We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Really Like This Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Royal Scot Hotel has comfortable guest rooms at a reasonable price for such a central location near the Port Angeles Ferry. Having two comfortable arm chairs for when we were relaxing in our room we liked very much. There was a small fridge in the room which we did not use. We used the indoor pool and hot tub as well. We appreciated how clean everything was kept. We did an early check-in and left our bags in the room while we wandered the city. The restaurant was good as well. The service in the hotel was excellent. We were able to leave our bags on check out day so we could wonder the city before getting on the ferry.

The neighborhood was nice and quiet with a short walk to the BC Natural History Museum. The Ferry is one block away if you go between 2 buildings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Halfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

My sister and I spent a weekend at the Royal Scot last November and were very happy with our stay. The cost of the suite we booked was extremely reasonable--less than many of the single rooms at other hotels we considered. The decor is looking just a wee bit tired, but the rooms were clean, cozy, comfortable and quiet. We didn't make much use of the fully equipped kitchen, but we definitely made note of it for the future, and I've recommended the hotel to friends who have kids.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Parliament buildings, the Inner Harbour and the Provincial Museum, as well as the main downtown shopping area, but far enough away that it's easy to get an uninterrupted sleep. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kern W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Royal Scot provides comfortable guest rooms at a moderate price for such a central location. We particularly appreciated having two comfortable arm chairs for when we were relaxing in our room. It was also handy to have a small fridge in the room. Our room had a huge walk in closet so we could lay our suitcases out without them getting in the way. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub as well and appreciated how clean everything was kept. We were given an early check-in and found the service in the hotel was excellent. We appreciated the quietness of the neighbourhood too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contemplativecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Royal Scot on a summer trip to Victoria. The location is great and close to many downtown attractions. It was a bonus to have a suite with a separate kitchen (full size fridge and stove plus the necessary dishes and utensils), a separate bedroom and living room for the same price one would pay just for a hotel room. It is showing its age (we also stayed here years ago) but still a very nice place with great service and friendly staff! Front of building comes with a kilted mascot!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank seetheworld2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This hotel is located in james bay, and is so close to everything downtown. We stayed in a suite with our 3 children and it was very comfy. Nice to have a kitchen and separate bedroom! The staff was very friendly and helpful, we ordered a roll away bed, no problem! We also ordered breakfast through room service and it was very good, and super fast. It is an older hotel but very clean. I think it's a good value as you would pay the same for just a room in many of the fancier hotels! We would stay again for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We frequently travel to Victoria B.C. to visit our son (who cannot accommodate us in his one-bedroom apartment). We always stay at the Royal Scot hotel because it is an easy walk to everywhere, and for the price of an ordinary hotel room elsewhere, you have a suite with a full kitchen. Always clean, quiet, roomy and reliable. Would not stay anywhere else in Victoria. When a partner snores (not me of course) there is always the living room couch……in a separate room. Beats sleeping in the bathtub in other hotels. Back when I first started staying here in the 80's or 90's, the valet staff wore kilts. Oh well. Time marches on.

Room Tip: Quieter in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 330lynt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I had a short getaway to Victoria recently, and had a wonderful stay at the Royal Scot. I had booked the site on the hotel website at a great price, I thought, but then discovered that they were running a Fall special that included an upgrade and free parking - an unbelievable price of $400 plus tax for 5 nights! I contacted the hotel by email and there was no hesitation in extending the offer to us.

When we arrived, we were delighted to discover that we had received a double upgrade from a standard room to a full one bedroom suite. It was a lovely unit - immaculately clean, perfectly maintained, roomy and comfortable. The staff was a joy to deal with.

We regularly visit Victoria, and would stay at the Royal Scot again in a minute! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Dophi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,917 reviews
0.4 mi away
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Victoria
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £71 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing