We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Regent Hotel
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I loved this hotel, we stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of August. It was extremely clean, bright, modern and very comfortable, with very friendly and knowledgeable reception staff who couldn't do enough to help make our stay a good one. One small gripe was that, as we didn't have a room with a sea-view, there was no-where to sit and watch the comings and goings in the harbour, however this did not spoil it for me. The location was good too, close to local shops, restaurants and plenty of places to book tours of the island and the sea. Free breakfasts is another plus for this hotel together with daily bottled water provided free of charge. All in all, a beautifully kept hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    310
    55
    20
    9
See reviews for
384
627
36
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in the " Regency" suite July 11th and 12 th. -two nights wasn't enough in this luxurious , two level, 3 bedroom suite! The location was perfect, we wandered around the Inner Harbour, and down to Fisherman's Wharf. The suite was very clean, we made use of the well stocked kitchen, and cooked up a fancy dinner one evening. Most of our time was spent sitting out on the enormous deck, watching all the activity in the water below us. Can't wait to stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CornerstonesBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Victoria Regent Hotel. I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us in the Regency Suite, including the use of your in-suite kitchen and large harbour-facing balcony.

There are so many things to do in downtown Victoria, so it’s flattering to hear that you spent most of your time on your deck at the hotel watching the activity below, although it’s also great that you were able to get out and wander around the Inner Harbour and Fisherman’s Wharf.

We can’t wait to have you stay again.

All the best,

Earl Wilde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is on the water in downtown Victoria. It is an easy walk to the Empress Hotel - which is more or less the center of Victoria. The room we had was nicely appointed. However, we ended up with a "City View" room. The city view was of a bunch of really ugly roof tops and more importantly faced one of the busiest streets in Victoria. So late into every night we were treated to loud traffic noises - cars, trucks, ambulances and lots of motorcycles. It was really hard to get much rest. We asked to be moved after the first night but were told that the hotel was full (which I doubt based on the small number of people eating breakfast). So if you can get an ocean view room, this would probably be a good place to stay. But if the only available rooms are "City View" go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ocean view only. Do not accept a "City View" room if you want to get any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear James,

While I’m delighted that you enjoyed our central waterfront location in downtown Victoria, as well as the furnishings in your room, I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with the view and traffic noise from your room.

As you pointed out, some of our rooms do face the city’s historic buildings, while others overlook the Inner Harbour. Our rooms and suites vary in price based on view and location, and they are assigned according to the room type and view you selected when you booked with us. Unfortunately you can’t pay the lowest rate and get the best view.

Being downtown certainly has its perks - the best of Victoria right on your doorstep - but yes, this also means there is more traffic and activity. I do apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request to be moved. Victoria Regent is a small 50-room hotel, and we’re often fully booked, especially during the summer.

I wish you all the best in you future travels.

Earl Wilde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Good points:
We spent 4 days at this hotel starting on August 2nd. We were surprised with the size of the suite. One living room was furnished with a sofa, a loveseat and an armchair. We had also a dining room space and separately a kitchen very well equipped. The bedroom and the bathroom were spacious. The place was impeccable for the cleanliness and the efficacy. The breakfast was included and the fresh fruit salad was very much appreciated. The muffins weren't so good but you could choose cereals, breads, waffles. No problem to find something you like and the view from the dining room is lovely. When one comes in the breakfast area, a girl asks for your room number and while you have your breakfast, your room is cleaned up. Very efficient. At the reception desk, the personnel is welcoming and very helpful with your needs. Finally, we didn't hear our Neighbors, except when you are in the bathroom, you can hear voices. Otherwise, it was very peaceful.

Not so good :
There was no air conditioning, but we didn't need any since the air coming from the bay was so refreshing. For some people who needs to sleep with absolutely no noise coming from the street, you have to shut your room window at night, and leave the one in the living room opened. I have to say that we go to bed early, around 11 o'clock so for people who goes out at night, there is no problem. Another point to mention : The supermarket is a good fifteen-minutes walk. There is a liquor store on the way and a pharmacy. We didn't mind, but for families, it might be better to go by car.

Conclusion :
On the overall, we were very satisfied with our choice and would go back at any time (good value). If you ever stay there, we recommend you to eat at The Guild, just outside the hotel. It's an English pub and the Irish pies and the beer, hum ... very good.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the street side. If you can have a view on the water ... it's nice t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealOceanLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is perfectly located in my favourite part of Victoria hence our selection. My wife and I were in one of the smallest rooms, but it was full of great amenities - i.e. linen napkins and flatware to go with the in-room fridge and coffee maker. Great little balcony too! Extremely quiet and parking (included) in the basement.
The best free breakfast I've had in a hotel! Lots of choices, cereals, baked goods, hard boiled eggs and juices. Plenty of staff making sure everything was continually topped up. All in a beautiful location overlooking the water. We lingered a long time over breakfast. Living on Salt Spring Island, we receive a lot of visitors who always ask for a hotel recommendation in Victoria. This is it! We can send visitors here with confidence that they'll receive great treatment at a good price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Ian,

I’m so glad that you not only had such a wonderful stay with us, but also good enough to recommend us with confidence to your friends.

As you pointed out, we do offer a complimentary breakfast overlooking Victoria’s Inner Harbour, and it’s truly a compliment to hear that this is the best free breakfast you’ve had in a hotel!

I also love to hear that you enjoyed the amenities in your room, free parking, and our central location in one of the best parts of Victoria.

We hope you visit again soon.

Earl Wilde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at a one-bedroom suite on the 7th floor with a great view of the harbor. The suite is so spacious and nicely-furnished that it feels more like an apartment home rather than a hotel suite. Its center location enabled us to walk all round downtown, even though we had a car with us. The parking is free, the breakfast is free, and Wi-Fi is free. Considering all the freebies, the room price is extremely reasonable. There are so many great restaurants nearby that we did not get a chance to use the fully-equipped kitchen. There is a guest laundry service on each floor, which was greatly appreciated by us as we were in the middle of our 2-week vacation. The hotel does not have a fitness center, which may not be a problem on nice days when one can just go out the front door and start jogging, walking or participating in all kinds of water sports. When the weather is bad, that could be an issue for people who enjoy working out everyday. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and courteous. My only regret was that I couldn’t stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with the harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
earlwilde, General Manager at Victoria Regent Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Sara,

I’m so pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us at Victoria Regent Hotel. It’s such a compliment to hear that you wish you could have stayed longer.

I’m glad you enjoyed our central location, all of the little value-added extras, as well as our laundry services, which, as you pointed out, does help when you’re on a longer trip.

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We hope you visit again.

Earl Wilde
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoover, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My 20 year old daughter and I stayed at this delightful hotel only one night on July 23, 2014. We arrived by a harbor float plane and the float plane shuttle was able to get us there quickly. If you are in Victoria for only a weekend, you could actually walk from the harbor, but our 12 days of luggage needed either a taxi or the shuttle. The hotel does not have its own shuttle service, bellman, full service restaurant, or work out room. So if that is on your hotel 'must have' list, find somewhere else. For us, the quiet and calm garden surroundings, convenience to downtown and dozens of restaurants, walking distance to city information, transportation to the Butchart Gardens, gorgeous view of the harbor, extremely spacious one bedroom condo and delightful breakfast (included) more than made up for any amenities that you might expect at a hotel in this price range. It was worth every penny and I'd love to come back with my husband next time. Alabama Mom

Room Tip: We had a harbor view on the 7th floor and I absolutely loved sitting on the balcony watching the har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,703 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,029 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Regent Hotel

Property: Victoria Regent Hotel
Address: 1234 Wharf St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 3H9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria
#10 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the top 20 hotels in Canada by Conde Nast readers, this exclusive downtown waterfront hotel offers discerning guests the luxurious comfort of spacious suites overlooking Victoria’s vibrant Inner Harbor. Our location is second to none and the suites are perfect for a romantic getaway or the mini vacation you so richly deserve. Relax with an in-suite spa treatment, play a round of golf or explore the many elegant shops, superb restaurants and the Royal BC Museum, all within easy walking distance from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Victoria
Victoria Regent Hotel Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing