We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heathergate House B&B
Ranked #19 of 91 Victoria B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Beautiful bb, in a very quiet area very close to downtown ( just a short walk).
Very clean and welcoming!
The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous all homemade.
Ann and Ned are very friendly and helpful with any information you need.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia_Giulietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

We rented the cottage at the Heathergate House since we have three small children. Also, our mother-in-law was travelling with us to help my husband and I with the children. This seemed more feasible than staying at the Empress since we would have more room, a kitchen, washer and dryer, etc. On the website it says they do not allow families with children 10 and under. I inquired about this in advance and they assured me the only reason they put that on the website is so that people would inform them if they had young children. They asked that we not have breakfast in the main house, as there were some guests who needed their quiet time. They also remarked that they would bring us a continental breakfast to the cottage if we so desired, if we didn't want the breakfast, we would get a $20 credit, per day. I thought that sounded fair.
Ned was very nice and hospitable. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for Ann. They did not make us feel like we were very welcome and I truly believe it's because we had young children. We paid the same rate as any other guest, even additional fees per person. Not only were we not welcome at the main house for breakfast, but they didn't tell us there was hot coffee and tea available from 7-9 a.m. for the guests. My mother-in-law is an early riser and would have benefitted from this service. We found out on the last day when we walked to the main house. We felt slighted when we saw the sign.

We told them we wanted the continental breakfast only the first day and after that, we would take care of our own breakfasts. Our thinking was that we had small children and we weren't sure what they would eat, if anything. They brought breakfast as promised on the first day. We were surprised that they came back and took all of the marmalade and jelly packets that we had left over. They took them from the fridge. We were planning to use our leftovers, that we paid for, for breakfasts on other days. We thought that was a cheap gesture on their part.
The last night we were there we were running low on groceries and didn't want to buy anything that would waste, so early that morning I decided to walk over to the main house and inquire as to whether or not we could pay for a breakfast at the cottage since we were not welcome at the main house. Ann was VERY unaccomodating!! I asked her very nicely, "Is there any way we might could get a breakfast this morning?" She looks coldly at me and replies "NO!" My five year old says "Mommy, can we have breakfast?" I said to him with embarrassment "No, we cannot." She looks at me as if i am stupid and adds "We have to know the night before."
This really was the point when i regretted staying there. This is why I would not recommend ANY family with children to stay there. Most of the breakfast was cold milk and cereal, yogurt, fruit...it was not stuff that had to be cooked. I'm sure they keep a stock-pile of these items. She could've said, "it may be a while before i can get to it, but i'll put something together for you." Anything would have been better than the cold "no" she gave to me. She just did not want to accomodate us. She acted "put out" by us being there. I felt in the way, as if they wished we were not there. Here we are with a five year old, a three year old, an 8 month old, a mother in law, in a foreign country and we just needed something to tide us over till lunch-time. And she could not provide anything. Really, you can't give us a few boxes of cereal and milk or some yogurt? It's not as if we wouldn't have paid for it.
We left a night early and drove back to Seattle. Of course, they didn't offer a discount because we left a night early.
As far as accomodations, the cottage was nice. The flowers are beautiful.
Also, Ned was very helpful with finding directions, booking ferries for us, etc.
If you do not have children, it would probably be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jatmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

The warm welcome (including fresh coffee, biscuits/cookies- baked fresh daily) set the tone for an excellent stay. The location is wonderful - Ned & Ann gave directions for a 15-20 min waterside walk into the city centre and the B&B has everything you could hope for, including large, airy lounge with really comfortable armchairs/sofas (complete with free use of computer/internet, papers, magazines and details of every possible local attraction). Our room was really comfortable, complete with clean, bright and well equipped ensuite (including thick, luxorious bathrobes).
We slept well - didn't hear a thing, and breakfast was another highlight with excellent choice of freshly prepared dishes.
We arranged to leave our bags till later in the day as friends were picking us up about 5pm. We were told to use the facilities whatever time we came back, including refreshments.
Excellent, excellent, excellent. Many thanks to Ann & Ned.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teazle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The B&B itself is lovely both inside and out, exceptionally clean, and within strolling distance to downtown and all major attractions. My mom and I stayed for 2 days. ($125.00/night) The hosts, Ned and Ann, were exceptional! We had mentioned going to the Abhakazi Garden (Lovely for lunch) to Ned and, before we knew it, he had kindly mapped out the route to get there along with suggestions. The next day we mentioned going to the movies; Ned then again went out of his way to find out if the movie we wanted to see was playing, which theatre, times, and again mapped how to get there. You couldn't ask for more gracious, helpful hosts!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funnhappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We loved the warm welcome! English tea in a proper teapot served with home made cookies in the garden. The free internet, the lovely breakfast and the gentle stroll to the little boat ferry to get into town when we were feeling really lazy though we usually walked along the harbourside as it wasn't far. I can't think of anything they could have improved and would definitely stay here if we should return!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We (a family of 5) had a great stay at The Heathergate House B&B - we stayed in the lovely self contained cottage. Ned and Ann went beyond the call of duty to make us welcome and Ned's breakfast was truly stupendous. The B&B is very well placed for downtown, in all a real find and somewhere we will definately come back to next time we are in Victoria.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank Adam-Rye-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We love staying at B & B's. Our hosts, Ann and Ned Easton, were most welcoming.

We celebrated a birthday and everything was perfect. Wonderful bed, excellent service and a full breakfast to last us most of the day.

Our room and ensuite bathroom, so tastefully decorated, provided us a much needed oasis to relax and rejuvenate.

Coffee pot is always on and Ned's cookies are famous.

It was a pleasure to stay at Heathergate. The Eastons are masters in the art of hospitality.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MarksCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 49 in Victoria
702 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathergate House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathergate House B&B

Address: 122 Simcoe St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £89 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heathergate House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathergate House B&B Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing