We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to discover Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rosewood Victoria Inn
Ranked #18 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2008

The Rosewood's location cannot be beat! It is close enough to downtown and the Inner Harbour that walking to those locations is a pleasurable experience, but it is far enough away to get away from traffic noise. The rooms are comfortable, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed a week, and would go back in a heartbeat!

One caveat to be aware of - if you book using a timeshare exchange, you have to pay an extra charge for breakfast, and you are served what they make (different each day but no choice of entrees). The breakfasts were very good, and if you have a food allergy, they will accommodate that. Afternoon tea is complimentary.

Off street parking is limited, but there is parking on the street in front of B&B, and there is a bus stop close by.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2008

The staff at the hotel where super,but we found it quite disturbing that one of the waitresses daughters was sitting at the guests table because she was off school she was served as if a guest and another member of staff and her husband and baby and his pram also sat at the breakfast table,sadly her husband did not even bother to iron his shirt and looked quite scruffy each day, lowering the tone of the timeshare,they where staying there because of problems with their accommodation ,the dining room is small and not everyone wants to make small talk with a young girl of about ten who is randomly placed at your table, she was also on the reception desk playing computer games on one occassion,,the food was excellent,but who wants rice pudding,cheese scones and apple pancakes for breakfast with no other choice?and that was all on one morning,there is a great potential for this resort but the breakfast menu needs to be more varied, our stay of three days was enough as there is not enough cupboard space for longer, I would recommend the location but the whole place needs to be jacked up to international standards

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank westville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2008

The Inn was beautifully quaint and clean. We enjoyed our room, the Avignon, very much.
What we did not enjoy were the following:
1) We lost hot water for our showering the last 3 days of our stay. The staff was relatively inept at knowing what to do. We finally convinced them to let us use a shower in another room.
2) The wireless internet service was WOEFULLY slow - rendering it almost useless. It's a very cheap investment these days to get a fast wireless connection. I assume many of your guests come from the U.S. and also abroad. Many international travelers use the internet to call home to avoid the major hassles and charges of making phone calls directly through land lines.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this quaint and lovely place. But I strongly urge them to make sure they have your plumbing issues figured out.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank muldicard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

From checking out the RoseWood Inn web site before making reservations, we were quite disappointed on arrival. We stayed in the
Delphinium Room, which did not look at all like the picture on the web site which looked very upscale. Carpet looked dirty, room had a damp feeling to it. Condensation on the windows. Nothing matched like
the beautiful pictures on the web site. Green carpet/blue duvet. Thin towels, no mat in the tub. No afternoon tea/coffee. Breakfast was a big disappointment. Nothing special even though they tried. No real welcome when we arrived. Next time we will for sure go by ourEyewitness top 10 booklet..Totally over priced for the condition of the room. S.E. Bloomington, Indiana

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank snookum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2007

I have stayed here several times and thought it was time to write review.
The staff at this property are allways helpful and friendly and really make the stay a pleasent experiance.
The inn has some real funky rooms in the english theme and some very modern nicely appointed rooms.
Location is great and the breakfasts are allways very good.
I will stay many more times

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank islandrockin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

We arrived at the downtown Victoria bus station on Sunday, July 1st. We were pleased to learn that the Rosewood was located within walking distance even though many taxis were available if we desired. We walked the 3 blocks passing the Empress Hotel, the harborfront, the Royal British Museum, and the Parliament Building. We noticed a festive atmosphere as many people were strolling, some streets were being blocked off ; we wondered what was happening. Upon arrival at the Rosewood, we learned that it was Canada Day (their Independence Day) and free live music and fireworks would be happening on the harbor that evening --all within a 5 minute walk from our room!
Our check in went very smoothly and we had help with our baggage. Our room was on the second floor and was lovely. We had booked this as a timeshare, so our room came with a refrigerator and microwave (no stove). There were dishes and utensils as well. Breakfast and afternoon tea are offered for all guests. We, timesharers had to pay an extra fee...but it was reasonable. The food was excellent as was the service. Throughout the week, our room was kept very clean and the whole staff were very courteous and helpful. Jay, the manager, was particularly helpful with planning details on what to see and how. We took advantage of the beautiful sights and the marvelous festivities and really enjoyed our stay.
Our week at the Rosewood Victoria Inn was one to remember !

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank chipandmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

My wife and I have stayed at this Inn on two different occasions each for two nights over the last three years. It has been consistently well maintained and very clean and tidy.

It has a very good location on the corner of Government and Michigan. I believe it is about two blocks south of the harbor or the Empress Hotel and even less distance to the Royal BC Museum. I noticed some solid upgrades during that period too, like the new tile floors in the bathrooms and the expanded guest area downstairs.

Jay the Innkeeper is chatty and very personable and I feel certain that he treated everyone well during our stays. Help staff is just as sporadic in Victoria I am sure as anywhere else in North America, but every single employee I had dealings with were courteous, attentive and upbeat so I find some other reviews to the contrary disconcerting. (This is the stuff I look for, and I saw the staff go above and beyond on at least two occasions.)

The Inn is owned by Avia West, and I had several really nice conversations with their representatives as well, Specifically Lori and Linda.

The Inn location is on a tree shaded street where one can frequently hear the clip clop of hooves as vacationers tour the area by horse drawn carriage. If you want a romantic destination in Victoria for a reasonable price look no further.

Breakfasts are located in a sun room on linen with fine china but were more perfunctory this time around than I had remembered. Really they were just par.

To mar an otherwise stellar vacation our vehicle was broken into on the last night of our stay while parked in the the Rosewood Inn parking lot, and I understand now that it is not an uncommon occurrence. Not sure what can be done about this but it will be the last time for us in downtown Victoria - I certainly don't blame the Inn though.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank bfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,081 reviews
James Bay
Fisher House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Victoria Inn

Address: 595 Michigan St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1S7, Canada (Formerly Holland House)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £86 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Victoria Hotel Victoria
Rosewood Hotel Victoria
Rosewood Victoria Inn Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing