We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Helm's Inn(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Embassy Inn(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
139
229
62
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
229
62
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorbeacon hill parkemily carrrestaurant downstairsquaint hotelshort walkthe horse drawn carriagesa quiet residential areafew blocksflights of stairsolder hotelheritage buildingthird floorgovernment streetstay there againold world charmno air conditioning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
351 - 356 of 467 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We've been to James Bay Inn several times over the years and always find it comfortably familiar but well kept. The location and price originally attracted us, but the service and the property keep drawing us back. The rooms are large, airy and comfortable. The bathrooms are spotless and kept up - painted, fresh grout, everything working perfectl.
It's only 2-3 blocks from inner harbor and about the same to the local park. We could enjoy a quiet evening in our room or walk to town in 5 minutes for fun.
The staff are anxious to please and very helpful.
The restaurant and pub below have excellent food and reasonable prices.
We will definitely return to the James Bay Inn when we return to Victoria (it turns out to be about every 4-5 years for the last 20).

Room Tip: It doesn't have an elevator so the lower rooms are preferable for lots of luggage, however the 2nd floor rooms have easier access to the lovely balcony for a peaceful evening outside.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mitzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed there three nights in April when it was an VERY good deal and two nights in July when it was "just" a good deal. I was in Victoria on work both times but I recommend it for work or holiday if you don't mind an old building with lots of character. It has real sash windows that open and the floors squeak a little but it was very quiet during both of my visits. There's a good restaurant downstairs, it's a short walk to downtown, and there is shuttle bus service to the airport. It is also in a beautiful residential neighborhood with Beacon Hill Park a couple short blocks away. The hotel seems to run properly in spite of the staff at the desk who were a bit disorganized.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat_Cariboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The James Bay Inn is an old hotel with an abundance of charm. Close to all the action of Victoria, but far enough away that you are not bothered with the noise and excitement. I had a terrific stay and will certainly be back. Great staff, excellent food and a over all super experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NekoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and I wanted to visit Victoria for our honeymoon. As manager of a B & B in Edmonton, I wanted to find a place in Victoria with a similar atmosphere. Based on their website, the James Bay Inn seemed to fit the bill, and, once we arrived we were not disappointed! Very friendly staff, perfect location (everything we wanted to see was within walking distance) a very pleasant decor- lots of antique furniture in the lobby. The room itself was basic, but we really just needed a place to sleep, we were out sightseeing and whatnot during the day.

All in all, we found that for $99 a night it was a good deal, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porkchopsjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

After reading all the glowing reports, I booked 4 nights and was sadly disappointed. The hotel is in a convenient location, the parking is free, the mattress was comfortable, and the staff was exceptionally accommodating however the building is 100 years old and the room smelled "old". The rooms are not air conditioned, the windows are not screened, there are no small refrigerators, coffee/tea making facilities, hair dryers or safes in the rooms. There was no good light above the desk and no electrical outlet conveniently placed near the desk and breakfast was not included. The tv was old and the furniture was well worn. I didn't feel the James Bay Inn was good value.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the top floor so you don't hear your fellow travellers tromping around when they get up in the morning. It is definitely worth climbing a few extra steps. The rooms facing the inside are quieter but there is NO view and no breeze.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PamelaJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews