We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average with poor breakfast setup ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Accent Inn Victoria
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Average with poor breakfast setup ”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We had read reviews about the restaurant burning down but the breakfast really was an extremely poor setup. Only one of the the four mornings we had breakfast was it in an adequate room, the other mornings it was it a small guest room because they had training groups in the other room. The main reason we disliked this was the fact we had to carry our breakfast to the top floor spilling it along the way. There wasn't a toaster available while it was in the guest room. One morning by the time I got to my room to eat my breakfast bun I found mould all over it - nice!!

We walked into town because we were not offered the shuttle at the front desk he suggested the bus. The walk was about 50min and we are young and fit. It isn't really that safe as you get your usually crazy people wandering around shouting abuse at you.

I like Victoria and I would suggest staying centrally and if I return that us what I will be doing.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank m12-c4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    190
    66
    21
    14
See reviews for
170
131
35
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Comox
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I brought my family visiting from England to enjoy the sights of Victoria. We all were very pleased with this facility. Very Clean and comfortable. The breakfast provided was excellent and helped get us on our way to sightseeing so much sooner. Staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the road and was a bit noisy until the traffic slowed down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This is an exceptionally good deal for Victoria; especially if you book through their site on line and receive a discounted rate. We had a larger room with sofa and queen size bed. Breakfast was included and for two people, the price with tax was around $100.00 a night. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was decent. The only complaint that we had was that the air conditioner was ineffective. We contacted the front desk and also spoke to the maintenance person, who said it would be fixed. However, it remained useless throughout our three night stay. The room is quite stuffy and the bed is situated at the back, so it really impacted our stay.
Upon check out, the front desk told me that they were updating their air conditioners in October and we must have had a room with one of the obsolete units. Otherwise, it is a pleasant place to stay and is situated with lots of shops and grocery stores close by the hotel.

TENNIS ALERT: TWO OUTDOOR PUBLIC TENNIS COURTS JUST AROUND THE CORNER FROM THE HOTEL.

Room Tip: Room tip: stay at the back on an upper level. If air conditioning matters to you, make certain upo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tokyohos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for a night in Victoria before heading north. The rate was good and the reviews were encouraging. We had a car so its being out of downtown Vic wasn't an issue. I was very pleased by the overall quality of the Accent Inn.

Its external design is from the 80s but the facade has been recently updated. Our room was far better than I expected. It had obviously been renovated fairly recently. The bathroom is excellent with good water pressure, lighting, plush(isn) towels, soaps, and other toiletries. The shower head is variable in spray and high enough so tall people (like us) don't have to stoop to wash our hair. Lots of towels, tissues, extras, nicely organized. The room smelled clean, fresh, & neutral - no air fresheners or artificial scents. Like my home

The beds are outstanding - very, very comfortable with lots of good pillows. The bedspreads aren't slippery, cheap polyester hide-all-manner-of-sins-in-an abstract pattern and appeared and smelled very clean. Bed linens were crisp, clean, and ample. The TV is flat screen with many channels (not that I much care) and the internet is fast and strong (I do care about this.)

There is a coffee maker and a small refrigerator, which I always appreciate. The carpet is clean; the furniture comfortable, and convenient, the wall decorations are much better than average, as if a human with an eye for color chose the prints.

The continental breakfast was varied and good - bagels, breads & pastries from a decent source. Nothing in cellophane wrappers. Real orange juice. Several yogurts. Cereal, I think, wasn't much interested. Fresh oranges, apples. Coffee, tea.

There's a lovely patio seating area on the second floor. Didn't use in the rain but in the summer it would be a great place to relax in the sun with a cup of coffee.

This Accent Inn was better than advertised. Extremely comfortable, very clean, very well appointed. I'd stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank k8bemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have stayed here several times and have never had a bad experience (although somehow a little spider crept into my room this time and I had to use the ironing board to squish him on the ceiling...sorry cleaners!) I did miss the restaurant next door which burned down but the hotel has arranged a discount for guests with a couple of nearby family style restaurants...nice touch. Unfortunately, I had to be up Island by mid morning so missed the continental breakfast provided by the hotel. Maybe it could start at 6:30 instead of 7:00 for early birds like me? The one thing that struck me this time were the little touches of humor in the hotel material like the little stand up sign that says something like "Who did the packing?" and advises that toothbrushes, etc. are available at the front counter. Cute. As usual, the room was clean, the bed was comfy and the fridge appreciated. This place does a really good job of being what it is...a pleasant place where travelers can relax comfortably after a day on the road or pursuing the many pleasures of Victoria.

Room Tip: The front rooms face onto a busy street but with the windows closed, you really can't hear the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Klahanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I stayed @ the Accent while in Victoria for this event and visiting with local friends. While not as central as other hotels I used in the past, it lived up to its image as a clean, comfortable and friendly establishment. The kitchenette is small but I found everything I needed and all appliances worked well. They were very bicycle friendly, going so far as to leave me rags to clean my bike which I was able to store in my room. All the staff, including the cleaning, maintenance and front desk employees were helpful and courteous. Chris, the Manager, came out to chat and gave me directions to the Galloping Goose trail which is only two blocks away. Overall, the Accent is a good value that I would recommend to others.

Room Tip: I stayed on the back side which is likely a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice little hotel located near Mayfair Mall, so about a 5 minute drive to downtown Victoria. I stayed there for work and it was comfortable and affordable. Check in was smooth, service was good, location was convenient, room was ok (nothing special, but not bad either - what you'd expect from a property like this). Nice to have free parking and free internet (which actually worked!). I usually try to stay at Choice/Quality hotels because of their points, but for some reason the price at Accent was considerably cheaper the week I was there, so tried it. If you collect Save-On More points (from Save-On foods), they give you 200 points per night for staying, which is a nice little bonus. There are a lot of tired, old hotels in Victoria. Luckily this was not one of them!

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel is nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillieLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
293 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 49 in Victoria
898 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 49 in Victoria
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Accent Inn Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Accent Inn Victoria

Property: Accent Inn Victoria
Address: 3233 Maple St, Victoria, British Columbia V8X 4Y9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Victoria
#21 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Accent Inn Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Accent Inn Victoria BC Hotel is the ideal place to stay during your visit to BC’s garden city. The hotel is centrally located to all the city’s major attractions. One of Victoria’s largest shopping malls is right across the street. A short distance away is the Save-on-Foods Memorial Centre venue for great concerts. The University of Victoria, the spectacular inner harbour and Victoria’s downtown business district are minutes by car. Check out our fabulous Whale Watching and Butchart Gardens packages. Rent a Kayak or a Bicycle and enjoy another fantastic way to see the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Accent Inn Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accent Inn Victoria Hotel Victoria
Accent Hotel Victoria
Accent Inn Victoria Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing