We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic place but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Ranked #34 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed there one night in Aug/11. Decent place. Plenty of space for a family of four. It does include a working kitchen in case you want to do self-catering. Well located in Vancouver; close to Granville Island and 20 minute drive from airport.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dmbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Exceptional hospitality by the hotel staff. Excellent value for it's location and the budget conscious traveller

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moez P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnGM1, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

We are happy to hear that our knowledgeable and friendly staff were a wonderful part of your time here in Victoria. Our location is perfect for sightseeing in Victoria and we have very competitive rates for our downtown location. You can certainly walk to everything!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,

The Quality Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is an older property that has been updated. Slow elevator but if you're on vaction what's the hurry? The room we stayed in had 2 queens and enough room for our 21 month old to roam with out bugging her sister too much. The staff was helpful and very nice. Two blocks north of the hotel is a little corner walkin restaurant (Valentine's) with wonerful breakfasts - loved the potatoes! The inside is small but they do have a couple tables outside. The hotel is a short walk from the harbor and all the attractions there. You pay for parking but the fee is small compared to what you would pay for parking around town. However the parking garage is very tight with limited spots. The fitness room has very low ceilings. My husband had to remove a ceiling tile so he could jog on the treadmill without smacking his head. We would stay here again if we went back. Good price, good location and good service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlin2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnGM1, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

It sounds like you had a wonderful time sightseeing in Victoria. There are a variety of incredible restaurants for breakfast including our onsite Green Room Restaurant. Valentino's is a short walk and serves breakfast all day. Ask our Front Desk for suggestions on restaurants for breakfast, lunch or dinner. They know all the spots where the locals go and where the best of the best is for a West Coast Culinary experience.

Our location does provide easy walking access to Victoria's Downtown. There are a variety of near by trails and quiet streets to head out and explore for a morning run. Sightseeing and staying fit is a great combination.

We look forward to welcoming for a return visit.

Regards,

The Quality Inn Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The hotel is advertised as a boutique-styled hotel. We found a great rate online for this older, recently refurbished property in Downtown Victoria, two blocks from the Inner Harbour. Limited, under the hotel, gated parking was an extra $6/ day, but worth it. There is a restaurant onsite, but we chose to eat in one of the nearby restaurants after visiting the Inner Harbour area. The hotel also has an indoor pool and exercise room.

If you don't mind hilly areas and like to walk, this is in an ideal location for walking tourists. It is near the BC Legislative Building, the Royal BC Museum, and many other tourist attractions around the harbour -- tiny tour boats, buskers and artist kiosks, and the Empress Hotel, famous for its daily High Teas, for example. Buchart Gardens and the Victoria Butterfly Gardens are a short drive from town.

There is free local calling and wi-fi, but no free breakfast. Our room had two very comfortable queen-sized beds and a spacious, modern bathroom. Bar fridge, hair dryer, coffee and tea, iron and ironing board are all available in the room. We looked out over the small courtyard and at the other modern hotels in the area with glimpses of the mountains in the distance across the sea.

There is a fee for pets. Fax and copy service available for corporate clients. Check the Quality Inn website for this hotel for more information and photos.

Also, there was no air conditioning, but two small sections of the large window opened to allow the naturally cool, breezy Victoria air to circulate in the room at night, and we were perfectly comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had no problem with the third floor room we were assigned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sybilspeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

The hotel will add an 'Energy Surcharge on to your bill. Don't pay it. It is not a government tax.
It is just a money grab by the hotel, to effectively raise the room rate higher than you agreed to pay when you booked.
The hotel does not remit this 'energy surcharge' to anyone else. They just keep it.
So tell the desk clerk that you won't pay the 'energy surcharge', because it didn't show on your booking rate.
They will (somewhat grudgingly) remove it from your bill.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rondabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

A good "no frills" hotel at a reasonable price just a couple of blocks from the harbour. The room was clean and the beds comfy. A little bit noisy from passing traffic with the window open but not really a problem. There is a pub attached to the building called "Smiths" which gives a discount to hotel guests, although we did not eat there as we prefer the nearby Strathcona Hotel complex which we have always enjoyed from previous visits to Victoria. The indoor pool although quite small does the job, as well as the steam room. The front desk staff were competent and helpful and overall we enjoyed the stay here.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank tonycmariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Hotel is very old. Can hear the neighbors talking. I'm sure that they heard us as well. You cannot control the air conditioning. They control it for you. They turn it off in the evening and turn it back on early morning. Luckily, they have a portable fan in the room. We tried leaving the door open but mosquito's came in (no screen). They give you 4 pillows on each bed that are different kinds so that you can pick and choose what kind you like (they even had a feather down). Beds were ok, a little squeaky and noisy when someone is turning over. Good location. Not too far from the downtown area and not to close. The garden/sitting area is beautiful and they keep it well maintained. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it was average, not bad but not spectacular. Very friendly and helpful staff there.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocgal714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityInnGM1, Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2011

Good Day,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you got some beautiful weather during your stay to enjoy our courtyard. We have a beautiful fountain and a wide variety of colorful planters to enjoy, while sitting at one of our tables to enjoy a picnic or a good book. Our location does allow visitors to walk to all the major attractions downtown Victoria has to offer. We are excited to be in the first stages of purchasing all new beds for our hotel. We have a beautiful unique hotel that is know as “The Great Little Hotel in The Heart of Victoria”. Our hotel offers guests central air only. It is regulated to keep a constant temperature. At this time we do not have air conditioning. Fans are available for additional comfort. Our city is known for having little to no mosquitoes, so it is very unfortunate one made it into your room. Our room’s linens are hypoallergenic for increased comfort. We do not have feather pillows or duvets, they are made from hypoallergenic material to resemble the comfort of feather without the allergenic properties.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful stay.

Sincerely,

Quality Inn
Downtown Victoria
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 49 in Victoria
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour

Address: 850 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £61 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel located downtown Victoria. Two blocks from the Inner Harbour, tourist attractions, shopping, dining & theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Quality Inn Victoria
Victoria Quality Inn
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing