We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moneys worth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We recommend this hotel anyone wanting to stay near the harbor. It's nearly a block away from the Government building, the horse carriage rides and undersea garden. We reserved a one bedroom suite that included a kitchen and a balcony. Suite is very clean and equip with basic kitchen necessities. There was even an electronic kettle to boil my water for my tea!! Except for some resorts, that is hardly available in any hotel (5 star or not) so that alone is a plus in my books. Even though the furniture are outdated it is comfortable and kept tidy. I would have loved to read some of the books in the room if time permitted. Yes, there is no air-conditioning in the hotel but there are two fans-one in living room and another in the bedroom but we had no issue with this because we are out and about in the mornings right through the afternoon and the nights are cooler that an air-conditioner is not required. To park at the hotel cost $6 a day, it beats parking fee anywhere in the harbor vicinity. We ordered breakfasts at Jonathan's restaurant (located in the hotel-main floor), the price was reasonable and, food and preparation was good. Staff were friendly and customer service is great. It is no grandeur of a hotel like The Empress but for the price we paid, the location and service we received we will surely go back to this hotel in the future. BTW there is internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2009

We stayed in the hotel on our tour through British Columbia. One of the best !
Friendly staff, good food. The rooms excellent, very large for European standards. Beds to die for!
The hotel has a great location, near harbour and Citycentre. Would have loved to stay there for a longer period and I am sure we will do so in the near future !

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabetNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

One night here - can't fault the location - just one street back from the harbour. Also good value parking considering some of the other downtown hotels used on this trip to BC and Washington. Rooms are a little tired and do not have air conditioning, although several noisy fans were supplied. Took breakfast here, which was well priced. Overall would stay again for location etc but there are possibly other options worth considering too.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Came to Victoria with some girl friends and it was great. We have a full on appartment and there were beds for everyone. The location was great, walking distance to EVERYTHING but still quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We spent two nights at the Royal Scot with our two pre-schoolers. The location and price made it hard to beat. We love having a suite so we can put the kids to bed and still be able to move around/watch TV until we're ready to sleep. The rooms were large, and the kitchen fully equipped. There's a gift shop in the hotel were you can buy groceries, and a proper grocery store only a few blocks away.

We didn't use the pool, but the kids loved the play room - complete with TV and VCR.

The location was great. Being a block away from the harbour, the Royal BC Museum and the Bug Zoo meant we didn't have to bother with the car and could do quick trips to and from the hotel if anything was forgotten. It's also an easy walk to Beacon Hill park.

We loved it and would definitely stay again if we're in Victoria.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillerMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

After staying in tiny hotel rooms over the years I was pleasantly surprised with our stay at the Royal Scot. I've put off travelling because my husband and I have 4 young boys ages, 10, 7, 5 and 3. I found tripadvisor and thought I'd give a hotel with some of the better reviews a try.

We we're so pleased. Our suite was roomy with a seperate bedroom for the children and there was a full kitchen. I used the oven to make roast chicken and veggies and stove to cook up some pasta without any trouble.

We used the swimming pool, games room and hot tub. Everything was clean and we had a great time.

The location was perfect. A short distance from inner harbor and to many attractions.

The most recent pics provided by another traveller doesn't appear to look like the suite we stayed in but the older photos do look like the suite we stayed in.

3  Thank Hippy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

Picked this place for a thanksgiving getaway based on the glowing reviews here. It reminded me of staying in an old apartment in need of some renovation, not a hotel. The room had a tiny desk area with no AC plug nearby. The internet connection was next to the phone on a small coffee table in the living room and there was no Wi-Fi, so working at the desk was out of the question. On the last day we decided to make breakfeast and realized that the stove burner were not working after they went up in sparks.

On the plus side, the staff was friendly and the location was great.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tripadvisee_90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 47 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 47 in Victoria
3,893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £90 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing