We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love The Gatsby”
Review of Gatsby Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gatsby Mansion
Ranked #17 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always love The Gatsby”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I got married here 12 years ago and have returned to The Gatsby Mansion many times since. We have tried out most of the rooms and the harbour view ones are our favourite, although each room has its own wonderful character. Our check-in agent (Catherine) on this visit was exceptional. The place is old-style and we love it. Food is always top-notch. Coming to The Gatsby Mansion is like coming home.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoMcMo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine A, Front Office Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We are delighted that you have selected The Gatsby Mansion again and we certainly appreciate your comments!

We deeply value your relationship with The Gatsby Mansion and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

Looking forward to be your host again,
With best regards,

Catherine Audet
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    53
    18
    30
    24
See reviews for
33
91
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I am originally from Victoria so having passed this beautiful building over the years I decided to book it on a trip back. When we arrived we were shown to a horribly dirty room with mould and cobwebs on the ceiling and in the bathroom, ancient carpet and upholstery. We asked for another room only to be taken to another which was even worse. It was late at night so we decided we would have to stay at that point. At about 2 in the morning a fire alarm went off and we were all asked to go outside and wait. We were stuck there for 90 minutes while the firemen tried to find the problem in the boiler room and expressed frustration that no one had any manuals or knowledge of the systems which had gone wrong and caused the alarm. We finally got back at about 4. However when I awoke the next morning I discovered I had been bitten repeatedly all over my hands, neck, shoulders and ankles by bed bugs! These bites then swoll up such that my hand was like a baseball mit and at that point that we went to the pharmacy to get some advice. They told me I had to get to a hospital immediately as I had signs of infection and blood poisoning. The hospital doctor confirmed this and put me on high strength antibiotics which made me feel ill for weeks until I had finished taking them. This entirely ruined my trip back home which I only get a chance to do every 3 or 4 years. I would avoid this hotel at all costs!!

Room Tip: Do not risk this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PamelaMillsDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had breakfast in this gorgeous old home while waiting to catch the Clipper to Seattle. Food, service and surroundings could not have been better. Sitting on the verandah, overlooking the gardens and the inner harbour was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ci_bach_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for visiting us and thank you for your wonderful comments, we truly appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of all our employees we are happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and hope we see you again real soon.
Best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you like cracked tile, dirty grout, filthy carpets, patched but unpainted walls and a general odor of rancid grease then stay at Gatsby Mansion. The front desk clerk was arrogant and unhelpful. They call it a mansion but more like a cheap motel. It was dark dreary and dirty. Avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for having stayed with us and thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
We do understand your comments regarding the required renovations and upgrades.
The property is in the process of being aquired by a new ownership and we are very much hoping to be able to start a thorough renovation process in the very near future.
With best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed at Gatsby Mansion on Aug. 9th, 2013 in the Carraway room. Description and images of the room on website were NOT the same. They have many Carraway rooms, and will give you what's available. We got the attic with view of a parking lot instead of flowers and garden as described on their website. Inside and outside need repair (paint on the outside and wallpaper on the inside were peeling off). Breakfast and food service were wonderful, however.

Room Tip: If you plan stay at the Carraway room, request a specific Carraway room as they have multiple of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of all our employees, we thank you for having stayed with us.
Our staff is doing their best to ensure all our guests and their individual requests are looked after.
I can assure you we are taking your concerns and comments very serious and will review them carefully. This to hopefully ensure similar experiences can be avoided.
Best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Booked two nights at the Gatsby after looking for a quaint B & B close to the inner harbour for my sister and myself as this was her first trip to Victoria. We both fell in love with the Gatsby. Beautiful grounds and right on the harbour. Be prepared to carry your own luggage and there are a lot of stairs, however well worth this slight inconvenience. Room was old fashioned with antique furniture and one of the best king size beds I've ever slept in, complete with a pillow menu. Easy walk to everything around the inner harbour. Highly recommend for those who like the feel of a B&B and don't care about a lot of ammenities.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the Gatsby B&B if that is what you want not the Huntindon which is also on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobijo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingdonVictoria, General Manager at Gatsby Mansion, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for having stayed with us and thank you for your wonderful comments, we truly appreciate your feedback.
In behalf of all our employees we are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to Victoria and hope we see you again real soon.
Best Regards
Bernd Bohl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatsby Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatsby Mansion

Property: Gatsby Mansion
Address: 309 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gatsby Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nothing feels more like Victoria than the Gatsby Mansion. A boutique B&B experience in a historic Victorian mansion where each of its 9 rooms has its own distinct characteristics and charm. A heritage building, the mansion does not have an elevator and may not be suitable for guests with mobility issues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gatsby Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatsby Mansion Hotel Victoria
Gatsby Mansion Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing