We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't rate it high enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't rate it high enough”
Reviewed 18 August 2006

By far the best hotel we stayed in on our three week trip to canada. Absolutely brilliant. The rooms are fantastic and have a very homely spacious feel, clean and well kept. The bed was the biggest I've seen and very comfortable indeed. The staff were all really friendly and helpful and the shuttle bus was really good too. Just say to the desk where you would like to go and they would take you there, no need for taxi. Location is smack bang in the middle of the harbour. Cant rate it high enough!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — absolutely nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — visit the statue man
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank might
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    483
    76
    16
    13
See reviews for
376
591
57
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merced, California
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2006

Clean, comfortable, suites here. A very short distance to the Victoria harbor. Accomodating staff and comfy beds.

Helpful?
2 Thank lessalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We had a wonderful stay at the Royal Scot. The deluxe studio suite was absolutely perfect! Our suite had a great layout, with kitchen area and living room separate from sleeping area. If we would have had a longer stay than our two nights we could have made some of our own meals in our suite. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating .We would only stay at the Royal Scot when visiting Victoria again!

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank USAtraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2006

One of the best hotels I have stayed in! Friendly and efficient staff, good food, large clean rooms. My wife is Scottish and even she enjoyed the image it creates. The free shuttle bus is a fantastic benefit. Overall very good value in a great location in a great city.

  • Liked — friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — no aircon and it was hot and humid when we were there!
  • Tips/Secrets — use the shuttle bus! Also the Don Mee restaurant in China town was great!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englandabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, WA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2006

The Royal Scot was great despite an infrastructure problem this past weekend.

A water pipe burst at the hotel, so housekeeping wasn't able to clean all the rooms until the problem was corrected. As a result, our room wasn't ready at the normal 3:00 p.m. check-in time on Saturday. They asked us to check back in a few hours, and said we'd be getting a discount on our room rate because of the problem. They informed us of the discount without our asking them for it, which was a wonderful thing for them to do.

After we did some sightseeing in downtown Victoria and ate dinner, we returned to the hotel to find that our room was ready. We had a one-bedroom suite with two twin beds. The suite was huge and immaculate, and even the fold-out sofabed was comfortable. It was nice to have an open window to take advantage of the cool breeze and still not hear any street noise.

The staff phoned a cab company for me after I left my digital camera with all our photos on it in the cab when returning to the hotel. The cab (Bluebird) returned with the camera, and the driver refused an additional tip for returning the camera--so kudos to him, too.

When we checked out, we found out that the hotel gave us a much bigger discount than we thought they'd offer.

From the location just a couple of blocks from the Victoria Clipper landing, to the kilted painted bear outside the entrance to the hotel, to the gracious staff, to the immaculate room, everything about the Royal Scot was just perfect. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Huge room, cleanliness, wonderful staff
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the Hot Rates and Dates program on the hotel web site for reduced rates available by calling the hotel directly
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wanative57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, UK
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2006

Perfectly situated for the harbour and town centre. The rooms were extremely large, very clean and fully equipped. We stayed here on the night of the celebrations for Canada Day . The Canadians certainly know how to clear up after such an event because we ventured our early for breakfast and there was not a piece of litter in sight. We decided to dine at "De Dutch" which is well known for its pancakes and omelettes - absolutely fantastic!!! We had a wonderful evening meal at Cafe Mexico (about 15 mins walk from hotel) which serves tasty food and great mango margaritas!!! Beware as the portions are large here. We would not hesitate in staying at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location - close to Victoria harbour
  • Disliked — No air-conditioning - but we did have windows that opened
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelling_Ryders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
little rock, arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2006

The Royal Scot is great value for the money. The facility is nice and very clean. We booked three rooms - a one bedroom suite, a studio suite, and a single room. All were good (although the one bedroom suite was $20 more expensive, I actually thought the studio suite was nicer). The hotel has complimentary van service which was very nice for us since one member of our party has difficulty walking long distances. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful -- especially Krista who assisted us with dinner reservations and information about sights to see. The only downside to the hotel were the prices in the dining room. Victoria is an expensive place to visit but, even knowing that prices are high there, I thought the breakfast prices in the hotel dining room were way out of line.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank pjcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour Towers Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing