We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Star ~ ok for 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

After reading all the glowing reports, I booked 4 nights and was sadly disappointed. The hotel is in a convenient location, the parking is free, the mattress was comfortable, and the staff was exceptionally accommodating however the building is 100 years old and the room smelled "old". The rooms are not air conditioned, the windows are not screened, there are no small refrigerators, coffee/tea making facilities, hair dryers or safes in the rooms. There was no good light above the desk and no electrical outlet conveniently placed near the desk and breakfast was not included. The tv was old and the furniture was well worn. I didn't feel the James Bay Inn was good value.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the top floor so you don't hear your fellow travellers tromping around when they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PamelaJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

What an exquisite and charming place! True, it has no elevator but, come on, you can climb a few flights of stairs. Atmosphere is great, decor is lovely and staff very accommodating. We loved it and would like to return.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool, but who wants one in British Columbia?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clairdlune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The James Bay is conveniently located (just 2 blocks from the Parliament buildings) and is in a quaint, quiet neighborhood. The building has a lot of character, the lobby is very warm and welcoming. We appreciated the free parking and WiFi.
The room seemed small, but the bathroom was oddly huge with a large amount of unused floor space. The restaurant downstairs serves decent food at equally decent prices and was convenient when we were too worn out to wander around looking for the "perfect" spot for a meal.
Unfortunately, we both found the mattress quite uncomfortable and my husband woke up both mornings with back pain. That was a bummer, considering that everything else was satisfactory, and I think, if costs were equal, we both might have traded the overall "charm"of this hotel for a room at a chain hotel with a more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Had queen suite and found room had a big new bathroom. Hotel in quiet area about 10 minutes walk from town. Great supermarket about 5 minutes walk. Hotel does meals and offers 15% discount but didn't try. Drawback was no elevators and need to go up steep steps to enter property and then again to get to room. Room doesn't have a hairdryer not any compendium re facilities of room or hotel. Does have 15 minutes free internet however this can be streached. NB: hotel room prices shown on internet do NOT include taxes of around $15 per night so beware of this.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aussietraveller1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The James Bay is a terrific value. It's centrally located in the heart of Victoria near the harbour, yet far enough down a secondary street that it is quiet. The building has been well-kept, and has the character of old Victoria. Staff were very friendly and helpful as well.

My only quibble is that our room was too warm (old-style hot-water heating) and there was no apparent way to adjust the temperature. We kept our window half-open during our stay.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Singlemaltenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I visit Victoria every chance I get. I love this city. I have stayed at inns / hotels in Victoria and West Vic that charge twice as much as the James Bay Inn, but didn't receive the value that I got at here. The staff was wonderful, the room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and the inn has a charming quality that is lacking in many hotels these days. And, the James Bay Inn is perfectly located for tourists. Also, they don't add the phony " parking surcharge " to your bill for parking your car on site that I have encountered in a few other motels in the area. I felt welcome here and felt my business was appreciated. The James Bay Inn will be my first choice in future visits to Victoria and has become my home away from home!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was delighted to find a room very close to downtown,inner harbour,Beacon hill park,the museum and so much other fun stuff in Victoria for $54.00 a night.Our room was very clean, quality sheets.The food at JBI is excellent! the restaurant was popular with locals too ( allways a good sign) All the staff we came incontact with where awesome, two housekeepers helped me get out of tight parking spot, and the bartender graciously assisted me with two huge plates of food from the kitchen upstairs to the lobby.Loved it there and we will go back.For what we paid I expected to be dissapointed but realize that we found a great place. Yes the floors are a smidge off (2.5 inches over 32 inches in bathroom.)there is no elevator/bell hop. WIFI worked in 2 second floor room,the common balconys are great,gardens well kept,in the morning singing of the birds was a bonus.We also used the 15% off card in the restaurant for all our meals.Free Parking.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 47 in Victoria
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 47 in Victoria
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £59 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing