We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too wonderful for words!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #11 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco,California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too wonderful for words!”
Reviewed 20 April 2007

Exquisite! The room was everything we hoped for, beautifully decorated, and charming. David was the great host, and the service was above and beyond. Marvellous food presentation, coupled with instant attention made this truly a romantic weekend to remember for the rest of our lives. We WILL be back.

  • Liked — Ambience and Amenities
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilandlaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    32
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
161
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

A character heritage B&B right downtown Victoria with theme rooms, 4-star service, and gourmet breakfasts - it doesn't get any better than this! Oh, and did I forget to mention the gourmet complementary truffles made on site by our professional chocolateer host David. Oh, and did I mention the large soaker tub and wood-burning fireplace. The ultimate romantic getaway. Highly recommended on all accounts!

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2007

Well...it was April and Tracey just turned 25. We wanted to continue
with her birthday (week) celebration so we decided to book 2 nights at the Humboldt House in the Gazebo Room. It was not our first time at the Humboldt House and it will definitely NOT be our last. The beautiful and peaceful surroundings and excellent service was no surpise to us. The second time here was even better than the first.

David and family made us feel welcome and at "home". The room was so comfortable and relaxing that we almost forgot to leave and explore the rest of Victoria. =) Make sure you allot enough time to spend in the tub with your special someone.

The breakfasts were amazing. I only wish they could serve them all day!! Definitely recommend the Smoked Salmon and Shrimp Crepes and the Eggs Benedict!!

No small detail was overlooked. From the ready prepared fireplace to the flowers on the table to the chocolates on the mantle to the champagne in the fridge to the...you get the idea. We do not know why anyone would decide to stay at a hotel. The personal level service was superb.

We could go on, but the rest you really need to experience first-hand with your loved one. Have a wonderful stay at the Humboldt House! We did.

Tracey and Norm

  • Liked — Everything - attention to detail!
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer ~ time passes wayyyyyy too quickly.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank humboldt_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2007

I booked an Adventure package (Micado suite) with the Humboldt House B&B for my Husband's 50th birthday. We've enjoyed B&B's in Europe, New Zealand, Australia, the U.S. and now Canada. The Humboldt House and hosts rate at the top of our list for hospitality, comfort, location, privacy, ambiance, romance, value, and a superb gourmet breakfast. We highly recommend one of their package weekends. Ours included the amazing gourmet breakfast in suite each morning, a lovely dinner at Camille's, a whale watching excursion with Sea Fun Safari tours (where we spent 2 hours amongst Orca's from the resident JPod), and champange and truffles on arrival. We added a day to our 2 night package making it 3 nights, which was perfect! Each night we checked out the fresh cookies and Cream Sherry in the Library as we retired to our suite to light our cozy wood fire in the fireplace. David is an outstanding host. We're already dreaming of our next visit. Happy travels...

  • Liked — wonderful mix of romance and adventure...
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlett7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2007

Very nice place to stay. Close to downtown, clean, quiet, the breakfast was very tasty and, and hospitality incredible. I will recommend this place to anybody. Thank you David!

  • Liked — almost everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Galina-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

We first stayed at the Humboldt House in 2004 for our honeymoon. We fell in love with this B&B and we have been returning every year. Its the perfect spot for a romantic weekend. The house itself feels so cozy the minute you step in you can smell the wood burning fireplaces and the treats baking in Dave's kitchen. All the rooms have different themes...our favorite is the Oriental room with its dark red colors, king size bed and black soaker tub. The location is so private that when you're in the room you feel like you're all by yourself in the house. You never hear anyone else in the other rooms!!! Just minutes away from the harbour, the IMAX theatre and the Parliament are only a couple blocks away. Ideal location!
The owner of the B&B is a pastry chef and his hospitality is amazing. He makes you feel at home right away. The service is exceptional...they will make any kind of reservations for you and help you with anything you need. One of the best features of this B&B is the breakfast they cook for you every morning. You get to choose from 4 different options and then you choose the time you want it in the morning. Then in the morning they bring your breakfast in a basket, delivered to your room. All rooms have wood burning fireplaces and when you arrive you have champagne and truffles waiting for you! If you're looking for a nice romantic location to spend time with your loved one and also a private but central location to explore beautiful Victoria...this is IT! You will not be disappointed!!!!

  • Liked — the wood burning fireplace in every room and the food
  • Disliked — i cant think of anything i didnt like
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vouvou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2007

It was a surprise from my husband for Christmas 2006 and I loved it. It's a very romantic place, the service was awesome and breakfast was delicious. We stayed at Edward's room and it had hot tub/jacuzzi and fireplace. The most romantic B&B in Victoria. We definitely want to go back!!!

  • Liked — Romantic B&B
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maribel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,009 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,514 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,175 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 867 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Room featuring large Jacuzzi baths & wood burning fireplaces. Gourmet in-room breakfasts, chocolates, and sparkling wine included. Located two blocks from city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing