when booking online the "All rooms have air" has been changed BUT Expedia still quotes a 3:00pm check in and the hotel says 3:30

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gersmanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canadfa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Totally misleading photos in advertisement below average dining room uncomfortable beds shabby sheets and blankets peeling paint in the bathroom and a towel bar and shelf that literally fell off the wall.This hotel needs a major refurbishing but the price does not reflect this.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b-traveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2009

We just wanted a basic, cheap hotel, and we walked into this one and made a reservation. We weren't expecting a whole lot, as we only paid about $85 for the night, but even for that, the room was clean, king size bed, spacious room, and kitchenette. If you're going to Victoria for the hotel experience, avoid this hotel, as it won't have the fancy luxuries you're looking for, but for a place to go back to at the end of the day and not break your bank or budget, this is perfect. The restaurant inside is decent.. we had a good meal there. They sell post cards at the front desk, so we were able to pick up something to remember the area by. Staff were friendly, no issues there. Quiet location, quiet building.

But even though it's all nice, neat, and basic, there is a heated pool outside that totally made this a unique stay. We were here in early September, and the weather was starting to cool off.. after a long day of walking around downtown, we went swimming in this pool. We had it to ourselves, it was dark outside so we were swimming under the stars and moon, and the heated aspect just made it so comfortable and enjoyable.

Again, not the most glamourous hotel, but for what it is, the price you pay, and what you expect, it's perfect!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanaway, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

I stayed in room 217 for 3 nights. The view off the tiny balcony was of a large parking lot behind the hotel.

I found the room to be quiet and clean, the staff was friendly and the rates were reasonable (about 65.00 per night). My favorite amenity at the Embassy Inn was the water pressure in the shower. It felt almost as good as my spa at home and had plenty of hot water.

The room had a kitchenette with a coffee maker, microwave, stove, oven and small refrigerator. (Bring some extra coffee pouches if you want more than a small cup of weak coffee).

We had a king size bed, very firm and comfortable.

The hotel is not opulent and does show it's age. We were not able to hook up a DVD player to the very old TV. The heater was either on ice cold or kept the room uncomfortably warm. There did not seem to be much in the middle. We found a work around to be leaving the balcony door open a bit to mediate the temp. There is no gym or work-out area. The restaurant was really nice; the food was very good and again well complimented by friendly, pleasant wait staff.

The hotel location was excellent, close to the ferry and within easy walking distance of many of Victoria's sights.

I would stay at the Embassy again. It was adaquate, clean and reasonably priced. I just wish had not not "oversold" it to my girlfriend based on the pictures and description on their website.

  • Liked — The location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The crummy view and the antique TV
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

My six year old daughter and I just finished a 5 day visit to Victoria. We chose this Hotel/Motel with the help of the Visitor Center. This property is very much family friendly and my daughter and I had a blast. They have a heated swimming pool that I couldn't get her to come out of. Additionally, you couldn't ask for a better harbor central location and it is right next door to the parliment building. We ate 5 meals at the restaurant in the hotel and the food was very good. They don't have room service, but all you have to do is go collect your order and bring it up yourself. People who don't need 4/5 star hotels will be very satisfied in my opinion.

  • Liked — pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proracer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Great Location by the harbor, nice facilities but the lock on our room could be opened in seconds with a credit card, we had to take our valuables with us when left. This is why they received a two star, we had no other issues with the hotel.

The Harbor;
Lots of vagrants and pan handlers in the Victoria harbor area, but the street performers are a laugh stayed on harbor for our evening entertainment

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Door locks
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria
Embassy Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing