We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff in the hotel and restaurant was very friendly and helpful. We took advantage of the charm in the lobby. The rooms were small but immaculately clean and very comfortable. Beds and pillows were great. Parking was convenient. We would and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

James Bay inn is only 3 blocks from the the Empress Hotel and main harbor for Victoria. It is located on a quiet stretch of Government Blvd and offers plentiful parking. It makes walking to the downtown locations easy and convenient. The staff is very friendly and helpful and looks for ways to make your stay pleasant. It is a 3 story building with no elevator so be aware of that fact if you book. The Bistro on the first floor serves good meals and offers a prixe fixe dinner option that is very reasonable. With comfortable rooms and reasonable rates, this is a good place to stay when visiting Victoria!

Room Tip: Ask for a dormer room on the 3rd floor....spacious and a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bookworms2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our round trip tickets on the Victoria Clipper ferry were less expensive if we bought a package and booked our hotel with them. There was no choice for hotel we got the James Bay Inn.I did have the option of upgrading to two queen beds for an extra $25, which I did. Judging from the outside of the building and the classically decorated lobby we were expecting the same charm to continue in our room but when we opened the door it was as if we had been suddenly transported to a Motel 6. There was nothing charming about it. The room was very stark and no effort had been made to maintain the old world charm of the rest of the building. A counter stuck out of the wall with an older tv on it, a similar counter covered with a modern laminate contained a sink. The bathroom was toilet and shower only, no shelving/drawers and no hair dryer. There was a small fridge but no coffee maker. There was no way to control the temperature in the room. It was clean and the beds comfortable. I would do some research before staying here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, perhaps the upper rooms have more charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

I've been going to Victoria, BC for over 18 yrs and my favorite place to stay is at the James Bay Inn on Government St. It's sits right smack dab in a beautiful little neighborhood that is literally within walking distance of the Bay, Downtown Shopping and all of Victoria's Great Nightlife!! The folks at the James Bay are lovely and most helpful. If you want you can have your meals at the Inn's restaurant, which are quite delish. After a days worth of shopping and sightseeing you can unload your treasures and go downstairs to their awesome little Pub and recount the days fun while enjoying a refreshing adult beverage ;-)
The cost to stay at the James Bay Inn is really much more affordable as compared to most other place in the surrounding area. Give it a try the next time your in the mood for spending your money on a good value and a great lodging experience. :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edipok_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Old Victorian house not far from the bus terminal where I got dropped off just after midnight. Safe to walk up the street to accomodation. I was welcomed by pleasant funky looking lady.
Basic room, clean, comfortable bed, big bathroom. Homely atmosphere. Nice looking balconies in a hallway to enjoy coffe. I wish I stayed longer

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great location, nice neighbourhood. Easy walk to downtown,The free parking is also an added value, The hotel itself could be called charming, depending on your taste. For us it was old fashioned. Lots of carpet, also in the rooms. Clean bathroom, no hairdryer. Very good bed/pillows.There is no elevator, so please take this into consideration if you are not able to carry your bags upstairs. The pub adjacent to the hotel is not too charming. So actually basic comfort for a reasonable price,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank liz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed solo at this delightful inn and always felt safe and secure. My room was cosy with a comfortable bed. I loved being able to leave the window open (without a screen) and enjoy the fresh air. I fell in love with the 3rd floor balcony and spent time there reading or enjoying a glass of wine. Very helpful staff, good restaurant. Great location! I could walk to the Inner Harbour, downtown, Beacon Hill Park, and Dallas Road in record time. Well-worth the money; I would highly recommend the James Bay Inn and look forward to returning there!

Room Tip: Third floor room (if you can navigate the stairs) is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 46 in Victoria
563 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 46 in Victoria
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,606 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £62 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing