We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your buck”
Review of Robin Hood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Robin Hood Motel
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I decided to have a little getaway for our 10th anniversary. Our flight arrived early in the morning. When we arrived at the hotel, they said our room wasn't ready just yet. However, they stored our luggage while we went for a bite to eat. When we returned, our room was ready and there was a nice little greeting card on the bed wishing us a "Happy Anniversary". The staff were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. When it came time to finding things to do, the staff and management made some recommendations and even got us a discount to go whale watching. The hotel location is ideal, not far from the harbor. We had good Wi-Fi, air conditioning worked well, and the hospitality was spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miago62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

To begin with ,we arrived @ hotel at quarter to 4 pm, and till then the room was not ready! We were asked to wait in the lobby for 1/2 hr ,as it was being cleaned. Fine, we waited.
The next shock came to us when I started preparing tea for ourselves( we booked kitchenette cuz we wanted to cook our food, prepare our own tea). Their kitchen had no chimney!
Then I started to look out for some kind of ventilation in the room, but there wasn't any! No exhaust fan!
To spoil our experience more, after we came to our motel in the night we saw someone had parked his car in front of our room( the manger said that the spot in front of room is fixed as your reserved parking). We took sigh of relief as we had just booked it for a night, the next day we moved to a place.
Note: the wi-fi p/w they gave to us never worked in the first place. We went and reported this to the manager who gave us new p/w, which then worked only with my mobile , and not on my lappy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank psychdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place matched my tastes well. Clean, 2 queens, enough room for two bicycles, helpful staff, super location, comfortable bed, AC, reasonably quiet, spacious shared deck area, and sunny weather! I will stay here whenever I'm in Victoria.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Spudandpotatoheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pros - friendly & helpful staff, very large room, good location 2kms from inner harbor, excellent beds & pillows, strong Wi-Fi, good airco , neat & clean
Cons - slight smell
Little dated but good value for money

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed once many years ago and in spite of the ramshackle second hand store furniture the place was not too expensive considering the price of the average Victoria hotel.

Another attempt at a stay didn't work out and despite cancelling the reservation in time they still charged the credit card. I explained the situation to the credit card company and it reversed the charge. I then received an abusive phone call at home from the hotel manager or owner complaining about that. Needless to say I can only recommend to stay away from this place and its methods.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am disappointed to hear that you had a problem with the cancellation of your reservation. We do have a 48 hr cancellation policy and if you would please email me your name, arrival date and cancellation number, which is always issued to insure no charges are incurred, I would be more than happy to investigate to find out what happened. Our email is info@robinhoodmotel.com
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had to book a motel on the Gorge on the spur of the moment and the Robin Hood was in a good location for us. I asked the front desk for the best price they could offer us - just under a hundred. Later I found on line offers that were considerably cheaper. That is irksome,but the room itself had an old fashioned charm as the entry was a comfortable lounge, there was a full kitchenette and the bedroom was down the hall and private at the back. Surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fisher_eye_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the Robin Hood Motel. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. Our policy is to offer the same rates in person or over the phone as we offer on line and in the future if you do see a rate better than we are quoting you, please let us know so that we can offer it to you. At times, as may have been the case over the long weekend, not all room types shown on line are still available at the property level. Our apologies.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We chose this property for price and availability. We found the staff very friendly and the overall atmosphere easy-going. We had a kitchenette, a sitting area and bedroom (plus bath with bright yellow tub). The sitting area faced the street which is quite busy (noisy) during the day but quiet at night. There is no airconditioning so a bit stuffy when humid - and the lock on the sliding window did not work, so security was a bit of a worry.
Unfortunately we found small insects (silverfish?) crawling on the eating table on the first morning, and a piece of dried noodle on a placemat, as well as a potato chip on the carpet in the bedroom. We don't think this is typical of the whole property but it was a bit disconcerting for us. However since accommodations in Victoria over the long weekend were tight and we didn't spend more than sleeping time in the room so we carried on.
Overall I would see this hotel on par with a holiday cabin - homey, rustic, warm and friendly.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage try to get on the main floor - or close to the stairs - there is no ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IamKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobinHoodMotel, General Manager at Robin Hood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review of the Robin Hood Motel. We have repaired the window noted in your comments. We would like you to know that most of our rooms in the newer wing have air conditioning and that there is a ramp located off the back parking lot which accesses the second floor. Please let us know that you would like air conditioning when calling us for reservations in the future and we would be happy to reserve one of those rooms for you.
Kind Regards,
Karen Styba, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
986 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
837 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#35 of 46 in Victoria
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#38 of 46 in Victoria
214 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robin Hood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robin Hood Motel

Address: 136 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: £43 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Robin Hood Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family owned business takes pride in offering clean and comfortable accommodation for excellent value. The Robin Hood is centrally located just 3 km from Victoria’s beautiful Inner Harbour and its attractions. Access to the Galloping Goose walking/cycling Trail is nearby. We offer a variety of different rooms including sleeping rooms (some with optional kitchens), kitchen suites with separate bedrooms, and large kitchen suites that can accommodate 6 persons. Wireless internet, local calls, parking and the lobby's guest computer are all provided at no charge. Other features include a picnic area, coin-operated guest laundry and bicycle storage. There are discounts available for seniors, AAA members, and groups. Weekly and monthly rates are offered in the off-season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Robin Hood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robin Hood Hotel
Robin Hood Motel Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing