We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental
Ranked #7 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a great place! Accommodations and location were a perfect fit. Beautiful view of the bay and minutes to and from the city of Victoria. Best of both worlds after a day of working. Very romantic and relaxing with fire place and spacious outside balcony. My wife and I will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2013

Birds of a Feather is an excellent home away from home. I had a great sleep every night on the extremely comfortable bed. I loved waking up each morning to the most amazing view and to the warmth of my own gas fireplace. The owner, Dieter, was very nice and was responsive to any questions.The room was very quiet and allowed me to thoroughly enjoy my stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hula_Douk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Birds of a Feather offered a peaceful and serene setting surrounded by wildlife. Waking up to a beautiful sunrise overlooking the lagoon made this vacation perfect. The breakfast was out of this world and the hosts made you feel like family. Our favorite day was spent whale watching with the host Dieter, he was very knowledgeable on the resident pods and knew exactly where to find them! Seeing a Killer Whale up close was a once in a lifetime experience for us.

Birds of a Feather B and B is on our list of places to return! We recommend anyone who wants to explore the beauties of British Columbia to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The house was beautiful and the back yard was amazing. What a beautiful way to wake up everyday. The rooms were very clean and well stocked. The breakfast was delicious!! And the hospitality of Tiffany and the owner Dieter was more than I could ask for. We went on a private tour on the ocean and saw wild orcas. We also took a grizzly tour that was absolutely out of this world!!! Dieter knew exactly where to take us and I enjoyed every minute of this vacation!!! Thank you Birds of a Feather for the amazing adventure in BC Canada!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This B&B offers a private and quiet experience with its limited number of rooms. The views to the lagoon were unobstructed and all have at least balcony access. The breakfasts' were very good and everyone partakes at one scheduled time. Innkeeper Dieter is a walking library of information about the island and offers a variety of fun activities. Canoes and Kayaks are available from the private dock. We kayaked to Hatley Park and National Historic Site, which is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are upper level, therefore accessed by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DNvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Birds of a Feather certainly was disappointing! It did not live up to the ratings we read here. The food was nothing special unless scrambled eggs is your idea of a delicious breakfast. Only had a meat one day. We chose to eat breakfast on the ferry instead on our last moring because we wanted a better breakfast. The lagoon is pretty, but there is not an ocean view. It would have been nice to have a hot tub. The canoes looked ok, however the river kayaks looked like the came from a garage sale. Birds of a Feather is located in a residential neighborhood. The pictures look better than the real house.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jgward67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Although there were some nice things about this B&B, I was disappointed on several fronts.
The breakfasts were not as good as one expects from a B&B, and in fact was not up to restaurant standards either. In order to actually get to the waterfront beyond the lagoon you would have to walk about a mile. There is a busy road (sort of a causeway) running the length of the lagoon that actually blocks the ocean view, and takes away from the tranquility I expected. There is certainly not a view of the Olympic mountains from your balcony. The canoe/kayak situation was a disappointment as well. If there are 2 young fit adults in your group - then no problem with the canoes. But too much hassle for older folks with back and hernia issues, as the canoes are strapped to a rack on the top of a pier, no clear easy path to the water, and you are instructed to return them as they are. We did not think we could do it and were never offered any assistance, so we could not use them. As for the kayaks, they were not sea kayaks which would have been appropriate for the lagoon, but beat-up looking squatty river kayaks - no doubt from a garage sale so they could advertize that they had kayaks. We only saw our hosts at breakfast, the lighthouse which was in "walking distance" would have been at least 6 miles round trip, and our suite was in fact one room and one of the chairs was in too bad of shape to even sit in. I can think of more, but the little we saw of them they seemed very nice, so I'll stop now.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marilyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birds_of_a_FeatherBC, Owner at Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Our apologies that our establishment did not live up to your expectations. We are distinctly unique from most other B&Bs in that we are purpose built with our house on the first floor being separated from the B&B suites on the 2nd floor. Over 16 years we have acquired a reputation for giving our guests space and privacy, always being just a door knock or cell phone call away to assist. Had we known about some of your concerns at the time you were here we would have addressed them as best we could. The kayaks are the 4th set we've bought from a local outdoor rec shop over the past 16 years. They get scratched up a lot in the shallow waters at the far end of the lagoon. Having previously had sea kayaks we have recently been guided by our insurance policy which doesn't allow for the narrower sea kayaks. We could easily have had the local kayak rental shop drop off a couple of professional kayaks here.

Breakfast is usually a very enjoyable and positive experience at our table. If you care to send us an email so we could understand why you were disappointed in this we might be able to learn how to improve this. We are truly sorry that you were disappointed. Should you wish to give us another try we will give you 2 days on us complete with sea kayaks that we will rent and pay for and I will personally be on hand for your visit to ensure your every expectation is met. If you wish I will also give you a free outback tour in our hummer, or Marine EcoTour in our zodiac.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,101 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,193 reviews
Rockland
Abbeymoore Manor Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#2 of 92 in Victoria
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental

Address: 206 Portsmouth Dr, Victoria, British Columbia V9C 1R9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: £82 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature lover's nirvana on protected ocean front lagoon located on Victoria's west shore neighboring Fisgard Lighthouse and Hatley Park Historic site. Moderate year-round temperatures with a micro-climate that gives it the warmest winter temperatures anywhere in Canada! Hatley grounds include a castle, Japanese, Italian, and Rose gardens. Private dock, courtesy canoe, kayaks, peddle boat, and bicycles. Affordable luxury suites with cathedral ceilings, oceanfront terraces, kitchenettes, soaker tubs, gas fireplaces, widescreen TV. Completely rebuilt in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Birds of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birds Of a Feather Ocean Lagoon Bed & Breakfast & Vacation Rental Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing