We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn at Laurel Point
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is near every convenience. The rooms are neat and tidy. The room we had overlooks the harbour and we see sea planes taking off all day long. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. Unfortunately our baggage got soaking wet as a result we had wet clothes, no problem for the hotel, we requested extra cost hangers and got 20 straight away. We had breakfast at the restaurant in hotel which was great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlbertA1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear AlbertA1948,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I think we have one of the best teams in the city. So glad you noticed and took the time to mention it in your post.

Have a great fall season

Sincerely,

~Judy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 2,190 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great suite in the Erickson wing. Wonderful view of the hotel's Japanese Garden complete with waterfall, and the outer harbour. Attentive staff who called our room on arrival to check that we had everything we needed. Very comfortable King size bed. Huge bathroom with all amenities. A+ breakfast in the restaurant! We will be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear Diane M,
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so happy that we were able to meet youe expecations!
See you again one day!

Sincerely,

~Judy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked the Inn at Laurel Point based on the reviews found here and chose to stay there as the place we usually stay was unavailable the time. The view from the balcony/lanai was gorgeous and if it was not for this view we would have left the hotel immediately! We did not stay at the Erickson Wing, we stayed at the Laurel Wing. NOTE to anyone using Priceline--this hotel puts Priceline customers in the Laurel Wing only and if you want to stay in the Erickson Wing you must pay an additional charge. Since it was a quick one-night stay, we didn't venture over to check out the Erickson Wing but the room at Laurel Wing left a lot to be desired!

The room was clean, the carpet was nice, the view from the tiny balcony/lanai was gorgeous although we smelled the plane fuel every time a plane took off from the water. What surprised me most was the hotel's lack of care for this room. The "leather" chair was peeling leather off of it, all the wood furniture had water ring marks, burn marks, the finish was peeling off and damage on all of these wooden surfaces. This is an easy fix but it was left to just go bad. My husband and I joked that the furniture looked like something someone bought at a garage sale with the intention of refinishing it but the Inn chose not to.

The comforter was so lumpy--there aren't any stitch lines across the comforter to hold the batting in place so once it is washed the batting separates then melts a little in the dryer and forms the clumping--this is also any easy fix and would certainly make a big difference in the room appearance and customer satisfaction!

The bathroom is very small with a chipped counter top and dirty or badly stained grout lines in the shower. There is no handheld shower head, which I always prefer, and no fan to vent the shower steam. There was an adequate amount of towels and the Aveda bath products was a nice touch.

We also learned that the Internet is only accessible in the lounge unless you wish to pay an additional fee to use it in your room. Parking is also an additional fee but the hotel was very gracious in letting us leave our car there until after checkout so we could walk about the City without incurring additional parking expenses elsewhere.

We were there on a very hot day and did not realize when we left the room to go sightseeing that we should have turned on the fan and closed the curtains because when we got back the room felt like an oven! We turned the fan on full blast which was nothing so we had to open the sliding glass door at the balcony to get any kind of relief! My husband was then "eaten" by the bugs that ventured in through the opened sliding glass door!

There were 2 different lengths of curtains at the sliding glass door--one shorter to accommodate the heating/cooling unit, and the other long enough to cover the rest of the sliding glass door; because of the size difference the blackout curtains didn't work well and in the morning the sunshine came blasting into the room not allowing us to sleep any longer.

Although the staff was very nice and treated us with respect, there seemed to be an utter lack of customer service and caring that the customers were happy. It was a BIG birthday for me which we were there to celebrate and my husband sent an email to the Inn at Laurel Point asking if they did anything special for people celebrating birthdays. They wrote back that they did do special things for people celebrating birthdays OR he could select additional "special things" from a list they provided him for additional charges. (That seems to be the theme in this hotel!) We opted not to have anything additional to what they "normally do" for their customers as my husband had planned a lot of nice surprises for me. However, when we checked in absolutely nothing was done and when we checked out the woman at the counter asked if we had a nice stay so I mentioned that nothing was done for my birthday and all she said was "oh" and then "have a nice day". That was a missed opportunity for good customer service!

All in all, the room wasn't bad but for a 4.5 star hotel I expected better than what we got. Out of curiosity, my husband and I visited some of the other 4 to 4.5 star hotels we found on Priceline that we didn't select for this visit and were surprised to see much nicer rooms although not all of them had the outstanding view that the Inn at Laurel Point had.

It's sad to say, but I'm glad we had this experience so we now know where NOT to stay the next time we are in Victoria.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, I would highly recommend checking it out first and/or booking a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank kaww0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Kaww0502,
I am terribly sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding your recent stay with us. You seemed disappointed on so many levels that I feel compelled to reply to some of the more prevalent issues that you cited.
In general, I would always recommend to our guests that, when in doubt, it is always more preferable to book directly with the hotel itself. Our experienced reservations team have intimate knowledge of our property and can offer you all of the details about a room that big operators such as Priceline may not know or even be aware of and our pricing structure gives the consumer a lot of latitude to make decisions about what is important to them and their personal needs. For some guests a view is the most important thing, for others – they could not care less. Some guests want super luxury and are willing to pay premium rates no matter the price, for others- budget is their main concern and they are willing to take a room that had a restricted view and less luxurious amenities in order to save money. We, at this hotel, can offer you all of the above; we have entry level rooms in our Laurel Wing as well as super fantastic view rooms on the higher floors. Our other wing is the beautifully appointed Erickson Wing where balconies are bigger, the rooms are superbly appointed, the opulent marble bathrooms are divine and the views are to die for. Are there price differences in all of these rooms-of course! The room rates fluctuate according to what each room can offer – that is just the formula that every hotel uses - the higher the floor, the better the view, the higher the price (similar in fact to the real estate business). The penthouse will be infinitely more expensive than a ground floor view restricted (trees and flowering bushes inhibit a clear view of the harbour) room on the standard wing side of our hotel.
In general, guests who book through 3rd party operators such as Priceline are looking for great deals and are disappointed that they did not get their dream room. Priceline is quite clear in their representation of the room and at the end of the day, there should be no surprises.
What I can assure you of is that our housekeeping standards and our first class hospitality are the same throughout our hotel. We have a reputation for offering superbly clean and comfortable accommodations and we have a wonderfully warm and welcoming team of hospitality professionals ready to make your stay a memorable one – and yes, we even have a special complimentary birthday dessert for our guests celebrating special birthdays – BIG or small. We even have a convenient menu of “special items” such as champagne and flowers etc. that can be purchased and delivered to your room for the special person in your life.
So, in closing, I hope that this clarifies the hotel reservations process in hope that you will consider calling us directly the next time you want a special room for a special occasion.

Most sincerely,

~Judy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The best hotel of nine that we stayed in during our visit to Canada. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially at the front desk. Like having your own personal tour advisers. Great rooms, nicely decorated, well fitted. Great location, overlooking the harbour with a short walk into the town. Loved Victoria and wished we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlanM827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Dear AlanM827,

I was delighted to read that we made the top of your list for your "summer of 2014" travels.
I hope you carry fond memories of both our beautiful city and our beautiful hotel.

All the best for a wonderful fall season!

~Judy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We gave this Inn a second look, and I must say, it was a most pleasant surprise. Staying in the Erickson wing (recommended) we had a wonderful room with a wonderful view, supported by an outstanding staff. The restaurant, as always, was terrific, for both breakfast and dinner. In short, we will return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TonyTonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you Tony Tonto (love the handle) for the brief yet succinct review! Love it!

See you again!

~Judy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My friend stayed in the less expensive room which is average.
I stayed in the expensive wing and ended up paying 246 dollars
a night. This is more than I have ever spent in my life for a hotel room. It had a nice view granted.
I originally booked a room for 174 and then a friend was supposed to meet me so I changed my reservation to a twin
queen bed. They booked me in the deluxe wing and the new
room fee was 246. Fine I thought that will be split two ways between my friend and I.
My friend cancelled so I phoned hotel and said sorry but
I want to change to a one bed room.
So ended up with a deluxe which I did not need.
Yes I could have been clearer but so could they have been clearer.
My original reservation was not for a 246 dollar room but for
174 so when I needed twin beds how did it get jumped to
a deluxe in first place?
They must have 174 dollar room with twin beds!
At any rate I am unhappy and I will not be returning.
The deluxe room is a very nice room I just didn't need it or
the expensive price tag.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernibee1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Bernibee1946,
I am terribly sorry for the confusion regarding the rates, without knowing the exact details of your assigned room (s) I am going to say that the twin bed scenario was not available in the $174 price range and so you were offered a 2 bed scenario in one of our upgraded Erickson Wing suites. Room rates in Victoria are quite competitive during the peak summer months as I am sure you can appreciate but I assure you, we are neither the most expensive nor the least expensive.What we can all agree on however is that we are one of the most coveted hotels in the downtown waterfront area and well worth the price.
I hope this explains a little and I do hope you will return...we have some awesome off season rates that I am sure you would enjoy!! Automn is a stunning time of the year in Victoria!!

All the best,

~Judy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

outstanding, above and beyond expectations from booking to checkout. all of our needs were met, which was especially important considering that i was travelling with my infant. will definitely be back, and highly recommend!

Room Tip: erickson wing was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kumquaticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy E, Executive Assistant to the Mangaging Director at Inn at Laurel Point, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Deat kumquaticus [great handle by the way]
Thank you for the aweome posting. Traveling with an infant is not easy so I especially am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations on all levels.
I do hope you have an opportunity to return again one day!

Sincerely,

~Judy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#12 of 46 in Victoria
2,193 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
4,006 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Laurel Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Laurel Point

Address: 680 Montreal St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Victoria
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £97 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Laurel Point 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the edge of Victoria's Inner harbour is a property of unparalleled distinction. With 200 guest rooms, spectacular waterviews, private balconies and 10,000 sq. ft of meeting space, Inn at Laurel Point is your downtown Victoria hotel. Shopping, entertainment venues, and tourist attractions are all a short stroll from our welcome mat. Take a break from the ordinary, soak up the water views and come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Laurel Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laurel Point Hotel Victoria
Hotel At Laurel Point
At Laurel Point Victoria
Inn At Laurel Point Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing