We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Grief”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
California
114
Reviewed 27 January 2003

We stayed at the James Bay Inn in August.

At first it was great - the staff was a little confused. The room was clean, quite adequate, and very near everything.

The screwed up reservations letters I received before we came should have been a forewarning of how bad their reservations worked.

On the third night - it happened - We had been gone all day and when we came back, we found that we had been locked out of our room and that all of our things had been moved to another lower class room with a smaller bed.

We went to the management the day before and told them that we would be staying an extra day - They just plain forgot. They would not discount us. They told us were were WRONG. There was no apology.

Would I stay there again - NO - The price and hassle of a bad staff are just plain not worth it.

JW

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank florence c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Akaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DaverSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank pitcholina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sabine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Helm's Inn
Helm's Inn
#21 of 46 in Victoria
562 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 46 in Victoria
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,602 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage

Address: 270 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: £63 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historic district facing lush Beacon Hill Park, a green walk to the ocean and steps to the picturesque Inner Harbour and downtown's shopping and entertainment. Cozy, simple and affordable accommodation is provided in this three story Edwardian architecture with Heritage House and Cottage. Some day-dreaming cases have been reported on sunny balconies with birds tweeting and frequent horse-drawn carriages trotting by. Art-deco Café-restaurant and friendly pub.Free parking. Free Wi-Fi. Free Spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Hotel Victoria
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites And Cottage
The James Bay Hotel
James Bay Hotel
James Bay Inn Hotel, Suites & Cottage Victoria, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing