We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star price for a Zero Star hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bedford Regency Hotel
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Santa Clara, CA, U.S.A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star price for a Zero Star hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

Oh my gosh... what a terrible, dingy place this is. Located in the heart of downtown I still can't beleive such a property exists in Down town Victoria. The carpet stinks / Beds Stink / Dirty Bathroom / Water supply makes noise.

Worst of all the whole place stinks huh!!. Besides this, no Parking you will be asked to part few block from this hotel, in a downtown parking lot ( The best part is you have to pay for the parking). Don't be fooled by the exterior look and the Lobby, rest stinks :).

We were chard 193.00 Canadian dollars per night... huh!!. the day before we stayed at Sheraton ( Surrey, B.C ) for a price of 150 bucks..

A dingy hotel next to the railway tracks would have been a better option

  • Liked — The location was good.. but every thing else suck.
  • Disliked — Crappy Dingy place
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank aarthiagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    148
    76
    45
    23
See reviews for
81
149
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

This was probably our third stay at this property and we were in Victoria only because the timing of the Tall Ships Festival fit in with our plans which were changed only a month prior.
The location is superb, on Government Street (the heart of the shopping) and only about 3 blocks from the Empress Hotel and 2 blocks from one section of the Festival venue. It was also convenient to museums/tourist attractions in downtown,many interesting ethnic restaurants and a short walk to catch a bus.
In my most recent stay in June with my husband, we had a deluxe jacuzzi room with a harbor view. This room had more than enough space, but with a western exposure, the afternoon sun warmed the room and we had to leave the window shade closed. (They also have a cozy deluxe jacuzzi "inside" room that we preferred on our previous visits, but this, like most of the rooms, has NO view except into an "atrium" area.) If you can afford the extra cost and can share a bed, be sure to book a deluxe room at this property. (I had stayed here in May, with a girl friend which necessitated a room with two beds. Unfortunately, the rooms with twin beds are extremely cramped and the bed positioned in front of the television was so soft that it should have been replaced.)
The desk staff was pleasant and efficient, and one thing we appreciated was the free internet at a computer in the lobby.
However, this hotel has significantly deteriorated since we last stayed here several years ago. They no longer have breakfast available for purchase in the cute little mezzanine area, and we found the used linens left in the hall by the housekeeping staff that we almost had to step over to be somewhat disconcerting. The cracked, free-standing sink in our deluxe room was less than appealing and one real problem was that the volume on the television was so restricted to prevent the noise from disturbing others that we could hardly hear it and at times had to stand 2 feet in front of it!
We were told that the lobby and reception area are scheduled to be renovated, but the rooms are also in need of a face-lift. We probably will not return to Victoria for a while, but I would think twice before booking this hotel again, despite its fantastic location.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — It is just "tired" and need a complete refurbishment
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cinderella_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

jenn87
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2008

the only thing I liked about this hotel was the location. our stay there was one problem after another. they lost our reservations and charged us a higher rate for a lower quality room. they didn't have a manager working on a long weekend. they didn't warn us that there was construction in the hotel and there was no hot water in our room. They didn't give us a lower rate after they found out that there was no hot water in our room and they couldn't fix the problem. Then after everything else I had an extra $175.00 on my Visa that I had not authorized. when I called to have them remove the charge they insisted that it should be on there but they couldn't tell me what it was for. then they told me that they could not remove it because they had no manager working that day. it took me a whole day to have them reverse a charge that should never have been there. Horrible hotel NEVER stay there

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jenn87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Federal Way, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

We're cheap. We've stayed at Mrs. Goodfellow's BnB; at a cheap motel further north on Douglas for eye surgery; and at Swan's. So the Bedford was "above average." And we roller blade hard during the day and sleep deep. I don't remember hearing a band at all. It was a nice room, good bed, comfortable place to hang out and we ate breakfast in their restaurant. We're going again Labor Day w/e and have asked for rooms 18 or 19 as high as is available (3d or 4th floor)

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — There's a building across the street blocks some view
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KennewickMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2008

We were met by a very polite young lady at check in. The lobby was sparse but that was of no concern. They were refurbishing. We were in our warm, clean room within 3 minutes of our arrival on a freezing afternoon after a long trip. There is a pub downstairs which was always very busy - so we avoided it and simply crossed the street to Earl's to eat. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance and the hotel is just a five minute walk from the harbor. We too were awakened by loud music throughout the night and this seems to be the main problem with this hotel. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and, if it weren't for the all-night "entertainment" raging below us, we would have recommended this property highly for the budget traveler as it was comfortable, clean, centrally located and inexpensive.

  • Liked — Convenient location and good value
  • Disliked — The music coming from the club below the hotel that played all night
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LughaidhN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

Great location downtown Victoria across from the Bay Mall. Clean, older establishment. Comfortable beds, room was fairly small. There is an Irish Pub next door and there was significant party noise up until 3am each night. My biggest complaint is the sharp edges on the bed posts. Each of us bumped into the foot bed posts and received bad bruises on our thighs. I would recommend tying a bath towel around the post for padding. Two weeks later, I still have the bruise and it's still tender. Loved the speedy internet.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank radryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

This place was shocking.

Noisy, very, very noisy (as others have mentioned the music coming through the floors ALL night).

Parking miles away. No privacy if you happen to be located in a room by the windows facing straight into another room opposite.

To top it off they were in the process of renovating (no warning about this when the booking was made), there were dropsheets & other tools etc everywhere and the stench of paint was too much.

I would never stay here again, nor recommend it to my worst enemy.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Lack of sleep, renovations, smell, lack of privacy
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Strathcona Hotel
#36 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Regency Hotel

Property: Bedford Regency Hotel
Address: 1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedford Regency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Regency Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, bordered by beautiful Government Street and Bastion Square. This location is within walking distance to major local attractions including the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Beacon Hill Park, China Town, and the Royal London Wax Museum.We owned 40 classic European style guests rooms. Each of our guest room are furnished with work desks and refrigerators. We also include cable TV and complimentary high speed Internet access.The Garrick's Head Pub is the on site sport pub for guests to enjoy. Nowadays, our business have up to 30 employees as full-time and part-time to provide our best service in Victoria BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Bedford Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Regency Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island
Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing