We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #10 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great stay!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I just returned from a 2 night stay at Humboldt House B&B Inn, while attending a conference in Victoria. Innkeepers David & Vlasta are wonderful hosts and very helpful with information. Their location was walking distance to our conference venue, as well as several restaurants we visited, so great for walking there and not having to deal with downtown parking. We lucked out in the weather department as it was absolutely gorgeous weather and Victoria showed itself off with wonderful fall colors and great views. I enjoyed the decadent Jacuzzi all by myself and of course I can't forget their delicious "Terrible Truffles" , some of which came home with me! Thank you David & Vlasta, I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Mikado Room right on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingrid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    34
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
163
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Ok, we stayed only in this place, so can't really compare :). But it was an absolutely great stay! We arrived in the evening after a long flight and were delighted by the Mikado room. The bubbly wine, the truffles and the breakfast were all delicious, as advertised. The jacuzzi is great, there's a real fireplace and the room decor is very pleasant on the eye. The owner was very welcoming, we could keep our car in the backyard while visiting Victoria and the town is just a few minutes walk away. Totally recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Oriental Room; decor a bit kitschy, but not offensively so. We chose it for the King bed, which was supremely comfortable. Fireplace & 2-person Jacuzzi tub - very nice!

No TV in room but that is actually a nice touch - we relaxed and hung out and read. A cd player is supplied, but none of the supplied music was really our thing - artists we'd never heard of (mostly jazz/blues) plus Gordon Lightfoot & Johnny Cash. Some classical selections would have been welcome. :-) Next time we'll bring our own CDS.

Obviously targetted as a "romantic" room, and it was all of that, Breakfast was excellent; delicious & generous; couldn't finish everything, much as we wanted to.

Only a few blocks to the Inner Harbour, and an easy walk to & fro. It was very quiet at night. All in all, a most relaxing stay and a place we will look forward to revisiting. On the upper end of B&B pricing - $219 plus taxes per night for the shoulder season for this room - I think it totalled $240 or so after taxes - but the room, the breakfast, and the atmosphere were worth it.

The only disappointment (minor!) was that the delicious chocolate truffles from the first night weren't repeated the second night; we'd commented that we were looking forward to them but sadly no such luck. Maybe it was an oversight? ;-)

Overlooking the grounds of St Ann's Academy, now a National Historic Site and open to the public; we walked through the garden and noted that the buildings are open some afternoons; will try to tour them next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 373Barb123373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The location of Humboldt House is enough reason to stay there. Within easy walking distance of the harbor area, it's a nice, personalized alternative to large chain hotels. We chalked up the strange floor plan to "making the most of old architecture" and made sure we were very careful walking up the stairs of the Gazebo Room to the toilet. In-room service of breakfast was charming. (There is no place for a dining room to gather the guests). Service very attentive. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HonoluluNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Humbolt house is on a quiet, private street in the heart of "downtown" Victoria. The owner was very helpful with arranging our plans even though we changed them last minute because of rain. Of course, the breakfasts are wonderful and I enjoyed the relaxed breakfast in our room. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The celebration room is my favorite but the less expensive smaller room on the first floor is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gc914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Celebration Room was beautiful & quiet! You choose your breakfast plus the time you want it the night before & it's delivered through the dumbwaiter in the morning! The breakfast is inside a picnic basket. The whole experience was awesome except for when the hottub started leaking downstairs but the owner was very prompt & professional. The chocolates & brandy in the old-fashioned crystal decanters all added to having gone back in time! Almost didn't want to leave the room to go sight-seeing!!

Room Tip: It is expensive but worth it for what you get. Very rarely run into other people that are staying th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorena070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After 4 days on the Juan de Fuca trail it felt like heaven to enter Edward´s Room and see the lovely interior and the jacuzzi. Hunboldt House is located in walking distance to Victoria downtown and offers off road parking. David and his family were very friendly and helped out with everything we needed. The in-room breakfast was extraordinairy (try the crepes).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhabarberplaetzchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,030 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,603 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,025 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 867 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing