We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Loved My Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Loved My Stay Here”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I really loved the one bedroom sweet, it was such a nice room. My favorite part is the balcony you can go out on. Really clean and friendly & helpful staff :) I want to stay here every time I go to Victoria! Recommend this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    924
    310
    55
    20
    9
See reviews for
384
624
36
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My family of 5 had a lovely stay! We reserved a 1 bedroom suite but were kindly upgraded to a 2 bedroom penthouse suite. Very nice! Each bedroom had a king bed plus there was a pull out sofa. My kids loved having all the space to spread out. There was a full kitchen, a dining area, a sun room with glass/sliding doors on three sides, and balconies off most of the rooms. The views of the harbor were lovely and my children loved watching the seaplanes take off and land. We were on the side of the hotel farthest from the Parliament building so at night, we could only see part of it lit up. Nevertheless, the views were amazing. The beds/linens were comfortable, but I would've preferred a comforter to a blanket. The decor was dated and while I loved most everything about the Victoria Regent, I think it could use a bit of a facelift. That said, the suite was very clean and everything was in working order. You can tell the staff really cares. All of the staff was just lovely and so helpful. Made us feel right at home. We really appreciated the complimentary continental breakfast. For $2/person you can choose what you want the night before and have it delivered to your room. This was such a bonus since we had the dining table to eat at. Trying to wrangle 3 kids down to breakfast is such a pain, so it was fantastic to be able to eat in a leisurely manner and use the space. Some reviewers complained that there were no hot selections on the menu, but we thought there was plenty to choose froom...cereals, bagels, english muffins, toast, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, etc. Others complained about the lack of a/c, but it wasn't necessary with all the windows/sliding doors and the nice breeze off the harbor. It was very nice to have parking beneath the hotel given how congested downtown Victoria gets. The hotel is located right in the heart of downtown and an easy walk to everything. It was a great value for the price and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fijichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom suite with view of the wonderful Victoria port. We almost got lost in the space of the apartment. All facilities are there.....but airconditioning. Sliding doors to the balcony can be opened from any room. Just great as is the location of the hotel. On Saturday a noisy bachelor party was started in the hotel but quickly terminated bu hotel staff (we think).

Two issues to beware of:
- the approach of the waterplanes is directly over the hotel between the ours of (about 8am and 8pm). You can enjoy their airobatics very much, bit some might be irritated by their noise. We are sensitive to noise but did not consider it an issue,just enjoyed the show.
- streetnoise (nearby bridgeroad) was very audible.

We would definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKnops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here at the end of July. We had a lovely 2 bedroom suite with 2 king beds. The room was very clean and the views of the harbour were amazing. The balcony was an added bonus that we really enjoyed. Each room had a large bathroom, one with a jacuzzi tub and shower and the other with a bath and shower. The beds were extremely comfortable with fine linens. We did not hear any outside noise from other rooms. The free parking was underground and convenient. The complimentary breakfast was also great with muffins, pastries, ceral, fresh fruit, etc. all served in a quaint area with harbour views. The lack of air conditioning concerned me initially, coming from an area where summer temperatures do not decrease much in the evening. Do not worry at all. Most
hotels do not have air conditioning, as it is not needed. Our room was never too warm and the weather was warm and sunny during our visit. They do have fans (located in the closet) if you
need the extra air. The temperature dropped after 6 pm which made it very comfortable to sleep
later on in the evening.
We ate at a good restaurant 2 minutes away (I can't remember the name, sorry. It was on Wharf street, across the street at the beginning of the pedestrian mall).
Great hotel that I would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J.L.B.2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mukilteo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

With no shops or air conditioning, the hotel here is basically a place to lay your head in the evening and have breakfast in the morning but it is worth the savings if you are on a budget. The hotel offers complimentary parking...a big savings....and a complimentary continental breakfast...another big savings. We had a great room big enough for the teenagers to escape the adults if they wanted to. The room we had included a kitchen with a freezer to stick your head in to cool down but it was too hot to cook. I appreciated that the hotel was located near most of the attractions we wanted to visit but there was no escape from the heat. The view of everything going on in the harbour was awesome and the water ballet on Saturday was really cute to watch. The front desk was always pleasant and had good tips and directions to get us to where we wanted to go. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept on in my life. It was really nice to come back to a very clean room every day as the housekeeping staff was superb. At night the breeze from the water helped cool it down also as there were 3 sliding glass doors that we were able to open and felt safe doing so due to the way they are positioned. Just don't try to cool it down during the day as the sun is on the window side. The staff provided us with three fans too so that helped. If I go to Victoria again, I will go back to the Regent due to the savings we enjoyed. During my research of hotels in the area, for two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, large living room and three decks we would have to pay triple anywhere else. The only drawback was the air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just got back from a fantastic second stay at the Victoria Regent.

Located right in downtown Victoria, the Regent was a great option for our group as many of the city's best attractions (nightlife, Chinatown, restaurants, etc) were only a short walk away.

We stayed in the two-bedroom suite, which came with two queens in each bedroom. We also called up for an extra cot, which was waiting for us upon arrival. Lots of space for sleeping!

The suite was very spacious and had a breathtaking view of the Victoria harbour. The waterfront deck (accessible from both bedrooms as well as the living room) was definitely a plus.

Breakfast wasn't anything special, but it was free.

The service was friendly and professional.

Overall a great value, as the total for the suite ended up being $403 for six people during the peak season.

I would definitely recommend the Victoria Regent to any of my friends, and I know I'll be back in the future.

Room Tip: Water-facing rooms are a must, but if you're more concerned about the cost, city-facing rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabrielleBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Close to everything - You can leave the car and walk to restaurants, shops, and the town centre. From our room we had a view of the Parliament which was lit up at night. Very nice. The desk clerk was professional and courteous. The room we had was clean and so was the bathroom. The queen bed beds were comfortable and we had a restful and quiet sleep that night. Parking is free and so is breakfast, but it's a bit sparse. Not much to select from. It's a good value for a central location in Victoria.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ima1derer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,027 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Property: Victoria Regent Hotel
Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent Hotel Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing