We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Heritage Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Heritage Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I usually stay at a different hotel when I travel to Victoria, but I wanted to be in James Bay this time.

The location is very handy, and close to everything. Beacon Hill Park, the Legislature, Museum, and Inner Harbour are minutes away by foot.

The hotel itself is located on a residential street. Built in 1911, it has a 3 story walk up. No elevator. There are lovely common balconies on the upper floors to sit and catch the morning sun and people watch.

The room I had was a standard with a double sized bed. Asked for a quieter are. I was assigned 228. However it faced the ventilation fan area outside, so could be a bit loud. There are no air conditioners, and the bed was a bit lumpy. However I paid $54.

There are plenty of old time prints in the hallways. The common furniture is Edwardian in nature.

The staff were pleasant. I will return. I did not request room service, so do not know if this is available.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Government Street. Good for morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    202
    50
    22
    12
See reviews for
63
189
59
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

In the "reasonably priced" category this is an excellent hotel. It is located in a residential neighbourhood and from our room we could see a pleasant assortment of "real" houses, streets, trees... We loved the old fashioned atmosphere. Yes, it is a bit "rickety" but we did not care, it is charming, quiet, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The complementary coffee in the morning is quite good and it is the kind of place where I felt comfortable sneaking downstairs barefoot in my robe to grab a cup and bring it to my companion so we could have coffee in bed, listening to the city wake up outside, and looking at the morning light filling the room (for that reason I would recommend to pick a room at the front).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuriaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I live in Victoria and just needed a cheaper night stay while moving between apartments.

the JBI is a fantastic overall experience. Like much of Victoria, it oozes with history, style and tradition from the Edwardian era.

The rooms are of an old world flavour, small and simple with updated (though not brand new) furnishings. The shower had hot and steady pressure even though I was using it right in prime time before working hours, while room and bed were clean and orderly. The bed specifically was firm and not creaky, which are great for a solid night sleep.

The lounge in the basement is a great place, it is a mix of a proper lounge and a sports bar with lots of TV's around and plenty of space to enjoy one of the best pub style dining experiences around in the city.

To people complaining about stairs and demanding renovations for modern amenities, go away.
There are plenty of modern and chain hotels available all over the city of Victoria. When you walk into a heritage house you should be expecting a traditional hotel experiences.

Overall the James Bay Inn is great to stay in. Fantastic staff, Comfortable and clean rooms and a great lounge in the basement if you aren't up for the short walk into the city for some more colourful fun.

I would claim this as being an "Empress Hotel Lite" being that you get a lot of the charm and flavour or the era, without the extra luxury, class and spoils.

Great place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is my 4th trip here and I still love it. It's not a super luxury hotel, but it more than delivers considering the cost.
For $79.00 I got a large room with queen sized bed, bay window (with another on the side), electric fire and a view of the legislative buildings lit up @ night.
No fridge, but there is an ice machine down the hall. Very cheerful friendly staff and great cleaning service.
The pub downstairs has great comfort food at good prices.
Perhaps one of the best features is the proximity to much that the city has to offer. It's only about a 10/15 minute walk to most of downtown, making a car unnecessary for much of your visit.
I would highly recommend the JBI for budget travellers and those that enjoy old style charm.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittSBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We wanted a reasonably priced, quiet hotel within an easy walk of the waterfront and the heart of Victoria. The room was small and basic, but clean and functional. The hotel is quaint and well maintained, the lobby has loads of character, and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had a view of the Victorian neighborhood and the dome of the Parliament Building from our window.
We especially appreciated the cold, lemoned water available in the lobby in the afternoon. Good coffee in the lobby in the morning. We felt welcomed. Would certainly stay here again.
Three city blocks to the waterfront through a lovely Victorian neighborhood. Within easy walking distance of downtown, Fisherman's wharf, Parliament, the Fairmont Empress Hotel, the ferry terminal and the Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali2Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We like to stay at small botique lodgings and do not expect every convenience. This is an old inn that has been refurbished (with one of the most beautiful custom-made oak banisters you will ever find!). Yes, the rooms are smallish and the uneven floors creak a little. But the place is very clean and well-kept. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood with a corner "grocery" a block away. For us this added to the appeal. We especially liked that it was within easy walking distance of downtown Victoria and other attractions in the city. Add to these pluses the fact that it is inexpensive, and, for our money, we've got a winner here. We would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Cheap stay, close to Victoria center and rooms are ok - old but clean

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelydom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#28 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Property: James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing