We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at Laurel Point
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Co Down
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is a lovely hotel with lovely grounds which go down to the waters edge and with views all around Victoria.

This rooms did not included breakfast, and we decided to have breakfast in the hotel every morning as it was a 10 minute walk into Victoria to find somewhere to eat. That said the breakfast was very good averaged about $15 per person.

There is a small swimming pool which my boys used but it is deep for non swimmers.

The rooms were spacious, we were in the old part of the hotel and the new part looked alot more up market, our rooms looked just a little tired.

The only thing I didn't like was that there was no shuttle service from the hotel into Victoria and this was a minor problem for my father who finds walking any distance a little bit of a problem, therefore we had to use taxi's for him at $5 + tip each time and because we were a group of 5 we then need 2 taxis to take us and our bags back into Victoria on the day of departure.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quilter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    550
    176
    49
    31
See reviews for
405
1,079
62
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We were allocated a room on arrival in the Laurel wing of the hotel. It was very very shabby and in urgent need of refurbishment, certainly not 4 star. The harbour view we had booked was side on and not visible from inside the room. Our unhappiness with the Laurel Point inn soared when we found eight 500mg Tylenol tablets in a coffee cup that had not been spotted by housekeeping. We paid $60 per night for an upgrade and on day 2 we were moved to the Erikson wing to a lovely room and a sea view- unfortunately this was what we thought we had bought in the first place! On check out we were incorrectly charged for an upgrade for the first night as well as the ones we actually spent in the upgrade room so checking the bill here is important. The hotel has no public lounge or bar available to guests. On the plus side if you do get a room in the Erikson wing with a sea view it is terrific. If you don't there are plenty of better places to stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mallard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed there for one Night and I think, that was in my favour for saving the money for the next. After reading a numerous good reviews, I had booked the hotel for full price with Non Refundable for Friday night. We did check the pictures of the hotel and were looking forward for our stay at the hotel especially with 'Harbourview'. We booked two double beds room. The hotel has been expensive as compared to other hotels around, in total with all taxes we paid about $212. But the room was VERY DISAPPOINTING. As per other reviews, the hotel has two wings, we were in Laurel Wing (old one) which needs a looooottt of upgrading and is nothing better than an average $100 room. The carpets are definitely worn out, beds were really hard. As per other review, yes, there is a balcony but a standing one and hotel never tried to clean it. Walls were totally dirty and with rock spots. 'Harbourview', yes technically, it is one unless you are ok with trees all over your room with peak through view. TV in the room, OMG, it is probably 1980s - 19" one. Our room was on main floor directly across the housekeeping room. We did complain and was offered to upgrade with another $80 which we declined. We have seen the new wing rooms too, unfortunately, there were no two beds which is not great for family with children and old rooms have double beds not the queen beds.

If you compare the two wings - Laurel vs new wing, you are pretty much treated like two classes of people. New wing has LCD tvs with marble floor, the old one got rusty barber carpet. Unless you are ready to spend big dollars to stay at new wing or just want to brag about that you stayed at Laurel Point, save your money, this hotel has nothing better than average hotel (not a 4* for sure). And definitely ask for a room with higher floors. Other things, hotel has expensive parking ($12) as compared to others for free. Front desk staff is very courteous though but did not do much to have our stay better. The pictures at hotel website and other places are deceiving and probably photo shopped to remove the trees from front of the hotel.

For us, it was sad that we could not get to stay at a better place with so much money for one night, others probably were lucky to get better room. We will not be staying there again and felt cheated with so called 'harbourview'. I will post the actual pictures soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank viva_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed for three nights, the first in the Laurel Wing and the next two in the Erickson Wing.
We booked through Expedia and were put in the Laurel Wing. We found the room to be nicely appointed with nice furnishings and two double beds. We were on the ground floor with a patio to the Japanese Gardens. The room was nice and I believe good value for the Inner Harbor.
We switched to a room with two queen beds on the second and third nights and the front desk staff were exemplary (with a shout out to Tomas- above and beyond, many thanks!). We were placed in the Erickson suite and all I can say is that these rooms are beautiful! Bathroom has deep tub, two sinks, glass shower stall. Gorgeous! Balcony has chair and lounger and a million dollar view of the harbor! Beds were ridiculous comfy with awesome bedding. Rooms were extremely insulated from noise. Location Ideal! I guarantee that my family will never stay anywhere else in Victoria but the Erickson Wing of the Inn at Laurel Point as they have earned our repeat business and then some!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blipstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Simply superb. Fantastic location and a great value upgrade to the Erickson wing was worth every cent.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We were told our 2 double bed room ( Laurel Wing) did not have a balcony but it clearly stated on the website that they all came with balconies. So I called them; told them that and surprisingly they upgraded us to a room with a inner harbour view and a Juliet style balcony at no extra charge!. We stayed one night at the Laurel Point Inn and my expectation were way too high. The check in service was very slow even though there was only one person ahead of us. When we got to our room, the first thing I looked at was the view. There was a hugw tree blocking the view! very disapointted! The room was average just like you would get at hotel grand pacific. The balcony however, was very dirty and moldy green. I did not even want to stand on it. The beds were very comfortable and the AC was very quiet. Overall, I would stay again in the new wing (Premier rooms/Erikson Wing) or try a different hotel !

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkk003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We had booked a room on Expedia which I believed was in the new wing - turns out it wasn't so we upgraded to a suite in the new room. Not cheap ($260), but huge, modern room with free internet and fantastic balcony with water views.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emzo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,691 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Laurel Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Laurel Point

Property: Inn at Laurel Point
Address: 680 Montreal St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Victoria
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Laurel Point 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the edge of Victoria's Inner harbour is a property of unparalleled distinction. With 200 guest rooms, spectacular waterviews, private balconies and 10,000 sq. ft of meeting space, Inn at Laurel Point is your downtown Victoria hotel. Shopping, entertainment venues, and tourist attractions are all a short stroll from our welcome mat. Take a break from the ordinary, soak up the water views and come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Laurel Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laurel Point Hotel Victoria
Hotel At Laurel Point
At Laurel Point Victoria
Inn At Laurel Point Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing