We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location' location!”
Review of Embassy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Inn
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Kleinmond South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location, location' location!”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

The Embassy Inn Victoria was probably one of the most convenient places we have stayed in a city. We arrived by local bus a couple of blocks away and were able to go out everyday on foot and discover the interesting parts of Victoria. The room was standard but very clean and comfortable. The linen a bit old but everything else in good condition. We did not try the pool but saw many others doing so especially those with children. We took the advice of other Trip advisor reviewers and booked in the tower block which is away from the pool. the staff were very helpful and our welcome from Reece who was at the desk when we arrived, much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    265
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
172
304
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Great Location – Great Hotel – Great Staff: The Embassy Inn is not what you would expect. It is very much like a "motel" however the newer section is a hotel. It has a heated outdoor pool and motel like rooms adjacent to it. The location is fantastic; 1/2 block from the seawall right beside the parliament buildings. This is the second year my friend and I stayed there. It is clean and quiet. I would recommend booking it on line through expedia or orbitz. We phoned direct this time and it was about $50/night more doing it that way.
We never ate in the restaurant; free parking and free wifi. We wanted to have a pool side room but they were sold out; which may have been a good thing as those rooms do not have air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherb7667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel is in a great location - right next to the parliament building and just off the harbour, so ideal for visiting Victoria. We had two rooms in the newer part of the hotel and they were both very large - one with a huge queen bed and kitchenette and one with two double beds and both had a balcony and good sized bathrooms. The decor is a little old fashioned and worn in places and the beds had blankets rather than duvets, but overall the hotel is good value and very convenient. There is an outdoor swimming pool that is in the older part of the hotel where the accommodation looks more like a basic motel, but everywhere was clean and in good repair. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and there is plenty of free parking. The dining room for breakfast is large and airy with a good choice of food and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
o
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The hotel is in good location and close to Port-Angle ferry terminal. I wanted to take the 10:30am ferry and the cashier told me to go to the terminal as early as possible liked before 7:30am. We checked out the hotel next day. After we went to the terminal, we found out we were the second car in the parking lot. Luckily the hotel let us stayed in one of our romm to rest until 9am.

I read the advise here and booked the North Tower. But I think we were still placed in South Tower. The carpet is little dirty.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxp0105a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My wife and I recently visited Canada and stayed in 8 hotels / guest houses. This was the best of them. The hotel offers good views from the higher rooms at the front, the staff were very helpful and the restaurant / lounge bar provided good quality food at both ends of the day. If we go to Victoria again we will look to stay here, although without the car as Victoria's one-way system is maddening!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nugaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

It is literally right across from the Parliament buildings! Giving it a 4 rating becos of this.
Pros - great location, across the st. from the Parliament buildings, one block up from the Inner Harbor, Visitor Info and Fairmont Empress. Touristy Govt. St and Wharf St, Market Square and Chinatown 15 mins walk. FREE parking! The hotel is also great about letting you check in early and if room's not ready, lets you store your luggage and park your car.
Cons - this is an older hotel, think of an older Days Inn or Motel 6. This is a no frills, hotel and for the pretty decent rates, you are paying for the location. Clean, older linens and furnishings. Like most older hotels in Victoria, it does NOT have AC so be forewarned in you're going when it's hot!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

stayed in 1 bedroom with kitchen, in the tower which is the newer building; furnishings dated but useable, bed could use new mattress, kitchen has barely enough dishes, only a couple of pots, no frying pan and cutlery for 4; downtown location fantastic as you can walk to Beacon Hill, downtown, and waterfront; staff very friendly and extremely helpful; has balcony (with good screens) off bedroom and separate one off living area; bedroom spacious and living area well layed out; has A/C but not used at this time of year; outdoor pool but not open yet for season; diningroom available but again not used; con is that you can hear the phone ringing in the next room (thinking it is yours); recommed this accomodation for the location only..I am sure there are nicer accomodations for a higher price

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Look4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn

Property: Embassy Inn
Address: 520 Menzies St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2H4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Victoria
#21 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Inn in conveniently located close to all of Victoria's great attractions, dining spots, shopping and theatres. All guests receive a free hot buffet breakfast, free fast wifi and free parking. All rooms are air-conditioned, have balconies, fridges and all the comforts of home. Bring along the family pet as we are a pet friendly hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Embassy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Victoria
Embassy Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing