We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rates, no frills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria
Ranked #33 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were out in Victoria for the provincial Legion Euchre Championships and stayed at the Red Lion Inn. Very comfortable and affordable. Our three rooms cost about the same as 2 rooms at other hotels. Good Chinees Resteraunt on the premises.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

We ended up here after purchasing an "Express Deal" on Priceline (hotel amenities and price listed but not the name). We paid $76 per night + taxes for the room and were satisfied. The hotel is on the main drag of Douglas Street about 30 blocks north of the harbor. Depending on traffic, it will take about 10 to 15 minutes to drive downtown. A bus running downtown stops very close to the hotel (cost $2.50). The hotel is pretty much self contained with an attached sports bar and Chinese restaurant. There is also a shopping center, Walmart and McDonalds within easy walking distance (turn right at the Shell station).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 505badgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This hotel met our purposes well. We came as two families traveling together. The girls loved the pool. (Front desk staff even opened it early for us.) We did not find the location as scary as other reviewers on this site. We did not hear any noise from the bar. We found it convenient to walk to the nearby mall by day and I walked home with my teenage boys (20 minutes) from the harbor area in the evening. The walk was interesting, but we always felt safe. On another visit, my wife and I will use the easy access and go for a run on the Galloping Goose Trail.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank kevinleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here one night this week and were pleasantly surprised. Our one-queen bed suite was spacious and clean. There was a kitchenette, complete with cooking utensils, pots, pan, and plates etc. Would have come in handy if we were staying longer. The bathroom was good-sized and also clean. We didn't mind the location because we knew we were not paying for a 4/5 star hotel. Our criteria were, clean, free WiFi and parking, and inexpensive (booked at Sale price of $85, don't know what regular price was). Red Lion fit the bill. Reception staff were helpful and courteous. However, the one who checked us in was a bit too casual and not dressed in the usual suit-and-tie attire or uniform that one may expect, but he's pleasant enough and that's more important.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor in the back seem nicer. Privacy of Those on the First floor in the back i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmaniac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

So location: with a strip bar, a liquor store and a chinese restaurant in the same building why would you ever leave the block. Its about 20 min from downtown victoria. The rooms are tiny- the shoehorned 2 queen size beds into our room but there was no room for luggage. Oh there was a desk there too but you couldn't really sit in the chair cause the bed pushed against it. The bathroom was tiny, when you sat on the toilet you kicked the door. Cleanliness, the carpet was nasty stained and although the sheets looked clean, it just seemed 'dirty' and grimy. The pool was ok, a bit cold and outside next to the parking lot. Lastly the elevators were do slow, my kids had races how many times they could run up and down the stairs to the lobby and back by the time the elevator even showed up (3xs from the 3 flr). On the good side the people at the desk were ......nice if not ambivalent. Sorry

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Way too much for the room - wanted something clean and quick though and this was it - but if you want to leave your room after dark - a little sketchy - surrrounded by liquor stores and nightclub - literally same building. The desk clerk - although he clearly tried to make me feel better for overpaying on priceline - by giving me a suite - it was only one night and I would've liked the money instead :/ See pics for view from room - yes, those people hang out all night - and I couldn't park anywhere you see - parking was in an alley down the back...with a special dashboard voucher< seems silly to give priority to liquor store guests over hotel. Horrible staining on curtains, bed skirt and headboard....ewwwww! Also, looks like someone peed in the bathtub and it was never cleaned up! Would not recommend anyone to stay here. My brother also got a suite and his garbage can was full. TV in room is from 80's - see pics

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sabrinaVancouver_Bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I spent one night in the Red Lion and the experience was pretty good. I arrived early and had to get down to Victoria but this was no problem - the staff looked after my bags until I got back. The room was quite large and clean - one problem was that the WC flap valve didn't reseat but I managed to fix that quite easily.

The hotel is a little out of town but it is a short walk to the bus stop and there is a frequent service.

The V lounge is a sports bar and was OK, the Fox club round the corner is a strip club but I didn't go in there. I didn't see any of the unsavoury characters that other reviews have talked about, maybe I was unlucky :-). I didn't notice any noise.

The hotel was good value for a one nighter and fully fulfilled my expectations.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the car park seem to be quieter than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuriblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 47 in Victoria
970 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 47 in Victoria
225 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 47 in Victoria
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Comfort Inn & Suites
#38 of 47 in Victoria
304 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 47 in Victoria
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria

Address: 3366 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8Z 3L3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £47 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria combines friendly service, convenient location and the best prices in Victoria into an ideal package for travelers visiting this beautiful city on business or pleasure. We are located on Douglas Street, Victoria's main street, nearby the island's largest shopping mall and two other shopping plazas. Our guests have easy access to all downtown attractions, theaters, shopping districts and the conference center. We are also situated on the famous Galloping Goose Trail, which provides a unique way to discover Victoria by walking or biking.Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria offers standard rooms, studios and one-bedroom suites, all located in the quietest part of our hotel complex, away from the main street. Guest rooms feature many amenities including Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, a microwave and refrigerator and cable TV. Kitchenettes are provided in suites and studios. Laundry and valet service is available, and there is a 24-hour guest laundry on-site.For our guests who like to stay fit while traveling, we offer complimentary passes to Fitness World, a 15,000 square foot facility located across the street from the hotel. Or, relax and enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool. For your dining pleasure, our award-winning Jade Fountain Restaurant serves generous portions of Chinese specialties and Diego's Bar and Grill offers casual meals and cocktails. There are many other fine restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Victoria
Red Lion Victoria
Victoria Red Lion
Red Lion Inn & Suites Victoria Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing