We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Location was good near one end the harbour where we did a great whale watch tour. Victoria itself other than whale watching is being brought down by all the druggos and beggers and could not recommend this town other than its excellent whale watching. This motel was dated but good enough vale and we paid $149 CAD per night for a one bed studio which was quite large with a decent enough kitchen.

If you are going to stay in Victoria this area of town felt a lot nicer and safer. It was still in walking distance of all the sites

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyPhiljane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    453
    66
    14
    12
See reviews for
354
540
49
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moira, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

This was the last hotel of our 2 weeks stay in Canada , we have been impressed with the quality of all the (7) hotels we have stayed in (thanks to our agent Canada4U) . This was a good place to finish, large well-equipped studio suite in a quiet area of Victoria but within easy walking distance of all amenities. Has a nice indoor pool and hydrotherapy pool. We also had a very enjoyable meal at Jonathan's restaurant which is connected to the hotel. The only niggle was 8CDN per day for parking when the hotel brochure states that parking is complimentary (still its cheaper than Whistler at 20CDN per night).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

Great spot within easy walking distance of the inner Harbour. Dated but well kept. Most of the rooms are larger than average but be careful if rooms art nearly full, they have a few broom closets they may try to put you in

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surferscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

The location is good, just a block from the harbour although light sleepers might notice the seaplane noise at 7 am. We were upgraded to a suite which had a partition between sitting area and bedspace. The kitchenette had a microwave and tea/coffee supplies which was nice. The electronic safe was handy. There were 2 fans which kept the room comfy. Note there is no air con which could be a factor in hotter weather. The queen-sized bed is close to the partition on one side so a big person might have to squeeze in. The bathroom had shampoo and lotion and there were 2 bathrobes. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. Did not eat at the restaurant. Parking is $8. Overall this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

everything we needed and close to everywhere we wanted to go, we'll be back next year

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmmacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bochum
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We are at the moment staying at this Hotel, which we have booked because of it's good rating here in Trip Advisor.

Maybe all other writer of these comments had more luck with their rooms - we have got a room where all the technical features of the Hotel do not work.

Expedia says the rooms have wlan - which is not true! There should be a cable internet port in the room, which we could not find - later the technicians find out that the cable was removed - it has been replaced - then we had internet? Who is checking the rooms before they were given to guests??

The next thing not working in the room was the safe. We asked the front desk to fix it at about noon. When we came back to our room in the evening nothing was fixed and the safe was still not working. The end of the story was that the safe could not be fixed and we hab to change the room.

The maintenance staff was very kind and helpfull - but the housekeeping supervisor who should have checked the room before it was given to the guest has not checked anything!!!

We have just got an upgrade when we changed the room for the secound night - thats the good news!

oh - i forgot one more thing - the toilett in our first room brokes down during the night - but this problem could be fixed by myself!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal_Scot, Director of Guest Relations at Royal Scot Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 September 2009
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the technical failures in your room. Clearly our housekeeping staff overlooked the missing cable when they checked the room. Thankfully, we were able to rectify this problem so that you were able to connect to the internet. Expedia does state that internet(wired) is available in the rooms and the wlan is available elsewhere in the hotel.

As for the safe in the room, it appears our Maintenance staff were unable to repair the problem and we are working with the manufacturer of the safe to prevent this from occurring again.

Thank you for pointing our areas where we can improve our service to our guests. I do hope that you will give us another chance to serve you the next time you visit our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2009

This was our first trip to Victoria so I used tripadvisor's hotel rating guide to stay at the Royal Scot. The staff was very helpful and provided us a free upgrade since our booked room was not available. The hotel is very close to the harbour and two blocks from downtown which makes it very convienient for shopping and sightseeing. We will be definately staying at the Royal Scot on our next visit to Victoria!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biggarbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing