We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like mouse feasies:(”
Review of Island Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Travel Inn
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Looks like mouse feasies:(”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We had a rather short visit at this hotel, as we checked in a little after 1 am on our holidays, over spring break. Our son crawled into bed after a long day of traveliing and we were so lookin forward to a hot shower and comfie bed to sleep in...when he felt something and we pulled back the covers and to discover what looked like mouse droppings all over his bed and so we went to investigate the other bed to find that same thing...so needles to say my husband went down to front desk to inform the desk clerk of our findings only to discover that they knew of the problem and had opened the third floor that week due to the curling tournament in town...so needles to say we asked for our money back and left at 2 am to find a new hotel...which we did find and finally got a hot shower and comfie bed to sleep in...just not at this hotel...we went back the next day to speak to a manager, only to be told that the deposit and money was given back to us, and asked for a compansation due to the very muchly unconvience we went thur, adn they said no we gave you back your money and deposit..we are still trying to get back our deposit a week later...so not cool:( and we won't stay there again

Room Tip: don't get one on third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor P, Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Hi Thank you for your review. As you know all large cities have Mice problems we have dealt with this issue in a very fast manner and have not had any further issues. If you would like to contact me direct at gmislandtravel@gmail.com and I can send you a direct email

Thanks Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    23
    5
    39
See reviews for
24
30
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I booked this hotel for a group of us going to a conference. It was certainly not the cheapest, but to the most expensive one either. We settled in okay, and were going to get some ice, when we saw mold on the lid of the ice bucket. They switched it out pretty quickly, which was good. The beds while not fabulous were a bed to sleep in. The room was FREEZING! We figured we could live with it for 1 night, no big deal. In the morning the 1st of us. Got up to have their shower, that would have been great if it actually worked. The piece you pull up to start the shower head came right out in their hand. I went to the lobby and when I explained to them the shower didn't work they went to go give us another room to shower in, the first room they went to give me hand people sleeping in it. They then gave us another room at the end of the hall. We all had to trek down to the other room to shower and come back again. When we went to check out I asked to have a discount for the HUGE inconvenience, where he said no. When I asked for a managers card to contact them after our conference was over, he refused to give me one. It took 15 minutes asking before he would give me even a name. I will never ever stay in this hotel again, ever.

Room Tip: Do not pick any room here you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airdebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor P, Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thanks for taking your time to put a review. I did call you last week after emailing you and left a message. Please do call me back at the hotel and we would like to offer you the free night stay to show you how your stay should have been. Thank you Trevor 250-590-6307
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Two grey nomads from Australia with a hire car doing the big west coast roadie. Great for a Victoria stop. Inbound from Vancouver and outbound to Seattle.
Good honest accommodation. All the main sights within walking distance. No hassles with the car.
Loved the city and the island.

Room Tip: Its a motel !!!! And as such it doesn't disappoint one bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plantac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed here a week when I was working in Victoria. Great location close to everything, and had free parking too. The room was fine - clean and nice. Only complaint is that the wifi was rubbish and didn't really work unless you took your laptop down to the lobby. Not a big deal if you are here on a visit but kind of annoying being here in business. I enjoyed my stay here though.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor P, General Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your review. I have shaw cable our internet provider here today as I read this and have asked them to look into the issue and put a new line to each floor so we dont have that issue in the future and I hope to see you again. Please email us direct at info@islandtravelinn.com or myself at gmislandtravel@gmail.com and we would be happy to help you with your reservation needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Good location just outside of Chinatown with PARKING! Very helpful staff. A good value especially if you have a car. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank FrancisRumsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Checked out several hotels, but no vacancies

So, our friend suggested the Island Travel Inn

Not a bad place, good for one night

Room was clean and had two king size beds

If you need a place for a quick sleep, it's not bad

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyTabasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor P, General Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again. Please email us direct at info@islandtravelinn.com or myself at gmislandtravel@gmail.com and we would be happy to help you with your reservation needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel was older but they are fixing it up. The carpet and paint on the first floor was new. We had a ton of space in our first floor room and had two king sized beds which were really comfortable. I personally really liked the pillows. We used the fridge to store snacks and juice but walked to the restaurants nearby. The price was good for the location. We paid around $106/night including tax and were within 10 minutes of walking to the harbour. The walk was great because it took us through interesting parts of the city. The staff was really helpful and friendly. In fact, the manager drove my husband to the beer store himself! The balcony was small and you couldn't sit out but that didn't matter because we were in Victoria to see the sites not sit in a hotel room. We were only going to stay for two nights but stayed for three. Also, parking was included in the price.

Room Tip: Not sure what the second floor looks like but our first floor room was good and at the back of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor P, General Manager at Island Travel Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again. Please email us direct at info@islandtravelinn.com or myself at gmislandtravel@gmail.com and we would be happy to help you with your reservation needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Paul's Motor Inn
Paul's Motor Inn
#40 of 49 in Victoria
190 reviews
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 49 in Victoria
220 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#37 of 49 in Victoria
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
387 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Travel Inn

Property: Island Travel Inn
Address: 1850 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4K6, Canada (Formerly Traveller's Inn Downtown)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown Victoria location features 78 rooms. Free high-speed internet access in lobby, free parking. King size beds, air-conditioning, working desks and in-room coffee/tea. Jacuzzi suites are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Island Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Inn Downtown Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Downtown
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Island Travel Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing