We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Friendly Place”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We spent 3 days in Victoria earlier this month. Since we were walk-on passengers on the Port Angeles Ferry, we wanted to stay close to the terminal. The Royal Scot was only one block away. It is set in a very nice residential area. The setting is very peaceful, and the grounds of the Hotel are beautifully maintained. Check-in was quick. The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The only problem was no air conditioning. However we were there during unusual and very warm weather. Leaving the sliding door open at night took care of that. We ate over 1/2 our meals at the Hotel restaurant. The food was excellent, and well prepared. Service was friendly. Prices were very reasonable for Victoria. We were a short walk from the Royal Museum, and the Empress. We would not hesitate to stay here again, next time we come to Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    737
    476
    73
    16
    12
See reviews for
368
578
57
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, NC, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Royal Scot is a beautiful older hotel perfectly located to avoid the noise of the city but the convenience of walking 3 blocks to the middle of the beautiful city of Victoria. The hotel sent their van to pick us up at our ship and took us to restaurants and shopping locations in town that we might have had trouble finding on our own. Each member of the staff were very accommodating and eager to make our stay memorable. We will certainly recommend the Royal Scot to anyone traveling to Victoria.

Room Tip: We had a suite and it was quite roomy and well furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I can't say enough wonderful things about this hotel. The staff was so very friendly and helpful, answering any of our questions with a smile. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. I loved that the hotel seemed to be in the middle of a neighborhood, a very enjoyable place to stroll around in the evening. The location was perfect, jut a short walk to the harbor area. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Victoria, BC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We took the ferry from Port Angeles WA to Victoria for a one night stay. We did not drive so we walked to the Royal Scott after arriving and it was to early to check in but they stored our luggage so we were free to roam the city until check in time. This is an older hotel that has been kept up very nicely. We had a King room and it was very clean and roomy. The location is fantastic for walking. They also have a free shuttle that will take you all over town. After walking all day we had them take us uptown to a Pub for dinner and drop us off and then we had a beautiful evening stroll back. Staff was very friendly and breakfast in hotel restaurant the following morning was delicious!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel was a nice place to unwind and relax. My husband and I and our 12 yr old son enjoyed this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was actually upgraded to the main level 1 bedroom suite which included a pull-out sofa and living room and a full kitchen. There was more than enough space for us, it felt like our own little apartment. We walked to the Thrifty store about 4 blocks for some breakfast and snack foods. The hotel is a little dated, could use some updating but was very clean and my husband and son enjoyed the pool as well. Great hot tub! A special thanks to the staff as my husband forgot his charger for his laptop and the hotel mailed it out by courier right away to our home address in Calgary. This is GREAT SERVICE!! We will stay here again. My sister stayed at the Gatsby Mansion as she wanted her own "Victorian" style hotel and she walked over every morning for breakfast and in the evenings for drinks, a 5 min walk. There is also a liquor store across the street. You can walk to the harbour from here 5-10 min walk. Very nice location. Grounds were immaculate too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondiecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location behind Parliament, which makes for a quick and easy walk to the inner harbor, Royal BC museum, etc. Being off the main street gave it a residential feel while still being right in the midst of things.

This hotel was perfect for my family of 4 (2 adults/2 kids under 10). The rooms were large and clean, though the décor was a bit dated (it reminded me of a grandmother's home, charming but older furnishings). Our suite had a separate bedroom with 2 queen sized beds, full kitchen, living room with couch/arm chairs, dining room table & chairs, tv. We had plenty of room to spread out.

The hotel staff were very friendly and the restaurant served good breakfast food (though we had to wait a long time to be seated). The hotel has a swimming pool, a room with a pool table & other games/books that you can play there or take back to your room and other amenities.

Parking was plentiful behind the hotel (extra charge).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Have stayed here a number of times when my husband and I attend the British Car Show in September. We get a suite and it works out well for us as it has a kitchen, living room and bedroom. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a comfortable, convenient to downtown stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.1 mi away
The Oswego Hotel
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,749 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing