We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, big rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, big rooms”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

You can walk from the ferry dock here in just a few minutes, dump your bags off and be at the Parliament building, the bus terminals for sightseeing tours or the shopping district after just a short walk.
The hotel itself was great. Clearly not updated recently, but it didn't matter. It's not unattractive, it was clean, the rooms were huge and everything was functional. It was great having a full kitchen.
Staff was really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thirty1flvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    459
    68
    15
    12
See reviews for
357
553
52
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, AZ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

This became our home away from home, we were very sad to leave. We had a 1 bedroom suite on the 4th floor. We have a 2 and 6 yr old and they slept on the sofa bed in the living room. I fell asleep on it one night, and it was incredibally comfortable! There is a grocery store within easy walking distance, and we ate in every day and saved lots of money. Everything is a short walk from the hotel , the harbor, the shops and restaurants, the Legislative Building, the Empress Hotel, the BC Museum - what a charming walking city Victoria is, and the Royal Scott is in the perfect place to enjoy it! The rooms have blackout curtains which we appreciated - we stayed up late enjoying the long evenings of daylight, so consequently we slept in every morning. There is no A/C but it is absolutely not needed. Nice cool breezes through the open windows and fans in the room to move the air around. Our room did not overlook the street, which I came to appreciate - having the windows open would mean lots of noise from traffic if we had been on the street side of the hotel. The furnishings are definately dated, but we did not care, all was very comfortable and the staff catered to our every need. Flat screen tv in the living room and regular tv in the bedroom with plenty of cable channels, we were able to find lots of kids shows for our children on those days when we were being lazy and did not rush out. The kids enjoyed the pool and hot tub and in fact the only complaint I would have is the pool water was too cool for my liking. While this hotel is one block back from the harbor, I think that is a good thing. The harbor is very busy early and late with sea planes taking off and landing, that would have disturbed us if we were any closer to the water. We heard the planes as it was, but the buildings between The Royal Scot and the harbor served as a buffer. Speaking of proximity to the harbor, we took the Victoria Clipper from Seattle to Victoria, and walked to the hotel from where the clipper docked in less than 5 minutes, even with a double stroller and lots of luggage! Very very convenient location, I can't recommend this property enough, you won't regret staying here. I'd return tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mum4TwoPrescott_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulsbo, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just what you want after you've departed the ferry late at nite ... a beautiful "pocket" hotel only two blocks away ... with a kind greeting from the nite manager ... and an upgraded room you didn't even ask for!! The Royal Scot is in a quiet back neighborhood on Quebec Street ... very convenient to everything ... even a quiet walk to the seashore ... or downtown. The restaurant is wonderful... great breakfast ... and the rooms are beautifully laid out and quiet. It nice to visit and stay in a hotel that is efficient and economical ... but retains individual charm and warmth! Stayed there three times in the last month ... even tho the time was busy ... they upgraded my room twice without asking!! A must stay for all!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot52_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We had kitchen, dining, bed, bath, large living room & a balcony. Balcony looked out on a street with tour bus stops, so a little noisy. The courtesy shuttle would take us to & pick us up from any place downtown, so everything was "near." Pool & hot tub were so-so, but game room could be nice on a rainy day..but we had good weather. Good price for all this.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C-H-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2010

I stayed in a 1-room suite with my 2 sisters. It was spacious and clean. The location is very good. No views of the harbour, which probably keeps the cost so reasonable, but within easy walking distance to so many things. That saved us additional money. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It seemed like they really enjoyed their jobs and were happy to have us there. That makes a big difference to me - miserable hotel staff can suck the "good feeling" right out of a vacation. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again if I am fortunate enough to return to the beautiful city of Victoria!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanJoseMarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

You can't ask for a better location for this hotel - and it is a great value. Sure, it's not *right* on the water, but it's very close, and it's much quieter at night. The room is huge - and it has a fridge. The front office staff offered to arrange a seaplane trip for us, and even took care of our plane reservation when planes weren't going out due to inclement weather. Breakfast is not included, but there is a restaurant on site. The bottom floor has great rainy day activities - a pool table, game room filled with puzzles and books, and swimming pool. There is also a laundry room on the bottom floor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatorDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I travel often to Victoria to see my Dad. We always stay at the Royal Scot; it is our home away from home. We've tried every type of room, but particularly like the kitchenettes when we have our kids. The staff is great, we like the pool and gym, the rooms are clean and the decor "homey" though not plush, We use the game room and the laundry room. The best is the location; walking distance to downtown, with a courtesy shuttle to things slightly to further-out downtown locations. I was particularly thrilled this trip with the new hotel-wide wireless connection as I brought a lot of work with me. The only flaw is the lack of air conditioning on the rare occasion of a heat wave in Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Scot Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Scot Hotel & Suites

Property: Royal Scot Hotel & Suites
Address: 425 Quebec St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1W7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Scot Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See why so many people return to the Royal Scot time and time again! Immaculately clean, the Royal Scot is a service oriented hotel, ideal for couples and families alike. Make yourself at home in a Studio or One Bedroom Suite. Both offer a fully equipped kitchen and living room area. Just steps from Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, the Royal Scot offers free wi-fi as well as an indoor pool & hot tub, games room, gift shop and free downtown shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Scot Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Scot Hotel And Suites
Royal Scot Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel Victoria
Royal Scot Hotel & Suites Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing