We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$458
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$345
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$308
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abigail's Hotel(Victoria)
US$307
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Embassy Inn(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveller rating
795
509
83
18
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
795
509
83
18
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomfull kitchenjonathan's restaurantgreat locationone bedroom suitecourtesy shuttleparliament buildingquiet streethot tubinner harborlaundry roomsofa bedindoor poolport angeleswithin walking distancean older hotelno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
1,136 - 1,141 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We were seeking a hotel with larger rooms and good value, and we had our 5-month old in tow. The Royal Scot seemed to fit the bill with its suites and we were very happy with the rate but unsure what to expect as we kenw the hotel was older.

The location is fantastic, especially if you're a first-time visitor to Victoria, as the hotel is nestled just back from the beautiful inner harbour and its many tourist attractions, and a stones throw away from the Legislature Buildings. You can really walk anywhere in downtown/James Bay without much difficulty.

The room itself was impressive. Older but updated and very clean, it featured a nice full kitchen and a dining area, a living room with pull-out queen, and a seperate bedroom with two twins. The staff was friendly and helpful and overall we thought this was a great place to stay. The only downside was the $8 a night parking (not too bad compared to some places) and the lack of air conditioning. Yes, it got HOT in the room. There were two fans- one new, quiet tower style fan, and an old, clunky noisy one that made it more bearable. We didn't visit the restaurant, which looked nice enough but somewhat pricey. Consider this hotel if you are looking for a full suite in a terrific location and don't want to fork out a fortune.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Scot for two nights on our way up the coast of Vancouver Island, with reservations made through Exedia. We were so surprised when our "room" ended up being more like a very nice three room apartment. We loved how quiet it was, how clean and well furnished, and how very comfortable it was. Our children are adults, but we admired the game room (pool table, shuffleboard, card table and puzzle table) was set up for everyone's use. Coin operated laundry is available which makes it very easy to travel with a family. I really felt like someone had really put a lot of effort into making this a great place to stay on your travels. However, on the way back home we stayed for one night, with the reservations being made through a cheaper on-line place, and had a very different experience. The room was just as nice, but it was next to the housekeeping station, the elevator and the stairway. The room was also right over the valet parking. The noise was constant and loud. We requested a room switch and were upgraded to a suite for an additional $50, which we gladly paid. I think that is what I saved using the cheaper on-line reservation place. The staff was wonderful and accommodating. If noise is an issue with you, make sure you make that known when you make your reservation. Otherwise, this is a delightful place, with the best location possible.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norcalpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

With superb location and friendly service, this hotel offers excellent value. In addition to the city center being just one block away, also the Victoria Clipper terminal is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, so if you're going to travel to/from Seattle, it's an exceptionally convenient location. Ok, the hotel is a bit dated, but that is also reflected in the price.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuu-kanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This little facility has an odd name and odd mascot. I thought it would be some kind of hunting lodge until I checked-out the website. You can't beat the location, it is walking distance to everything and the bus stop is just a 3 minute walk through a safe and picturesque setting. The staff is so helpful and quite friendly when engaged, the shuttle driver is helpful and cheerfully accommodating. Their one-way shuttle can drop you off to certain locations in town. The room is pretty dated, but clean and fresh and the livingroom and kitchen nicely laid out. Just a little note , though, the headboard end of the bed is on the wall shared by the bathroom, so that wakes up everyone with the noise from the plumbing at night. We were very pleased with our stay there, and would do so again. I have already recommended this facility to my co-workers in the airline.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank racoontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

This hotel was perfect! Excellent location, a 2 minute walk to the Inner Harbour where all of the action is. It was one block away from the harbour so it was really quiet. We had booked a night at one of the more expensive hotels for our last night in Victoria but ended up cancelling it because we were so happy with the Royal Scot. I spoke to a manager, John at the front desk, about booking the night with them instead of the other hotel because I was so pleased with their service and rooms and he upgraded my room to the King Suite at no extra cost. They have a games room, a pool, and a hot tub. If you don't mind just a simple room, no frills, if you value great service and want a convenient location, this is the place to stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wulsylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews