We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how did we pay so little?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Laurel Point
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
daniel_munroe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“how did we pay so little?”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

stayed in the off season where the harbor view rooms are only $10 more expensive, and wow. at about $120 a night the room was incredible. very modern, clean and comfortable.

when we arrived we were informed that we were automatically upgraded to a deluxe king suite, and it was s great surprise. top floor, very nice view, gorgeous interior, I could go on and on.

the location was also a plus, walking distance to downtown, the BC Royal Museum (which is incredible) and anything else that may interest you.

side note: if your a fan of BBQ you MUST visit Pig BBQ Joint downtown. excellent food at a very reasonable price.

for your money, you could not do any better than this location. extremely recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel_munroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    535
    172
    48
    31
See reviews for
392
1,049
61
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at Laurel Point. Our "restricted view" room cost less than rooms at lower-rated establishments, but we still had a small balcony and a lovely view of the harbour that was just slightly impeded by the first floor roofline. Inn is right on the water and the inner harbour walking path. Aveda bath products are among the little things that make Laurel Point a cut above. Fantastic breakfasts available at hotel restaurant, Aura, smoked salmon on the eggs benedict was among the best ever and the locally grown fingerling potatoes were sweet, literally.
Minor issues: Parking is not free, so factor +$15 into the room rate if you're driving. If you're visiting Victoria in winter, don't plan on lounging in the Laurel Point lobby. It is chilly to the point that the staff bundles up in hats and scarves. The winter temperatures can make the short (<1km/10min) walk to nearby sights: The Empress, Royal BC Museum, and Parliament buildings feel much longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Laurel Point Inn last week as part of our trip to Canada. We stayed at the Erikson Wing and it's got to be one of the best hotels I've stayed in for a long time. The room was pure luxury and the bathroom was absolutely huge!!! I even had a chance to play with the hotel pup Cliff. He was just so obedient and playful.

One complaint I had though was the softness of the bed. I felt like I was being swallowed by the mattress at time because it was so soft.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay and a wonderful end to my holiday in Canada.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ng_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

1) Service - 10
2) Location - 10
3) Rooms - 10
4) Pleasure - 10
5) Overall - 10!

1) Service: My fiancée and I stayed at Laurel Point for 3 days in December. I was planning on proposing to my then girl friend and called the hotel to arrange all the details prior to our arrival. The staff was amazing, accommodating and thanks to them everything went smoothly according to plan without her speculating anything. In general, when you walk in, everyone greets you with the biggest smile! If you have any questions, need help arranging trips or tours, or looking for a good place to eat, we found their staff to be better than the tourist bureau. Also, a small bonus, at front desk, they have the most amazing tea (I am a tea connoisseur so I can say this).

2) Location is great, central to everything! I believe every room has a view to the bay, at least both of the rooms we stayed at (we were upgraded to the honeymoon suit) had large windows outlooking the water and the little boats. You fall asleep to the stars, and wake up to the beautiful Victoria sunshine. It was about a 10 minute walk to the bus stop that takes you to Buchart Gardens, 5 minute walk to Fisherman's wharf, 5 minutes walk to the Empress for High Tea. This walk is btw around the bay and gorgeous.

3) Rooms - as I mentioned earlier, we stayed in 2 different rooms. The first was a standard room, with a king bed. The room was nice, modern with balcony and view to the bay. It was very clean and new. The bathroom was great, with a big bathtub and bathrobes. The 2nd room, the "honeymoon suit", was AMAZING!!! It was a suit with a living room, bedroom, HUGE bathroom, and a GIANT jacuzzi with once again a view to the bay. So romantic. We also had a big balcony that stretched from the living room to the bedroom. After I proposed, we walked into the room and it had rose petals on the floor. To top it all, it had Molton Brown products. The bed was so soft and we slept like babies.

4) Pleasure - from the beginning to the end, this hotel is great. It's beautiful from the outside and on the inside. We noticed there were a lot of festivities and holiday parties going on.

5) Overall, we loved the hotel and would recommend to others. As I mentioned, I proposed to my then girl friend that weekend and everything went smooth thanks to the amazing staff and I couldn't have pulled organizing it all off without their help and participation. They even wrote on the TV that we were being checked out a day early, so that my then girl friend wouldn't suspect that I was trying to surprise her.

Thank you Inn at Laurel Point for making our trip that much more special.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinchi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

There is no doubt that the hotel has a great location and that this is the main selling point of the hotel. The rooms were OK, a little dated but OK. The food was of a very good standard in the restaurant, and somewhat at odds with the rest of the place.

However, the service in the rooms was poor. One day our rooms had been partially cleaned, with towels left around the bathroom and beds barely made. The rest of the time there was a distinct feeling that the staff were not out to impress.

If it's a top notch experience you want, go elsewhere. If you get a deal and you just want somewhere from which to explore Victoria from, the location makes up for the things that are wrong.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millergeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

Very happy with the studio suite room in the Erikson Wing. Large, nicely appointed, with a comfortable bed. Huge bathroom with fantastic tub, lots of counter and a great separate shower. Set up is ideal for a couple. Didn't need staff, but through minimal contact they were very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hailnurgle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

The hotel looked so pretty on the outside as we saw it coming in on the ferry. - it's less than a 5 minute walk away, which is partly why we chose it.

The staff were very friendly. We were put in a room with stained sofa, old carpet, and a balcony barely a 2 ft triangle which was not what we paid for. We appreciated that they switched us to a room with a great balcony with wonderful views of the water, ferry, seaplanes, sailboats, and the tugboats that passed by the hotel.

It was warm so we left the sliding door to the balcony open to air out the room a bit. After staying in the room awhile to settle in, we not only heard seaplanes very loudly coming and going every 30 minutes, we smelled the strong seaplane fumes wafting into our room. It was so intense that we had to close the sliding door altogether and turn on the A/C. So much for enjoying the nice warm fresh air.

The hotel had a restaurant with an good size alfresco area. We're not the type to eat hotel food as we prefer local fare so we didn't dine there. There were quite a few customers who went there for dinner to catch the sunset, so that may be a better though not necessarily less expensive option than staying at the hotel.

We won't be staying there next time but will stay closer to the center of town which is a pleasant 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank finicky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Laurel Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Laurel Point

Property: Inn at Laurel Point
Address: 680 Montreal St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Victoria
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#9 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Laurel Point 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing at the edge of Victoria's Inner harbour is a property of unparalleled distinction. With 200 guest rooms, spectacular waterviews, private balconies and 10,000 sq. ft of meeting space, Inn at Laurel Point is your downtown Victoria hotel. Shopping, entertainment venues, and tourist attractions are all a short stroll from our welcome mat. Take a break from the ordinary, soak up the water views and come stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at Laurel Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laurel Point Hotel Victoria
Hotel At Laurel Point
At Laurel Point Victoria
Inn At Laurel Point Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing