We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basics not provided for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Laurel Point
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Basics not provided for”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We are still residing here for the week of this writing. First of all the hotel rooms in the Erickson wing are wonderful with most amenities provided for. The view is tremendous, especially if you are not used to the ocean and a harbour. Boats of all kinds, seaplanes and walkers along beautiful trails envelope the eyes. So far the food has been good though i personally find it a bit expensive for my tastes.
What I am finding MOST frustrating is what I consider to be essentials these days. First - internet access. I am only speaking of wireless here. I use an Ipad and have become quite dependent on wireless. I use it for everything not just the social media stuff but also planning my trip, looking up things etc. Currently i am sitting in the corridor because that is the only place to get good service! The only other place is in the entrance to the room and the bathroom. Once into room especially at the far end where the chairs and patio are there is virtually nothing! many calls to the front desk and to their provider yielded no results. Shameful really.
Second frustration is the television service. It doesn't even have a menu on it to see what is coming up. So one needs to go onling to "Zap2it" for example. Oh waitI can't - no wireless. Screen size is small too. I have seen 40" LCD's at cheaper hotels. Here it they are 32".
The thing is when you are paying for an upgraded room to the tune of $220 dollars or so I expect far better than what is being provided!

Room Tip: If you expect wireless and TV service this is not for you. Also access to public transportation is l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dosvader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Hi there Dosvader,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay with us. It sounds like you really enjoyed staying with us and that everything was wonderful with the exception of 2 things; 1.) the quality of our FREE WIFI and 2.) our flat screen TV's.
I would like to take a moment, if I may, to address both issues and perhaps shed some light on our position.
You mentioned that you enjoy using you ipad or tablet for conducting research etc and in fact have come to rely upon it as your source of information for almost everything you do and that you found it very frustrating to not be able to connect. Can I say that, at any given time in our hotel, there are hundreds of other guests who are doing the exact same thing and are even down loading games and movies to enjoy.As I am sure you are aware, the bandwidth in not infinite and with the size of the files being downloaded etc, it goes without saying that the bandwidth quickly reaches it's max. However, we do have ethernet cables and connections in each and every room and a paid connection is always available should you need to access the internet quickly for that important information. We even have a business centre in our Marble Lobby for those who did not bring their computers. So, I do hope this sheds a little light on the Free WiFi/bandwidths situation.
AS for your dislike of the 32" flat screenTV's; I would like to say that these TV's are 5 years old now and they work perfectly. Being one of British Columbia's only carbon neutral hotels, it is important for us to remain cogniscent of what goes into a landfill and what does not. Would we love to keep up with the ever changing trends? Of course. Are we willing to toss a hundred perfectly good TV's away just to keep up with the "trend du jour" of bigger is better? Frankly, in good conscience we cannot.......yet. We will, in time have to consider changing out our 32" flat sceen TV's but for now, we think our guests certainly understand and are satified with the units already in place.
I do hope that this explains a little bit of our position.
Also, I do hope that you will still consider our Inn your hotel of choice while in Victoria.

All the best for a wonderful fall wherever you may be.

Sincerely,
~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    535
    171
    48
    31
See reviews for
392
1,048
61
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Arrived from the ferry at Swartz Bay. Very friendly reception. Dashed out to the Emily Carr exhibition and then on to Pescatores for a fish dinner, so little time in hotel. Pool opens at 7am so I had the pleasure of a solitary swim before breakfast. Good views of the harbour from Laurel Point. Valet parking extra and breakfast a little expensive. Victoria is interesting however and the Inn is a good place to stay while there (presumably at a better rate than the Empress or the Pacific Grand).

Room Tip: Pescatores for fish
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierotlunaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear pierotlunaire,

Thank you for your delightful review! So glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us!
Have a fabulous fall- wherever your travels take you!

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

we stayed at The Inn at Laurel Point last year and loved it so much we went back for more on our touring trip this year. Fantastic location. Fabulous views, Excellent restaurant, super friendly (not obsequious) staff and just the right creature comforts. They claim to be green and MEAN it, you can really use a towel two days running!

Room Tip: good to overlook the river/estuary if you like boats and boat planes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lori f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Lori f,
I am completely delighted that you returned this year for another Vancouver Island adventure...all the way from the UK! And I am completely delighted that we did not disspoint-again!
You are "spot on" when you say that we are not "gimmicky" - afterall, with a water front property such as ours within close proximity to all the conveniences of our beautiufl downtown core, bundled up in one of Victoria's most beautiful buildings - there is no need to be!
Perhaps you will consider coming back for yet another trip next year???

Thanks again and all the best for a fabulous fall!

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Beautiful view and convenient for walking into the town. The rooms were clean and modern. We could watch the ships come in and out of the harbor. There is a restaurant available but we did not eat there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmerryinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear jmerryinaz,

Thank you for you brief but succinct review. So glad you enjoyed you visit to both our fair city and our beautiful Inn.

All the best ,

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were a little hesitant as reviews were somewhat mixed & made a point to book the Erickson wing. It was a great stay from the moment we checked in with the pleasant, helpful staff who offered a complimentary upgrade without being asked. The room was large, quiet and very nicely appointed. The bathroom was large with an over-sized tub, 2 sinks & room to spread out. The bed was comfy, lovely view and room service delicious and fast. Good location & an all-around perfect stay. Everything was so good that we couldn't help looking over at the other wing & asking ourselves "how bad could it possibly be?"

Room Tip: We did stay in the Erickson wing but the other rooms seem to also enjoy a good orientation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandNTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear NandNTravels,

I cannot thank you enough for posting your amazing review. I am so pleased that you elected to give us a try and that we didn’t disappoint. What more could a hotelier ask for?
I do hope that when you return to Victoria you will make the Inn your hotel of choice and perhaps become part of our Innsiders loyalty program.
Have a wonderful end of summer.
Sincerely,

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. Our room was located in the Errikson wing at the rear facing the outer harbour. Fantastic location for views of the gardens, ships and float planes, mountains etc and also good sized room and bathroom.

Mini bar was un stocked and we had no drinking water in the room. An annoying detail overlooked.

Access to the room was rather spoilt by an elevator that had seen better days and a very bare and unloved public space put to no use. But that aside, we would stay here again for the views and location.

The restaurant evening food was first class and reasonably priced with very good service.

An easy walk into town or to Fishermans quay.

Room Tip: Choose the Errikson wing 3rd floor and above facing harbour for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank number57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear number57,

You are so right – Victoria is definitely not to be missed. We have a reputation for being one of North America’s most picturesque cities – as a matter of fact, we are known as the “City of Gardens”..where the grass is green all year round!
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us, and I am delighted that you enjoyed the unparalled harbourviews. It is very pretty.
I noted that you were disappointed with the lack of a stocked mini bar. We actually do not offer a mini bar in each room. But we do have very efficient room service attendants who are more than pleased to bring you whatever your favourite libation happens to be, served up in the privacy of your suite, or ,if you prefer, we have a lovely little bar in our waterfront restaurant as well as a great harbourview patio –perfect for boat and seagull watching as well.
I do hope you have an opportunity to return to this part of the world again – we will have a room readied for you!

All the best for a wonderful rest of your UK summer.

Cheers,

~Judy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good – On a map, it looks like a long way from the inner harbor and Empress, but it’s maybe a 10 minute leisurely, and quite scenic, walk along the harbor and past Parliament. There is also a trail heading the opposite direction which is very scenic, and the neighborhood nearby was very attractive as well. The room had a refrigerator and free wireless, which was a bonus since we didn’t have cell service in Canada, although the blue light on the router did stare me down all night. Tape would have solved this very minor issue. The room and bathroom were nice and clean, the bed, although small, see below, was comfortable, with nice linens and pillows.

Bad – After greeting us, we were told that “Hotwire customers are not guaranteed a specific room type, you have a room with two double beds and no view. For another $20 per night you can upgrade.” First, don’t start my stay by lowering my expectations. Second, the room was only $129 on Hotwire, and while we were not thrilled by the room location, we were also not surprised. We don’t go to Victoria, or anywhere else, to sit in the room. Thanks to Hotwire and Priceline we routinely get 4* hotels at good rates, and spend our money on food, drink and sightseeing. Maybe a little too much on food and drink. Anyway, sometimes we get badly located rooms. As long as the room is comfortable, the bathroom clean, etc, no worries. And for those of you thinking, "$40 more?! and you're complaining?!" Yes, sometimes we upgrade. We didn't here because we only had a day and a half. And I just did not appreciate starting off our stay with an effort at upselling by downgrading the room .

She was quite pleasant, however, and gave us some tips on restaurants, like 10 Acres, at which we spent the aforementioned saved money. And then some.

Overall a good value in an expensive city, well located, nice employees, clean and comfortable room and the rest of rooms all looked like they have very nice views. You should stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Empress and Inner Harbor should have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3barblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Boss! at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear 3barblues,

Great handle by the way! And a very witty review! I loved it!

Wishing you a great rest of your summer!

Sincerely,
~Judy~
PS: Check out our website from time to time for some great off season sales!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Laurel Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Laurel Point

Property: Inn at Laurel Point
Address: 680 Montreal St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Victoria
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Laurel Point 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the edge of Victoria's Inner harbour is a property of unparalleled distinction. With 200 guest rooms, spectacular waterviews, private balconies and 10,000 sq. ft of meeting space, Inn at Laurel Point is your downtown Victoria hotel. Shopping, entertainment venues, and tourist attractions are all a short stroll from our welcome mat. Take a break from the ordinary, soak up the water views and come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Laurel Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laurel Point Hotel Victoria
Hotel At Laurel Point
At Laurel Point Victoria
Inn At Laurel Point Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing