We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Las Vegas NV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value for central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Really friendly AND helpful front desk personnel; when asked for info about bus to Butchart Gardens, they swiftly printed the schedule and told us how to get to the stop - without having to prod them. Our room (interior courtyard with kitchenette and small balcony) was quiet and well-serviced by housekeeping throughout our 6 day stay. Only downsides: no grab bar in bath tub (surprisingly common in far too many hotels) which is a nasty fall waiting to happen - but they said they're getting around to it. And the mobility- challenged should know that there are several steps up from lobby to elevator, making this hotel problematic for them. One last thought: wouldn't hurt to put in a few more dishes, plates,silverware, pots, etc. in the kitchenette.

Room Tip: The kichenette-balcony-inner courtyard room was quiet and pleasant, with a tinkling fountain and cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear GlobetrotterKing,

Thank you for your review of our hotel, I have already passed your comments onto the front desk staff and thanked them for doing a great job.

You have raised some very good and helpful tips and we do take all suggestions seriously and I will be looking into putting grab bars into more of our rooms some do have them already but we do not have them in all rooms.

I am glad you did have a great stay with us for 6 days and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    199
    71
    20
    12
See reviews for
132
120
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Renfrew, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here one night while in Victoria. Rooms were large and well done. Parking was a bit challenging to find but once accessed it was great! The location allowed us to do some great walking tours to the harbour and to various restaurants nearby. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear SusieQ101,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel it is always great when a Senior Contributor takes the time to reflect on their stay with us.

We appreciate you pointing out all the wonderful attributes the hotel has to offer from its great location to the convenience of the secure yet sometimes tricky underground parking and our large clean rooms. We take a great deal of pride in our staff and hotel so that every guest that stays with us walks away happy and wanting to stay with us again.

Once again thank you and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We had a two night stay here that we had purchased on an online discount coupon and had to use it by April 30. Fortunately we booked when the weather was perfect for a visit to Victoria. Our room was clean and reasonably spacious. It overlooked a busy downtown street so was quite noisy at night but that is to be expected in a city. We did not bring a vehicle with us and found that we really didn't need it anyhow. We ate at the adjoining Argyle Restaurant the first evening. It was cosy and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. It is close to downtown and most of the tourist attractions and public transportation. I so not think that it has air conditioning so could be very warm in the summer.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the courtyard would likely be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Joyce D

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out we are in a great location and your understanding that being right downtown you are going to experience the sounds that come with it. I know for a lot of our guests that don’t live in the middle of a downtown city it can seem loud but as a rule the traffic dissipates at around 8pm and really does not pick up until about 8am.

I have passed your complements to the staff and they do appreciate hearing it, I am very lucky to have such an experienced staff with a combined 150 years working at this hotel including 3 staff members with over 30 years each.

We do have central air that can be controlled by the wall vent in the room and we are making up instructions so guests better understand our climate controls in the rooms. As it is and older property it is not as simple as just setting the temperature but still it is not that complicated. Many of the hotels in Victoria do not have air conditioning as our Island climate really never gets that high though we have been enjoying higher temperatures than we usually do for this time of the year.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Apr 2013 Used a living social coupon so the rate was reduced. The check in was easy and friendly . As we had an overheight 7 foot viehicle we needed to park across the street at $13.50 per night. The hotel is quite dated but very clean. As mentioned the soundproofing was poor, did hear a few kids ratteling around in hallway, but no big deal.Didn't try restaurant or pub as I generally find it good policy to avoid resraurants adjoining hotels. and there are so many good restaurants and pubs in Victoria .One dissapointment though was that they advertised a gym and a steam room , neither was open during our stay. All in all it was a good value even at the regular off season rate. Great place to sleep if you are not planning to spend the entire time in your Hotel. would possibly stay again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a higher room not facing Blanchard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redrock55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Redrock55,

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor it is always great to have Senior Contributor pass on their comments.

I do apologize about the Gym and Steam room we are just in the process of redoing the cedar in the steam room and we were trying to get it done a quieter time of the year but the hotel has enjoyed a very busy shoulder season thanks to its growing popularity and the Living Social promotion so it did catch us off guard. The Gym we had to use as a temporary storage room as we are updating all the lighting in the rooms and the order came in again when we were busier than expected so again my apologizes.

We are constantly updating the rooms and I am sure if you give us the opportunity and stay with us in the future you will enjoy the changes we are making.

As I and many of our guests have mentioned before we have a great location right downtown but it does make our hotel more susceptible to street noise and traffic. If you are not use to street noise which I know a lot of people are not I would recommend calling us direct and see if any of our courtyard facing rooms are available. They do not face Blanshard or Courtney streets.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to stay with us again.


Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

The hotel is located in the downtown core near the harbour..no complaints on the location. The hotel itself is an older property with dated carpet and hallways. The rooms are updated but are starting to show sign of wear and tear. The rooms are average. It's spacious and clean. I was assigned to a room that faces the street. The windows are poorly insulated and the street noise travels freely from the outside. In addition, there were people staying above and not sure what they were doing but sounded like taiko japanese drums overhead. When people closed their doors, it Reverberated through the walls. I understand the frustration of the other reviews concerning the noise complaints. The walls are thin. Did not get a pleasant rest at all. I agree with other reviewers regarding spending a little more money for a better hotel.

In addition, there was temp control in the room but it did nothing. Rooms were on the colder side.

I would give this hotel a 2.5 star but my experience was 2 stars. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear jjking,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. I am sorry that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction and you found your room noisy. We do take all comments seriously and do our best to address the issues that are bought to our attention. We are in the process of replacing any of our windows that have a broken seal which can contribute to the windows not as sound proofed as they can be. We have replaced 40 so far and will have the last 20 installed in the next few weeks. We know this will help insulate some of the sound that comes from the street.

As I am sure you understand having a great location right downtown does have its drawbacks one of which is we get street noise and for the most part it is not too much of an issue but there are times where it can seem excessive.

As far as the guests that stayed above you I am not sure if you informed the front desk as we have a very good policy of asking guests to keep the noise down if they are disturbing other guests.

There are 2 ways to control the temperature in the room we have electric baseboard heating with a wall mounted controller in all the rooms and central air that the airflow can be controlled with the adjustable wall vent if you could contact me to let me know which room it was I will investigate and get it corrected.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Sincerely
Jamie Lewis
General Manager
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at this property, we travel to Victoria twice a year for quick getaways, dining and relaxing. We have been looking for a reasonable hotel without sacrificing quality and location for some time so we can always come back to. This is what happened when we came this time around-I do have pros and cons

Pros

- excellent location/ close to everything in the inner harbour (walking distance)
- most staff were very friendly and accommodating
-we got an excellent deal staying at the hotel for half the price (great value)
-were given complimentary parking/ wifi (was very slow)
- rooms were cleaned very well
- flat screen tv was an excellent touch with most cable channels you might need.

Overall for the value they did a great job.

Cons

- the room was very small, it was very tight for a couple to stay, we saw other rooms as we passed when there were cleaned and none of them was as small as ours, they were quite spacious and could move around. Maybe we were given that because of the deal we were given
- our room was quite on top of the pub, it was very noisy after 10pm, when the patrons who were quite drunk/ loud were lining up to the pub and leaving, we couldn't sleep until after 3am when it started to die down, it was quite the disappointment.
- the exterior seems well kept and so as other rooms seems well kept but ours was quite out dated, one examples was there was no closet door to the closet, it looked like it was a broomstick closet.
-I guess because it was quite small room and I was trying to keep the window closed to keep the noisy pub patrons into the room it got quite hot at night (the heater was at 0 degree) and was forced to wake up several times to open the window just so it get comfortable but again the noise was unbearable.
- we went for breakfast at the restaurant- the service was good, but the food wasn't great.

What keeps this hotel stand out is the location and service of the employees and like I said most of them were friendly.

Would I come back again, not sure-it will take a lot of convincing to my husband to come back, personally I didn't mind as long as I get a decent size room facing the courtyard instead=less noise (deal breaker).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Jane P,

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you took advantage of the LivingSocial deal we ran earlier this year and you were allocated one of our single queen rooms, which are on the smaller side especially when compared to our rooms with 2 queen sized beds.

I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and accommodating, your room to be very clean and our location to be very convenient. Of course, there is a downside to our great location in the heart of downtown, and that is that there can be external noise from late night revellers in the pub adjacent to the hotel on the weekends.

If you do choose to stay with us again (and I hope you do!) I would urge you to make a special request to be allocated a room facing the courtyard or Blanshard St at the time of booking. While we can never 100% guarantee special requests, we do our utmost to honour any advanced request made by our guests.

Thank you again for your comments. We have so many guests who stay with us regularly when they visit Victoria, I truly hope you will consider our hotel for future visits – we would love the opportunity to improve on your first experience!

Sincerely,

Laura Caceres
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights but was a great hotel. Had struggled to find hotel in downtown Victoria but this was perfect. Very comfortable with everything we needed and nice friendly helpful staff. Hotel is two minutes from everywhere and round the corner from Sticky Wicket which is a must.

Room Tip: it is just off one of the main roads in victoria so all rooms are quieter. It is on a corner though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluelinerhockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, General Manager at Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear Bluelinerhockey,

Thank you for your outstanding review. Our goal remains to provide our guests with a clean and comfortable environment, and a friendly team who strive to help you make the most of your time in our beautiful city. I am thrilled to hear that we accomplished this!

Thank you again for your lovely comments!

Sincerely,

Laura Caceres
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Downtown
Bedford Regency Hotel
Bedford Regency Hotel
#29 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#12 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#27 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour

Property: Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour
Address: 850 Blanshard St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 2H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Hotel located downtown Victoria. Two blocks from the Inner Harbour, tourist attractions, shopping, dining & theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Hotel Victoria
Quality Inn Victoria
Victoria Quality Inn
Quality Inn Downtown Inner Harbour Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing