We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large portions!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Large portions!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Quaint room...no aircon and had to prop sash window open with coat-hanger!!! Sink in bedroom not bathroom but we could put up with that for one night. Clean. Breakfast and dinner large portions. Within 5/10 minutes walk of Parliament building and harbour. Great staff

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    214
    59
    24
    12
See reviews for
69
202
65
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a "retro" small hotel, which apparently tries to keep an early 20th century taste. The room had a spotless, modern bathroom, however, but the lock on the door was minimal when leaving during the day. (There's a deadbolt for when you are in the room). When we came, there was an old, musty smell dispite the fact that the big old window was open, but they fixed that with some modern room spray. The street is great! It's two blocks from the back of the Pariliment building, which is about six blocks from the waterfront and 7-8 from the bus station. If you walk one block to the right (the block, Toronto St. has pretty, fixed- up Victorian homes, and a tiny community garden) you can get to a supermarket across the street, and 3 coffee houses on this side, one with a bookstore. We bought breakfast and ate in the park another block away.
The hotel has what looks like a classy restaurant, and they give a discount, and a friendly pub where locals (?) threw darts. We didn't use either, though. There is coffee in the lobby in the morning. All staff were very helpful. There are no alternatives to stairs, if that is a problem.
The price was decent for high tourist season. I'm definitely recommending this to my family and friends who want a place to stay with flavor and most conveniences, but not all.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or trouble walking up stairs, ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mws65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I've stayed several times at 'The James Bay Inn' (Victoria)...and I plan on going back in 2013...always a great experience for me, an active, but slightly disabled, single senior....usually in May, the hotel rates are fare, the food is ample & tasty(somewhat like home cooking)....for the walker, it's convenient to bus service, shopping, the harbourfront for us boat nuts, the tourism office, museums, galleries, antique shops, eating spots, entertainment, or just people watching...a truely great walking city, where you can discover handy corner stores, restaurants, interesting homes, places & things to take pictures of...just a short distance to the bus terminal, where you can go anywhere in N America or grab a taxi ride downtown.
An older but well kept, quiet hotel, it's definitly not for children, full of hell kids or 'the hip tourist types'....the staff is low keyed but helpful...there's free internet in the lobby, as well as local newspapers. As a homebase, I've travelled all over the Island, but the 'James Bay' does it all, for me!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We've been to James Bay Inn several times over the years and always find it comfortably familiar but well kept. The location and price originally attracted us, but the service and the property keep drawing us back. The rooms are large, airy and comfortable. The bathrooms are spotless and kept up - painted, fresh grout, everything working perfectl.
It's only 2-3 blocks from inner harbor and about the same to the local park. We could enjoy a quiet evening in our room or walk to town in 5 minutes for fun.
The staff are anxious to please and very helpful.
The restaurant and pub below have excellent food and reasonable prices.
We will definitely return to the James Bay Inn when we return to Victoria (it turns out to be about every 4-5 years for the last 20).

Room Tip: It doesn't have an elevator so the lower rooms are preferable for lots of luggage, however the 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitzi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed there three nights in April when it was an VERY good deal and two nights in July when it was "just" a good deal. I was in Victoria on work both times but I recommend it for work or holiday if you don't mind an old building with lots of character. It has real sash windows that open and the floors squeak a little but it was very quiet during both of my visits. There's a good restaurant downstairs, it's a short walk to downtown, and there is shuttle bus service to the airport. It is also in a beautiful residential neighborhood with Beacon Hill Park a couple short blocks away. The hotel seems to run properly in spite of the staff at the desk who were a bit disorganized.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat_Cariboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The James Bay Inn is an old hotel with an abundance of charm. Close to all the action of Victoria, but far enough away that you are not bothered with the noise and excitement. I had a terrific stay and will certainly be back. Great staff, excellent food and a over all super experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NekoCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife and I wanted to visit Victoria for our honeymoon. As manager of a B & B in Edmonton, I wanted to find a place in Victoria with a similar atmosphere. Based on their website, the James Bay Inn seemed to fit the bill, and, once we arrived we were not disappointed! Very friendly staff, perfect location (everything we wanted to see was within walking distance) a very pleasant decor- lots of antique furniture in the lobby. The room itself was basic, but we really just needed a place to sleep, we were out sightseeing and whatnot during the day.

All in all, we found that for $99 a night it was a good deal, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porkchopsjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 49 in Victoria
526 reviews
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
216 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#5 of 49 in Victoria
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
James Bay
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
Huntingdon Manor Hotel
#19 of 49 in Victoria
598 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Property: James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing