We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with plenty of room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2012

While this hotel seems to date back to the '70's, I will say these are true suites with full kitchens and include everything you could think of to prepare your own meals. The location was excellent being one block from the waterfront and the Parliament building. Canada's taxes and fees are quite steep so our $132.00 room turned into $200 plus parking fees and $50 pet fee as we were traveling with our furry companions. If we had not had four people staying in our room I might have opted for the Best Western across the street as it had water views. All in all, an acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1luckylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

886 - 892 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2012

We were very happy with Royal Scot, we thought we had booked a regular room, and it ended up with 2 beds and a kitchen. The location was excellent, walking distance to all of the inner harbour and downtown core. The quality of the room and friendliness of staff were excellent too, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed at the property during the Easter long weekend. Our travel group consisted two families including a year old kid. We rented two suites and had a great time. They have indoor pool, sauna a games room for guests and a separate Billiards room.

We really liked the service. From the moment we checked in to the morning we left we were all impressed from their front desk staff, the housekeepers and the guys who were manning their restaurant.

We had a small incident where suddenly around evening the fire alarms went aloud within a minute a maintenance staff guy was making rounds and updating guests that it was a false alarm activated due to a guests culinary adventures.

Their location is perfect too. I would recommend this property to families, couples or friends traveling together.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingaroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The service and performance of the staff was stellar. The rooms were clean but we were not knocked out by the linens, bed covers, or beds. The bed particularly made for a rough couple nights. Admittedly we were spoiled by an outstanding bed and breakfast experience the prior three nights, but still the beds need improvement. We purchased Hot breakfast vouchers with our reservations and were not disappointed by the restaurant staff either. The breakfasts were tasty, large, and served quickly so we could get on with our day. The location is central to all the inner harbor attractions and great local restaurants. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to except for the Butchart Gardens. Great Location and Value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

While I was in Victoria attending my daughter's dance performances (Canadian College of Performing Arts), I stayed for 4 nights at the Royal Scot and the experience was awesome. From the moment I made the reservations to the morning I left, I had incredible service...the front desk staff, the shuttle drivers (I keep them busy taking me to the McPherson Playhouse), to the wonderful cleaning ladies. Walking distance to the harbour, retaurants and shopping.

I was upgraded to the queen with kitchenette, perfect, spacious and so comfortable...felt like home...but quieter (LOL). The food and service at Jonathon restaurant was do delicious.

Overall the Royal Scot was excellent, I will definitely be staying there when I return next year.

I highly recommend the Royal Scot!! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank celeste k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I just went on a little holiday to Victoria, and stayed at the Royal Scot. It was so close to everything, but was a little out of the way, so it was lovely and quiet. No view, but we were just there to sleep so that was fine. The service was excellent, nice little touches like umbrellas for our use. The shuttle was a neat idea, but we didn't use it--this time! We went in the off-season, so it was very reasonable ($100/night) but I know it's not that inexpensive during the regular season. Oh, and they had a selection of books in each night stand. I love to read, so it was most appreciated!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shirls-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Not the brightest and shiniest of the hotels on the block, but clean, and very homey! My family felt safe, comfortable and treated like royal guests there. The full size kitchen (complete with everything) in our suite was great. The location was fabulous...definately I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fridayharbormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,917 reviews
0.4 mi away
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £71 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing