We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but in need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bedford Regency Hotel
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location but in need of updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

When we went up to the room we were given it hadn't been cleaned so reception upgraded us to a larger room. It is clean and comfortable but in need of updating. We found it hard to find anywhere that served a decent breakfast near the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    153
    83
    45
    23
See reviews for
85
153
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Ok, so we've spent the odd cold night in a tent - but this was supposed to be a long awaited get-away weekend. Instead, we got shivering cold conditions that were never fully rectified, worn stained carpets, damp firewood that didn't burn, a lingering smell of sour coffee and extremely poor service.

...And an exorbitant bill! We were charged a total of CAN$170 per night for the privilege of staying in one cold and shabby room. As we walked out, we saw that the front entrance window had been smashed. We joked that it was probably done by a more aggressive hotel guest that felt as we did - ripped off!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ripped_off_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

urban8
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

European charm? Somewhat; dated but clean rooms with nice mouldings, deep baths and cheery windows. Good location? That depends. You can walk out the lobby and be in the heart of Victoria's Government Street, amidst shops and a couple of blocks from the waterfront. This is, however, a double edged sword. The thing about Victoria is: it's one city before dark, another after hours. The charm and bustle of the daytime is replaced by the sound of drunks fighting in the alleys, sirens attending the aftermath, and other features of a seedy city scene. With regards to the Bedford Regency, this means a couple of things: If you stay in one of the Government St. view suites, you will hear this sort of thing all night long. Across the street, the Hudson's Bay store keeps it's exterior lighting on all night: the flimsy curtains in the rooms do not block light, and the entire room is suffused in a fluorescent glow that you can read a book by. Don't expect to sleep much. The Harbour view suites do have a nice vantage, but the scene in the alley below at night is even worse than the one on Government street.

Bottom line: if you like sleep, and quiet, avoid the Bedford, or get an inside courtyard room. Better yet, for similar money, stay at the Empress: often, Expedia rates are similar, and you'll be close to everything, with a pool, oodles of charm, and sufficiently removed from the Victoria's seedy after hours scene.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urban8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2009

This hotel really wasn't bad, just a bit disappointing because it could have been so much more! We were tipped off when we entered what must have once been a grand sort of lobby...half of it had been turned into an starbucks-esque espresso shop, and in a ruthless and architecturally insensitive way. The elevator felt cramped and cheap and dingy. But our 4th-floor room was pleasant, with nice tonal paint and large windows with pretty flowers perched on the outside sills framing a (slightly obstructed) view of the harbor. It was reasonably easy to overlook the scuffed furniture and the stained carpet that probably should have been replaced years ago. The non-functional jets in the jacuzzi-style tub were less excusable, and the staff offered no help or compensation. On the whole, the hotel is in a great location--a close walk to the waterfront and most tourist attractions, but it has the sad feel of a once proud hotel that has come down in the world. it's hard not to feel like you should be getting more.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MF888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I loved room 24 from the moment I entered; deep set windows with plants as in France, books on the shelf, two sinks and a large shower with two shower heads. There was adequate light provided by a large chandelier above the desk and adequate electrical receptacles. Good location downtown both in terms of proximity to businesses and pleasant surroundings. I also thought the soap dispensers, rather than individually packaged, were a good idea for being kind to the planet. I suggest, however, that they have Shaw cable replace the 2nd floor routers as I was unable to maintain a VPN connection despite sever attempts by staff to reset the cable router.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainkidBurnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

I was very apprehensive because I had read such negative reviews, but I was very pleasantly surprised by my stay there. The room was comfortable and the location was superb.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortandfat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2009

I was surprised to see that this hotel was under construction! The Staff were wearing winter jackets inside!! The was no "manager" on duty for the weekend, the elevators are old, the rooms are shabby with no views, no parking and I saw the cleaning staff dump a pail of dirty water out the front door right onto the street!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — That there is no on duty manager
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsetcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
The Strathcona Hotel
#37 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Downtown
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
Swans Hotel & Brewpub
#27 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Regency Hotel

Property: Bedford Regency Hotel
Address: 1140 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bedford Regency Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Regency Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Victoria, bordered by beautiful Government Street and Bastion Square. This location is within walking distance to major local attractions including the Inner Harbour, the Royal BC Museum, Craigdarroch Castle, Beacon Hill Park, China Town, and the Royal London Wax Museum.We owned 40 classic European style guests rooms. Each of our guest room are furnished with work desks and refrigerators. We also include cable TV and complimentary high speed Internet access.The Garrick's Head Pub is the on site sport pub for guests to enjoy. Nowadays, our business have up to 30 employees as full-time and part-time to provide our best service in Victoria BC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedford Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Regency Hotel Victoria, Vancouver Island
Regency Hotel Victoria
Regency Hotel Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing