We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place to stay, away from the bustle of Victoria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Ranked #7 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Divide, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A quiet place to stay, away from the bustle of Victoria”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in August. We're not into busy cities but prefer privacy. The B&B is situated on a lagoon and is in a residential neighborhood. The location on a cul-de-sac allows for some privacy. The owner, Dieter, has kayaks, canoes and bicycles available for your use at any time. Downtown Victoria is just about 20 minutes away. Our room was immaculate and very comfortable, the cost of 165.00/night was reasonable. I think this is a good location for folks who might want to spend some time in Victoria, as well as explore the trails west of town and relax in a canoe or kayak in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flicka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    20
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
41
98
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The room, the view, the staff, the food, the proximity to fun activities both in the city and in the country, it was all absolutely perfect! We took the Birds of a Feather whale watching tour and saw 30+ orcas, seals, jelly fish, and star fish. The equipment they offer was fantastic - we rode their mountain bikes 20+ miles straight from the B&B to the Galloping Goose Trail, which we followed out to Pedder Bay and back through Japanese Gardens and Hatley Castle. The bikes were super comfy and sturdy. What a fantastic place to relax!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbwhit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

If you want to relax and just listen to the sounds of nature all around, this is the perfect place. In August I spent a lovely week with my family in this beautiful B&B, kayaking in the lagoon enjoying the sun, walking to the near Hatley Castle and having a delicious breakfast while admiring deers and birds quietly walking in the garden or the enormous cruiseships passing by. We even had the chance to see otters fishing! Easy drive to Victoria downtown. We went visiting the Royal BC Museum and had lunch and dinner in some of the restaurants reccomended in the website. But the best part was coming back in the evening and enjoy the sunset and the relaxing ocean. The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful balcony.The service was excellent and the innkeepers absolutely adorable. Unforgettable experience...my children had so much fun and we will certainly go there again in future. I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivianaC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pala, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This place is amazing. I am back for the third time and once again am not disappointed. If you are looking to feel completely at ease with yourself and your surroundings I would definitely recommend staying here. The breakfast are always delicious and the local fruits they compliment it with are just mouthwatering. The host are very friendly and always happy to help with ideas on things to do around the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaMoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My wife and I visited Victoria during summer 2011 and we had a wonderful time staying here. Our room was large, comfortable, quiet, sunny...just perfect, with a wonderful view of the Esquimalt lagoon. Dieter (Ashley was out of town during our stay) was a very accommodating and friendly host. Breakfasts were delicious...I remember homemade quiche and plenty of rolls and bread from the bakery down the street. During breakfast Dieter was very eager to provide both advice on places to go in town and tons of funny stories (he has a very interesting background). The Inn is at the end of a cul-de-sac, so it's really quiet, and you will probably be immediately be greeted by Taco, the cutest (and friendliest) chihuahua I've ever met.

Two considerations for those considering a stay here: first, other reviews said something about lack of privacy in Room 2. We had that room, and while the path to the Room 3 does pass right outside the window, there are very thick windows and robust screens that allow plenty of privacy. Also, because the Inn is actually in Colwood, a lovely suburb of Victoria, you will absolutely need a car if you stay here. (Downtown is a good 20 minutes away.)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterhill3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed here for out honeymoon in Oct 2010. It was perfect. The room we stayed in was cozy and had great views all around. The Inn Keepers, Dieter and Ashley, were very accommodating and extremely knowledgeable of the area. Dieter is an awesome whale watching captain! What an amazing experience. Breakfast was always delicious and provided nice conversation with the Inn Keepers and other guests. Canoing in the lagoon was so much fun. This place is one of a kind and we will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Beautiful views and wonderful birds and nature. Food was good and staff very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental

Property: Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Address: 206 Portsmouth Dr, Victoria, British Columbia V9C 1R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature lover's nirvana on protected ocean front lagoon located on Victoria's west shore neighboring Fisgard Lighthouse and Hatley Park Historic site. Moderate year-round temperatures with a micro-climate that gives it the warmest winter temperatures anywhere in Canada! Hatley grounds include a castle, Japanese, Italian, and Rose gardens. Private dock, courtesy canoe, kayaks, peddle boat, and bicycles. Affordable luxury suites with cathedral ceilings, oceanfront terraces, kitchenettes, soaker tubs, gas fireplaces, widescreen TV. Completely rebuilt in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birds Of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing