We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Value and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Union Club British Columbia
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Value Value and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

Union Club is an old gentelmen's club which rents out rooms to the public . Centrally located near the inner harbour and across the street from the famous Empress Hotel - has same old worldly atmosphere as the Empress at a fraction of the cost. As a guest of the hotel be forewarned, guest are expected to adhere to the fairly rigid dress codes if they wish to use the public areas of the Club.. Our rooms albeit a bit small were comfortable and tastefully furnished and the breakfast was delcious and cheap (assume same rates as for members). Public areas exude the character of a gentlemen's club from days gone by. My husband & I stayed there with friends from Oz and it was an excellent base for exploring Victoria. Will definitely be our choice hotel when returning to Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJRVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    46
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
85
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2008

This is an old British men's club that decided to open up some rooms and make some money. It is a COOL idea, and allows non- English types (including women now) to experience the "calm" of an upper class institution.

There is a dress code for public reception areas and breakfast. Thus, no "riff raff". VERY quiet, stately, and historic (big plaque above the hugh fireplace remembering the club members to gave their lives "for King and Country" in "The Great War".)

CHARMING people worked reception. It is not stuffy at all; just very gentile. Loved the experience. The location was superb; next to the Empress Hotel on the Harbor.

The rooms were very clean but a little barren; but the point was NOT to spend a lot of time in the room......

  • Liked — Quiet and
  • Disliked — Rooms were basic
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

This is a traditional gentlemen's club that takes paying guests as a side line. It is positioned right down town with views of the government building of BC (can be noisy). There is no garden with this hotel. The room we had was enormous and had the most comfortable bed. Some of the fittings were old especially in the bathroom but generally it was OK.

I would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in our room but sadly no. There was a constant supply of coffee downstairs in the public rooms.

All in all we had a pleasant stay and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Liked — Querkiness
  • Disliked — No garden
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate170170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2008

I found the Union Club to be a civilized experience to the typical hotel experience. I stayed there for a week when I was just moving back to Victoria and found my expectations well exceeded.

My room was clean, comfortable, and tasteful. Many of the bathroom fittings appeared to be quite old (the tub was definitely pre-war), but everything worked fine and I appreciated the history. After all there is nothing more jarring than having a bedroom full of antiques with an ensuite that is totally not in the same period.

The amenities of the club are generous with a gym, pool room, library, reading room, casual dining salon, and formal dining room. The facilities are simply gorgeous and the old elevator is a real treat. I thoroughly enjoyed spending the evening ensconced in a leather sofa in front of the fireplace in the reading room, perusing stacks of newspapers and magazines.

The general ambience of the club is gracious without being pretentious. The staff are friendly without being intrusive. Because this is a club, not a hotel, there are some expectations of responsibility on the part of the guests. This means that there is a dress code in the common areas of the club, but this is not onerous if you are used to simple conventions of public decorum anyway. Also, the general public is not permitted on the premises -- club members and booked guests only. The upside to this is that even at the height of a busy season, the club feels like an uncluttered haven.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BotanyBayLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2006

Thats right we visited this place way back in 2004. However its been just lately that I stumbled upon such good site. Hence writing the review in 2006

A very very unique experience -

We stayed at the club for three evenings with our cousins who are Canadians and stay in Toronto. We were 2 families -
2 things very very important to remember

1) Carry a set of formals appropriate for dress code.. Its an old british club so don't be left out - blend in with the crowd.
2) Carry something warm even on a summer day. Oldbuilding with firm base seems to show how cold she can get inside on the HOT HOT summer day. Excellent architecture.

Furnishings and staff compliment the building. The staff was wonderful and this is one lodging we will return to again and again. Not for everyone, but if you enjoy this atmosphere you will be back.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2005

As some of the others have posted, this is not the place to stay if you are a jeans and sneakers group. The Club is adamant about their dress code. My husband was perfectly comfortable in khakis, a golf shirt and loafers (no tennis shows allowed). We are in our 50's and wanted a new experience (as travel should be). One is not allowed entrance to The Union Club unless you are a member of the club OR you are a guest at their hotel.

We arrived at the Inner Harbour via the Clipper and took a cab to the Club. $4.50 CDN from the Clipper terminal. When we were "buzzed in" to the hotel, the desk clerk knew our names (from the reservation - a nice touch) and we were escorted to our room. We had requested a suite overlooking the Inner Harbour - $149 CDN per night. A rather bland continental breakfast is included. This accomodation is right across the street from the Empress Hotel. The room was quite nice - 2 rooms actually - one with a sofa, writing desk, TV and coffee table. The other room was the bedroom. There are no screens on the windows as there are no bugs! Coming from Houston (the bug capital of the south) we were enthralled. The furniture is antique-like and the room quite comfortable. The elevator was quaint with the separate iron mesh door - not many left like it. We opted for dinner at the club. Dinner was exquisitely prepared by the club's own award-winning chef. There were only a few members in the dining room that evening. The food, the service, the ambiance... all was perfect. We did gasp when we checked out and found that dinner was the same price as the room that evening but we knew it was one of the best meals we had ever experienced. The club is situated right at the Inner Harbour where all the action is. After dinner we were given instructions on how to reenter the hotel and we strolled down to the harbour to watch the street performers 1/2 block away from the hotel. We hailed a horse-drawn cab and thoroughly enjoyed the tour with the guide as we bundled up under blankets in the back. $80CDN. There is plenty to see and do in Victoria. Had we had more time, we would have rented a car and explored the island for a few days. This club/hotel is genteel, classy, old and unlike any other place we have stayed, including several trips to Europe. It is a true British Mens' Club with photographs and artwork of fallen WW1 heroes, etc. There was a wedding reception in the ballroom the night we were there so it was fun to see the clothing styles, etc. This place is unique and compared to the Empress at a much higher rate, we are very pleased that we chose the Union Club and would most certainly do it again.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Txrangerterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, IN
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2005

First, if you are a blue jeans, sneakers, sweatshirt sort of vacationer, this hotel is not for you. Stay somewhere else. If you're more comfortable in khakis and a nice shirt and enjoy the finer things in life, this is a great place to stay. You'll love it.

The Union Club is a private, members only club. They rent rooms to the general public to stay in, but it's still a private, members only club. Guests can avail themselves of all of the club's facilities, including a fitness room, dining rooms, bar, rooftop lounge, billiard room, etc., but guests must abide by the club's dress code. No jeans. No sweats. No shorts. No sneakers. Basically, you have to dress and act like a civilized human being. The dress code is relaxed for breakfast. I would not recommend the Union Club for people travelling with children.

The facility is beautiful and the staff was outstanding. The breakfast waiter was witty and fun. The front desk staff was helpful and arranged dinner reservations and reserved taxis for us.

Smoking is only allowed on the rooftop patio, where there is complimentary coffee in the morning and cocktail and wine service the rest of the day. Access to the Club is restricted to members and guests. Guests are provided an electronic pass key which unlocks the front door. No tourists wandering around gawking, like at the Empress.

Our rooms, two harbour view suites, were clean and large. We paid $159 Canadian per night, which is a great deal, given the location and amenities.

This is, without question, one of the nicer places I've stayed. It reminds me of those movies from the 1940's where people dressed for dinner and knew how to relax and have a good time in a civilized atmosphere. During our entire stay, we were treated like Club Members. The staff adressed us by name and always asked if everything was OK or if we needed anything. The level of service was superb.

If I ever return to Victoria, I would stay at the Union Club again. It's just across the street from the Empress in central Victoria, but miles ahead of the Empress in style and taste. We went to the Empress to have cocktails in the Bengal Lounge and found it crowded with curious tourists and scads of conventioneers. I even saw people wearing sweats and shorts at high tea in the dining room. You won't see that at the Union Club.

The Union Club has beautiful views of the harbour and is just a few short blocks to the central shopping district and restaurants. Five Stars in my book.

The Union Club is a great value with wonderful amenities and style. The Union Club isn't stuffy, it's civilized and refined. A welcome change from the normal hotel experience these days. If you're a person who enjoys that sort of thing, you'll love the Union Club.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Peabody1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Club British Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Club British Columbia

Property: Union Club British Columbia
Address: 805 Gordon St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#23 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Club British Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Union Club of British Columbia was established in 1879 and is rich in history. The Club features old Victorian decor with rich wood motifs and offers you affordable elegance while visiting Victoria, the City of flowers. Situated across from Victoria Harbor, the Club is in the heart of the tourist, shopping and business districts. As an overnight guest at the Inn at the Union Club, you are welcome to use all of the club’s facilities which include our Business Centre, Billiard Room, Library, Reading Room and during the summer season our Roof Top Garden. For dining purposes you may join us for casual breakfast, lunch or dinner in our McGregor Lounge, or for more formal dining, in our McKenzie Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Union Club British Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Club British Columbia Hotel Victoria
Union Hotel Victoria
Union Hotel British Columbia
Union Club British Columbia Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing