We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with amazing service and ambiance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 91 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What can I say? The Humboldt House B&B is much more than a B&B..it is a home away from home (but with better service and much better breakfasts!) David and his wife are the key to this amazing nook of old world charm and service. Booking was a dream and David went out of his way to accomodate my needs on business (2 nights) as well as personally with my family.(3 nights) The suites are amazing c/w fireplaces, jacuzzi's and Victorian furnishings. The rooms were VERY quiet and private as this B&B is situated on a quiet street yet close to the harbour (10 minute walk) and all shopping (5-10 minutes walk.)
David has a wonderful breakfast menu which can change daily. Not the "continental" stuff of other establishments but eggs benedict with croissants, fresh fruit, orange juice (to go with your complimentary champagne), coffee/tea or his signature seafood and smoked salmon crepes .... all ending with a hand-made and exquisite truffle. This is by far the best kept secret in Victoria....but not for long!!!

Room Tip: The Edwards room is wonderful (for a couple) as is the floral room (for a family). The upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyandJo-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

Can't say enough good things about this B&B. A bit pricey but the manager there, Dave, sure delivered it. So it's worth every penny. He welcomed us with tasty truffle and wine. He even let us choose which room to stay at and we picked a bigger one but in the end all the rooms are equipped with jacuzzi tub and very mood soothing music. The location is great. Will return for sure! Oh and Buchart Garden tickets are cheaper here too ;)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

This was a very good bed and breakfast, with a central location. The breakfasts were large and delicious. My only complaint is breakfast is served to each separately to ensure quality and freshness, so you have to sign up early, or you have to wait until later in the morning to have breakfast. The room was smaller, but clean. I would definitely return, and recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maybellelovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Loved it, will always come back...

We stayed Mikado room, very romantic (with a jacuzzi tub) but maybe a little dated.

Truffles and roses were a nice touch. Great breakfast, with four choices. Close to downtown and in a quiet area.

Awesome! Great job.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The hotel I had originally booked bungled my reservation. My parents were staying at the Humboldt, where I met them. When David learnt of my situation, he graciously found a way to accommodate me on very short notice. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, and the breakfasts delicious. What impressed me the most was their helpfulness. They went out of their way to make our stay with them a special experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. All have tubs but not all have a stand up shower. I was able to get one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great location. I loved having both a fireplace and jacuzzi tub in the room. Breakfast was wonderful. Our whole stay was very indulgent.

My only suggestion is an eco-friendly service, as we would've happily opted out of having maid service for our stay and reusing our towels as well as keeping the sheets until we left.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23missb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had spent a few days in Victoria at the Humboldt House for my husband's conference and it was a great experience.

The location is excellent to start off with -- incredibly close to downtown and a beautiful park with a petting zoo.

The house is gorgeous -- Victorian-style rooms with beautiful details. We loved ours and found it very clean and cozy. I can see it being the perfect place for honeymooners and couples. It was very quiet during the evening too, so we had restful sleeps.

We have a toddler and we felt so welcome the entire time by the Innkeeper, David, and his family. When we asked which room to book, we were recommended the Windsor Room for privacy and to avoid disrupting other guests. We were able to take a 'shortcut' through the office many times and schlep our stuff (oh, babies) back and forth from the parking (free parking in the back, I should mention!) to our room. There was never any attitude -- everyone was so kind, understanding and accommodating. Also, my husband needed an urgent work-related favour and the Innkeeper went above and beyond to help. If we needed anything, we felt comfortable to ask.

The food (we love food)... We were so delighted at the quality of the breakfasts. You have several choices and everything is homemade -- every component. Everything was fresh and delicious and delivered to the suite at the time requested. Little extras were added for our little one, which we appreciated. The Innkeeper is also a chocolatier and you are treated to two delicious truffles (with sparkling wine) when you arrive. We purchased a box to bring back home.

To summarize, we had a wonderful stay and would visit again. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Feel free to ask Innkeeper for recommendations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,845 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 867 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £168 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing