We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Old Victorian house not far from the bus terminal where I got dropped off just after midnight. Safe to walk up the street to accomodation. I was welcomed by pleasant funky looking lady.
Basic room, clean, comfortable bed, big bathroom. Homely atmosphere. Nice looking balconies in a hallway to enjoy coffe. I wish I stayed longer

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    206
    51
    22
    12
See reviews for
63
190
61
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great location, nice neighbourhood. Easy walk to downtown,The free parking is also an added value, The hotel itself could be called charming, depending on your taste. For us it was old fashioned. Lots of carpet, also in the rooms. Clean bathroom, no hairdryer. Very good bed/pillows.There is no elevator, so please take this into consideration if you are not able to carry your bags upstairs. The pub adjacent to the hotel is not too charming. So actually basic comfort for a reasonable price,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed solo at this delightful inn and always felt safe and secure. My room was cosy with a comfortable bed. I loved being able to leave the window open (without a screen) and enjoy the fresh air. I fell in love with the 3rd floor balcony and spent time there reading or enjoying a glass of wine. Very helpful staff, good restaurant. Great location! I could walk to the Inner Harbour, downtown, Beacon Hill Park, and Dallas Road in record time. Well-worth the money; I would highly recommend the James Bay Inn and look forward to returning there!

Room Tip: Third floor room (if you can navigate the stairs) is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We could not have chosen better! The Inn is a gem, it has kept it's elegant charm from when it was built. The hotel staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about their home town. It is only a short walk to town and the harbor area. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 18brenda55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Country, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the James Bay Inn - so convenient to walking to downtown Victoria. This is an older inn but very clean with helpful staff. The slope of the bedroom floor was entertainment in itself. Very comfortable beds, clean bathroom, blow dryer available on request. Bonus was having a little fridge in the room and coffee in the lobby in the mornings. We received a discount for the restaurant which we used for the first breakfast but were quite disappointed in the food - not very warm and quite slow to arrive. Loved being able to park the car and just walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhodiDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed at this place 2 nites in mid August. Thanks to the young attendant who was informative and pleasant, we had a very nice time in Victoria. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We were in a residential place. Therefore, the place was quiet. If it matters, would recommend that coffee be available throughout the day and not limited to the morning.

Room Tip: Walkable to tourist area and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
418 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

James Bay Inn - service 3*, Cleanliness - 4, price - 4, but was included as part of the package. Location - 4. Minuses: no AC, small bathroom counter - literally 14" x 20", no hairdryers in room - have to check them out down below & not completely functional. No screens on the windows. To help cool the room, one has to leave the windows open, and with no screens, who knows what will fly in. Biggest minus - no elevator!! Fortunately we arrived while the young man whose job it is to carry bags up stairs, was on duty.
Bottom line - ok for a night, but be aware of the drawbacks. Front desk was helpful. The pub was ok for a brew & snack.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Property: James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing