We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location and Value - a winning combination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
594 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 578 helpful votes
“location and Value - a winning combination”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Fantastic location one block from the inner harbour waterfront. You can short cut through the lobby of the Pacific Plaza and be there in two minutes! It is the perfect location to stay in the heart of the scenic and historic part of Victoria.

The hotel is older but in excellent condition and has a timeless European ambiance. The rooms and bathrooms were clean. King sized bed was comfortable. Front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were large and spacious with all the necessary amenities EXCEPT Air Conditioning. This is not an issue for most of the year as the average temperatures are cool however it could be uncomfortable during a summer heat wave. An efficient fan is provided and the windows have screens.

Free internet is provided but the connection was very unreliable and would require a reconnect every few minutes and slow. The front desk will give you 30 minutes complimentary internet in the wired terminal that is equipped with a printer. Unfortunately there is a glitch in the program that prevents you from printing Westjet boarding passes. The front desk is able to print these passes on their terminal.

The Sauna, hot tub and swimming pool was well maintained and very pleasant. Breakfast was tasty and filling with average (but high) hotel pricing. Nice touches included delivery of the newspaper outside the door in the morning.

The room prices were excellent for a higher end hotel and was interesting that the internet rates could not be met by the hotel when I phoned to book. One unusual extra charge is $12 per night for parking in the outdoor areas.

This hotel offers the best value and combination of features in the half dozen hotels that we have stayed at in Victoria.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room that will give the option of sleeping with a window open as there is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    460
    69
    15
    12
See reviews for
358
555
53
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We loved our time at the Royal Scot. We were greeted by a friendly intern, Catrina?, who was incredibly pleasant and welcoming. After many days on the road hiking I was thrilled that there was a laundry room that was clean, available, well-lit and easy to use - and not expensive. The kitchen was well appointed and we were able to cook meals and use the space easily. There was a lot of space in the one bedroom suite, so we didn't feel cramped, and we could even come back with my elderly Aunt to give her a place to rest up a bit. We had a room at the back of the hotel so it was lovely and quiet, even on the balcony. We loved hearing the clopping of the horse drawn carriages instead of traffic noise.
One of the highlights for our family was the swimming pool. My boys loved the fact that it was not crowded, and was clean and warm. I used the fitness facility which was clean if small. There is also a games room and my husband and boys played billiards (pool) one night in the pool room. Our last night we ate at the restaurant, Jonathan's, and we had a surprisingly good meal since we weren't sure what to expect. While the decor isn't special the food was actually really good, and not too expensive.
Parking is convenient and getting around the city from here couldn't be easier. We walked to the Provincial museum, Empress hotel and inner harbor. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street (in the back of the hotel) if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We were greeted by friendly staff, able to check in and be on our way. The car was parked and we walked everywhere. The city is easy to get around, lovely historic buildings and statues, the waterfront is 5 minutes away from hotel and gorgeous. In the evening we were able to have the shuttle take us to the 'Aura' restaurant, and they picked us up later-what a nice perk.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Having stayed at the Royal Scot in Victoria numerous times over the years, this August I stayed for a week. It did not disappoint. The location is fabulous, the staff are friendly and helpful and in a suite its like being at home. When making the reservation, they were full in the middle and waitlisted us. When they called to clear the date I had reserved a room and then was transferring to a suite midway. The lovely woman on the phone upgraded us to a suite for the entire stay. The room is great - there is WIFI and as I was with my daughter attending a course at UVIC, great to have privacy of a seperate room. In the basement are laundry for longer stays, a very nice indoor pool and hot tub, exercise and games room. James Bay is a lovely area and you can walk to the harbor. Parking behind is handy. It remains one of my all time favourite hotels to stay in lovely Victoria any time of year.

Room Tip: If staying longer, book a suite with kitchenette even to have use of full fridge and microwave. Qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlowsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Its has that wonderful family owned homey feeling clean rooms takes care of all your concerns and has one of the best costumer service i have ever seen take yous of their free shuttle we used it like our own personal taxi. it really puts this hotel over the top

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our stay was a one night stay in transit to north Vancouver island. The suite was small but comfortable and very clean. Check-in was efficient and staff pleasant. It was a short walk to numerous restaurants and the waterfront and only two blocks from the Bus terminal. Would stay there again if we ever travel to Victoria.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank corchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We are a family of five (two adults, three teenagers). We stayed at the Royal Scot for three nights in a two bedroom suite. It was roomy, clean and highly adequate. The staff were very helpful. Location is great - a couple of minutes walk to the Inner Harbour. Our one reservation: the suite only had one bathroom - a definite drawback with three teenagers. But it was highly satisfactory in every other way and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavlovanddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing