We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites(Victoria)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$322
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$283/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
Abigail's Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oak Bay Beach Hotel(Victoria)
US$312
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$302/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
US$537
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,451)
Filter reviews
1,451 results
Traveller rating
813
518
85
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
813
518
85
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomfull kitchenjonathan's restaurantgreat locationone bedroom suitecourtesy shuttleparliament buildingquiet streethot tublaundry roominner harborsofa bedindoor poolport angeleswithin walking distancean older hotelno air conditioning
Filter
Updating list...
1,303 - 1,308 of 1,451 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2006

One of the best hotels I have stayed in! Friendly and efficient staff, good food, large clean rooms. My wife is Scottish and even she enjoyed the image it creates. The free shuttle bus is a fantastic benefit. Overall very good value in a great location in a great city.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank englandabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

The Royal Scot was great despite an infrastructure problem this past weekend.

A water pipe burst at the hotel, so housekeeping wasn't able to clean all the rooms until the problem was corrected. As a result, our room wasn't ready at the normal 3:00 p.m. check-in time on Saturday. They asked us to check back in a few hours, and said we'd be getting a discount on our room rate because of the problem. They informed us of the discount without our asking them for it, which was a wonderful thing for them to do.

After we did some sightseeing in downtown Victoria and ate dinner, we returned to the hotel to find that our room was ready. We had a one-bedroom suite with two twin beds. The suite was huge and immaculate, and even the fold-out sofabed was comfortable. It was nice to have an open window to take advantage of the cool breeze and still not hear any street noise.

The staff phoned a cab company for me after I left my digital camera with all our photos on it in the cab when returning to the hotel. The cab (Bluebird) returned with the camera, and the driver refused an additional tip for returning the camera--so kudos to him, too.

When we checked out, we found out that the hotel gave us a much bigger discount than we thought they'd offer.

From the location just a couple of blocks from the Victoria Clipper landing, to the kilted painted bear outside the entrance to the hotel, to the gracious staff, to the immaculate room, everything about the Royal Scot was just perfect. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wanative57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2006

Perfectly situated for the harbour and town centre. The rooms were extremely large, very clean and fully equipped. We stayed here on the night of the celebrations for Canada Day . The Canadians certainly know how to clear up after such an event because we ventured our early for breakfast and there was not a piece of litter in sight. We decided to dine at "De Dutch" which is well known for its pancakes and omelettes - absolutely fantastic!!! We had a wonderful evening meal at Cafe Mexico (about 15 mins walk from hotel) which serves tasty food and great mango margaritas!!! Beware as the portions are large here. We would not hesitate in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travelling_Ryders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2006

The Royal Scot is great value for the money. The facility is nice and very clean. We booked three rooms - a one bedroom suite, a studio suite, and a single room. All were good (although the one bedroom suite was $20 more expensive, I actually thought the studio suite was nicer). The hotel has complimentary van service which was very nice for us since one member of our party has difficulty walking long distances. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful -- especially Krista who assisted us with dinner reservations and information about sights to see. The only downside to the hotel were the prices in the dining room. Victoria is an expensive place to visit but, even knowing that prices are high there, I thought the breakfast prices in the hotel dining room were way out of line.

Stayed: June 2006
6  Thank pjcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

The Royal Scot Hotel is located on Quebec St., 2 blocks up from the ferry terminal area and very near the downcity area, so it has an excellent location. The staff are very pleasant, courteous and helpful. The 1-bedroom suite is actually a converted apartment, so there was plenty of space and a useful, complete kitchen available. As a previous reviewer noted, the suites do not have a/c so the suite could get stuffy unless the windows are kept open. A single table top fan was provided, but a second was brought as soon as requested. The pool is small and not appealing if there is a large group of kids using it. Housekeeping was good, but we did notice several carpet stains. Bedding was in good condition. All in all, a good value choice in the city.

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank wanderabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews