We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast, Chocolates and Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #11 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Breakfast, Chocolates and Charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Humboldt House Bed and Breakfast served as our launching spot for our first trip to Victoria, BC. You are welcomed to your room with a split of champagne and a truffle for each traveler. The house is charming and David, owner and innkeeper, takes great pride in making sure that his guests are comfortable. Friendly staff as well. The breakfasts were served in our room, complete with fresh fruit and warm scones. David also owns Terrible Truffles, the source of those mouthwatering treats. There are limited number of rooms, which kept the place quiet and relaxing. Ideal spot for couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    31
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
157
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

room comes with jacuzzi tub and a bottle of wine--excellent afternoon relax; great location-close to downtown but very quiet-choice of 4 breakfasts-ours were excellent-delivered in your room at your choice of time--sherry and treats in the library--when considering breakfast and other amenities, the price becomes more than reasonable--will definitely stay again

Room Tip: 2nd floor-has nice view from jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian n n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

David, the inn keeper, was exceptional. My wife and I had several pieces of heavy luggage and he was kind enough to heave them up the stairs for us. The breakfasts were great and the attention to detail....wonderful.
The home itself is lovely. Nicely appointed and that old Victorian charm stands out.
I would have rated this 5 stars except for the bed and the fireplace which I brought to David's attention upon checkout. Also there was no shower in our room, only a bath.
I would recommend this place to others for sure!

Room Tip: I had a room downstairs and it was at the back. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clr4976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

This little place is perfect location wise, not a littlest bit of complaint. We were able to walk from the BnB to Save On Foods Memorial Center in roughly 1/2 an hour. The room was exactly what we wanted at a price we could afford. David (the innkeeper) was friendly and inviting, and made the stay easy. We didn't need much contact with him but when we did he was there in a blink. The food oh my goodness wow. Just wowsers! We ordered the west coast and fruit crepes they were to die for!! came with everything you could want my crepes looked a little dry but the second I tasted them looks meant nothing!! The truffles were delicious, and I wish we could have afforded to buy a box, the Champagne was great it made our evening wind down as lovely as possible. The jacuzzi was my favourite part I must admit, but a giant bath with jets how can't you enjoy that? All in all I can't find anything negative to say, Our room (Mikado) was perfect size, and the decor was great. Fully recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CommanderAmande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our stay was a splendid experience. We are used to staying at B&B's, but our first stay at the Humboldt House has spoiled us for others. It would now be difficult to travel to Victoria for a weekend without wanting to stay in this wonderfully appointed home. We were met by David and he gave us the choice of two available rooms. We chose the Celebration room at the end of the entryway hall, and were not disappointed. The jacuzzi tub and fireplace provided a great finish to a wonderful day of enjoying the sights of Victoria. After a very relaxing sleep, in a wonderfully comfortable bed, the breakfast basket was delightful. There was no area where the quality was less than superb -- the accommodations, the fabulous meal, lots of extras (flowers & truffles, etc.). We would very highly recommend the Humboldt Bed & Breakfast.

Room Tip: We have only stayed here once but the Celebration room at the end of the hall was quiet & restfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Loved having breakfast served to the room. Really enjoyed the jacuzzi tub and real wood burning fire.
Location is great - walking distance to museums, restaurants, shopping, etc..
Sparkling wine and delicious chocolates upon arrival were a wonderful added touch. Would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Langley, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Beautiful home -- on a quiet but central street -- filled with period decor and artwork. Sherry and home-made treats in the drawing room. Fresh flowers, truffles and sparkling wine waiting in the room. Huge jetted tub, fireplace ready to light, bathrobes in the closet. Amazing breakfasts. Gracious host. Be sure to purchase extra truffles to take home. Forget the waterfront hotels. By far the best B&B we've stayed at. We visit Victoria several times a year and regret having not discovered this place sooner. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The Edward Room is top floor over the lounge/drawing room, and has a view of St. Anne's Academy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,511 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 867 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing